Customer Reviews


4 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Freshly Squeezed Delight!
It's hard to believe that after Volumes One and Two of Nick Hollywood's fantastic White Mink/Black Cotton compilations that a third would be able to deliver, but this does. Black Cotton contains an eclectic mix of tracks, some bold choices delivering a less obvious selection of music, one that takes a less well worn route through music of the past. The white mink side...
Published 7 months ago by Dixie Biscuit!

versus
0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Don't start with this Electro-Swing compilation!
This was my first intro into Electro-swing. I chanced upon the cd in HMV in early march 2014. I had never heard of the scene before but love classic electro like Cybotron or newer stuff which Dj Dave Clarke champions lots alongside techno as they are both cousins/from the same sound.
First up Electro-Swing is NOT Electro. It's more like stuff the Coldcuts label were...
Published 4 months ago by D. Oliver


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Freshly Squeezed Delight!, 16 Dec 2013
This review is from: White Mink Black Cotton Vol 3 (Audio CD)
It's hard to believe that after Volumes One and Two of Nick Hollywood's fantastic White Mink/Black Cotton compilations that a third would be able to deliver, but this does. Black Cotton contains an eclectic mix of tracks, some bold choices delivering a less obvious selection of music, one that takes a less well worn route through music of the past. The white mink side offers a similarly diverse range of music, again, not taking the obvious crowd pleasing route. It works. A fabulous collection that will grow on you. I was lucky enough to get my copy at the last White Mink, and haven't stopped playing it since!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Let's get swinging, 16 Dec 2013
This review is from: White Mink Black Cotton Vol 3 (Audio CD)
So happy this album came out just before Christmas-that's my Christmas presents sorted! A fantastic listen for those who love vintage style swing or those who prefer the more modern dancy beats. My personal favourites are Katzenjammer's Demon Kitty Rag-such an uplifting dancing track, or the clever swingy twist on Crazy in Love- which gives a real flair for the Great Gatsby era. I would highly recommend this for anyone interested in 1920's-30s inspired sounds or generally anyone with a decent taste in music!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Listening, 25 Dec 2013
By 
M. Dowden (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another great album in the White Mink: Black Cotton series. This is now the third volume and it is still as great to listen to as the very first volume. For me this is like delving into a chocolate box as there are tracks here that I know quite well, especially the older ones, but some I have never heard before.

Some people seem to think that Swing is dead and just a piece of nostalgia, with perhaps a few artistes turning up here and there, but think again, with Electro Swing the craze is still very much alive bringing a whole new generation into listening to this type of music, and introducing them to all the old dances. This compilation is great to listen to by yourself or for playing at a party.

There are some great tracks on this album which is well worth getting, whether downloading or buying the physical cd, as are the other two volumes. In all this is great for both young and old.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Don't start with this Electro-Swing compilation!, 18 Mar 2014
By 
D. Oliver "Gamer" (planet rock) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: White Mink Black Cotton Vol 3 (Audio CD)
This was my first intro into Electro-swing. I chanced upon the cd in HMV in early march 2014. I had never heard of the scene before but love classic electro like Cybotron or newer stuff which Dj Dave Clarke champions lots alongside techno as they are both cousins/from the same sound.
First up Electro-Swing is NOT Electro. It's more like stuff the Coldcuts label were doing way back in the early 2000's, But in all honesty IMHO Doop were the first in the 1990s rave era with their self titled single Doop by Doop. (Which owes a lot to Popcore championed by Mokum as a kiddie friendly Gabba with track like Technoheads-I want to be a hippy)

Anyhow, my thoughts on this compilation after now hearing the first 2 in this series & compilation albums like Electro Swing Fever is either the scenes sound is changing to a more mellower jazz vibe a less dancey elements. Some of the tunes hear on disc 1 hardly sound like modern dance beats, one or 2 tracks sound too much similar.

Don't get me wrong it's ok, but hardly the best representive of Electro-Swing. I recomend if it's your first taste of this genre start with volumes 1 & 2 first or the Electro-Swing-Fever compilation.

And NO this is NOT electro. It's modern-dance-beats, NOT electro. I have been a massive Electro fan since 1984, just because you use a drum machine for beats it ain't electro.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

White Mink Black Cotton Vol 3
White Mink Black Cotton Vol 3 by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews