Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The guitarist/musician delivers another quality rock album that sits well alongside his works with Ozzy and Badlands
Loved the album and have played it constantly since its release. the opener deceived is a classic foot tapper headbanger of a riff,shout it out has a catchy hook to it, feeder has a cool bass groove to open the song another classic,fall from the sky is more melodic, wasted is a classic jake e lee tune,slave play it loud in the car whilst driving,war machine would not be...
Published 3 months ago by Andrew Sage

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars As expected, great guitar playing, but a few duff songs.
Jake's back with his trademark guitar style with a fresh approach on the solos too. Main vocalist is quite good (though nothing amazing). Not really sure about the 'guest appearances'. Sash Jordan does a great job as you'd expect, but I don't know what the hell the producer was thinking by letting them keep the Paul DiAnno vocal, it's absolutely awful. He doesn't...
Published 6 months ago by EMLYN OWEN


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The guitarist/musician delivers another quality rock album that sits well alongside his works with Ozzy and Badlands, 20 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Red Dragon Cartel (MP3 Download)
Loved the album and have played it constantly since its release. the opener deceived is a classic foot tapper headbanger of a riff,shout it out has a catchy hook to it, feeder has a cool bass groove to open the song another classic,fall from the sky is more melodic, wasted is a classic jake e lee tune,slave play it loud in the car whilst driving,war machine would not be out of place on an Ozzy album,redeem me is a melodic song with a good groove and a feel good vibe, exquisite tenderness ends the album with a piano introduction and a nice mellow feel to it.Really looking forward to the live show in early june should be a really good evening with a setlist comprising of some Ozzy tunes, Badlands tunes plus a few from this album if you're going enjoy!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 15 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Red Dragon Cartel (Audio CD)
Awesome, heard it on Planet Rock so kinda knew what I was getting. A worth while purchase. I'm sure you will love it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars love it, 5 May 2014
By 
Philip Spiers (Moravia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I have always been a fan of Jake E Lee although I didn't get into his solo album. This is a great album in which his talents become part of the overall picture. Only 1 track I don't like - Redeem Me as I don't like the Tina Turner style vocals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great new album, 12 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Red Dragon Cartel (Audio CD)
I am a big fan of Ozzy Osbourne's band, and discovered Red Dragon Cartel as Jake E Lee (who played for Ozzy in the 1980s) re-emerged publicly into the music scene.
It's nice and heavy, as you would expect with Jake in lead guitar, and I find it a nice fresh sound, with a surprisingly tender final track.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars As expected, great guitar playing, but a few duff songs., 23 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Red Dragon Cartel (Audio CD)
Jake's back with his trademark guitar style with a fresh approach on the solos too. Main vocalist is quite good (though nothing amazing). Not really sure about the 'guest appearances'. Sash Jordan does a great job as you'd expect, but I don't know what the hell the producer was thinking by letting them keep the Paul DiAnno vocal, it's absolutely awful. He doesn't sound anything like the way he did back in the Maiden days, in fact he sound almost like a death metal vocalist.
All in all a reasonable album, but there are other 80's artists still out there writing better material.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Legendary Jake E Lee returns from self imposed exile., 28 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Red Dragon Cartel (Audio CD)
I'm a huge Jake E Lee fan.Unlike many Ozzy Osbourne fans(& Ozzy & Sharon themselves),I thought Jake did a fabulous job following the late great Randy Rhoads.Jake & Randy are totally different style of guitarists & Ozzy knew this when he selected Jake.Randy Rhoads in my opinion REMAINS the greatest hard rock/heavy metal guitarist ever.No,Jake wasn't as good as Randy.No-one is ,that includes you Zakk/EVH/VAI/Yngwie & Slash.But that's just my opinion. All that said,again I'm in the minority,I preferred Jake's stuff in Badlands who were very underrated.Imagine a cross between Free & a bluesy Van Halen,with the amazing Ray Gillen R.I.P. on vocals.Alas it wasn't to be;changes in musical tastes/record company problems/grunge/and band in-fighting cost Badlands dearly,& they never achieved anything like they should have!Aside from the forgettable Re-Traced solo album & the odd guest appearance,RDC is Jake's first proper album since Badlands 'Dusk'. Red Dragon Cartel starts with fabulous up tempo rocker 'Decieved' which is similar to 'Bark at the Moon/Rock n Roll Rebel'.DJ Smith is RDC'S lead singer (but there are 'guest singers' on 4 tracks).Smith himself sounds like a mixture of Alice Cooper/Perry Farell/Jizzy Pearl & on 'War Machine', Ozzy Osbourne.'Shout it Out' too is quite good on further spins ,as is 'Feeder' sung by Cheap Trick's Robin Zander.Growers definitely.'Wasted'(sung by Paul Di'Anno,if you can call it singing) is dire,although the bluesy solo is good,but doesn't fit the song to these ears,anyway.This solo,is probably as close to Badlands as the album gets.'Big Mouth' too is monotonous pants,with a dull repetitive chorus. Overall,the album has a very heavy, very dark,contemporary sound to it almost,nu-metalish/buzz-saw like/industrialish/N.I.N-like back-beat rhythms,at times.With song titles such as 'Decieved,Wasted, Slave, War Machine & Redeem Me',tell they're own story.A happy,positive album this isn't.Credit to Sass Jordan,for the best vocal performance on the record for 'Reedem Me'.For me,she should've done the whole album! The album isn't helped by the 'executive production & mixing' techniques of Kevin Churko, the same Kevin Churko that 'soundwise' recently hampered Ozzy Osbourne's last album 'Scream'. As for Jake himself,there's some decent playing,but absolutely nothing that top's/equals what went before with Ozzy & Badlands.Some of his solo's sound decidely average for a player of Jake's genius.Don't get me wrong,guitar solo's aren't everything,but Jakes were always sharp & entertaining & had a beginning,middle & an end, & that could enhance album/filler tracks. His recent gigs of December 2013,show he's quite someway from his best,(which is understandable due to lengthy inactivity),but his appearance last year on Eddie Trunks 'That Metal Show' & NAMM 2014 show were not good by his amazing standards, & were really sloppy. If this is the best the rest of RDC & Kevin Churko can inspire Jake to come up with,then,sorry,after the tour Jake should abandon RDC,& RE-CONNECT with former bandmates such as Bob Daisley/Don Airey/Greg Chaisson/Tommy Aldridge/Carmine Appice/Phil Soussan or his old friends Warren De-Martini or Nikki Sixx.These calibre of named musicians will raise the bar & should inspire Jake to write & play nearer his true greatness.This album,unfortunately, really disappoints this Jake E Lee fan.3 stars.Only just!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I have loved the guitar work of Jake E Lee ever since ..., 12 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Red Dragon Cartel (Audio CD)
I have loved the guitar work of Jake E Lee ever since he was axe man for Ozzy Osborne and then after with Badlands. He is a great rock guitarist and this band he has put together augments his superb playing perfectly. A guitar legend and a stunning album from his new project Red Dragon Cartel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Buy it, you won't be Deceived......, 26 Jun 2014
By 
G. J. Taylor - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Red Dragon Cartel (Audio CD)
Thank you Planet Rock. I have been listening to rock music, across the board for over 40 years and every now and then, although not so often these days, as I have seen it, heard it and got the tee shirt, a band comes along and releases an album that brings shivers to my spine and reminds me why we love rock so much. I can probably count only a dozen albums that have rocked my world and continue to do so everytime that I listen to them, even though I have played them to death (these are generally the bands first releases)......Red Dragon Cartel is such a album. Is it flawless, NO, is the production tight, NO, do the band hit every note, NO, but what it does, is prove that Rock and Roll, is not a perfect science, it is the pure rawness and the spontaneous association of instruments and vocals, that makes metal heads listen to rock in the first place. Most bands as they progress begin to spend more and more time perfecting the songs and tightening production, this leads to songs becoming over machined and less abrasive. So is the Red Dragon Cartel album any good.....OH YES ......its Brilliant.
Roll on the second album, can they progress and keep the energy that this has....I await with baited breath.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Return Of The King., 1 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Red Dragon Cartel (Audio CD)
It has been a long time and Retraced had me slightly worried about Jake (along with the long period of inactivity), however talent is permanent and this album shows it.
He is simply one of the greatest guitarists of our time, from Deceived which sounds like something he wrote for Bark At The Moon to War Machine which is more Ozzy than Ozzy himself he rips through some tremendous riffs and solos which are up there with his best. Some of it is far heavier than I expected and in truth this is nearer his Ozzy period than Badlands but his Badlands stuff stands as a great body of work, it didn't need revising.
Obviously it is hard to get over the fact that not many singers could get near Ray Gillen (RIP) but Paul's track suits his style and I think Darren does a good job.
Overall delighted with the album which sounds modern and fresh, can't wait to see Jake play it live.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Both Formats, 4 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Red Dragon Cartel (Audio CD)
To receive CD and download version makes it double value
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Red Dragon Cartel
Red Dragon Cartel by Red Dragon Cartel
Buy MP3 Album6.90
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews