Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good film to watch if studying Italian
I pre-oredered this and it arrived promptly on date of release. I enjoy the Montalbano series so thought this film, of similar genre, also starring Luca Zingaretti (and also Davide Lo Verde and Biancamaria d'Amato from the same series) would also be enjoyable.

I watched the 2 disk set straight through. It was easy to follow with the subtitles. I enjoyed it very...
Published 7 months ago by A. Davies

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An amiable crime thriller, especially enjoyable if you get bored with so many American settings
Calling Inspector Marotta: St Peter's Treasure is a long (over 3 hours) subtitled Italian movie set in the 1920s which has secured more attention that you might expect with that combination thanks to the staring role for Luca Zingaretti, who also stars as Inspector Montalbano in the eponymous TV series.

This film is a detective thriller featuring the mob, a...
Published 6 months ago by Mark Pack


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good film to watch if studying Italian, 2 May 2014
By 
A. Davies (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Calling Inspector Marotta: St Peter's Treasure [DVD] (DVD)
I pre-oredered this and it arrived promptly on date of release. I enjoy the Montalbano series so thought this film, of similar genre, also starring Luca Zingaretti (and also Davide Lo Verde and Biancamaria d'Amato from the same series) would also be enjoyable.

I watched the 2 disk set straight through. It was easy to follow with the subtitles. I enjoyed it very much. Having also watched the Comissario de Luca series recently, set in 1938-48, it was good to learn through this film a little more about Italy in the early Fascist period.

Thoroughly enjoyable - not a great film, not deep, but a good one to watch if you study Italian, or love things Italian.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The redoubtable Luca Zingaretti, 12 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Calling Inspector Marotta: St Peter's Treasure [DVD] (DVD)
A very "leccato" production with Luca Zingaretti of Commissario Montalbano fame. He does well what he is known for outside of Italy: acting a cop who is enforcing "justice for all" regardless of who is the culprit or the victim. This time the setting is Rome in the Italian fascist era. Excelent camera work. Good direction,casting & acting. Historically correct & detailed styling (set & dress). Good representation of the time in wich the story is set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An amiable crime thriller, especially enjoyable if you get bored with so many American settings, 7 Jun 2014
By 
Mark Pack (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Calling Inspector Marotta: St Peter's Treasure [DVD] (DVD)
Calling Inspector Marotta: St Peter's Treasure is a long (over 3 hours) subtitled Italian movie set in the 1920s which has secured more attention that you might expect with that combination thanks to the staring role for Luca Zingaretti, who also stars as Inspector Montalbano in the eponymous TV series.

This film is a detective thriller featuring the mob, a jewellery heist and a marriage in trouble - the sort of plot that features in oh so many American films, but this time it's not modern New York but Rome and the 1920s. There are some nicely done subtle details about the rise of fascism dotted through the film (including a throwaway comment about the trains not - yet - running on time). That makes this film particularly attractive for anyone who gets a bit bored with yet another American setting for a crime thriller.

The different setting and the care taken over the period details makes the film an amiable watch, even if the tension only occasionally gets high and the characters don't quite move the viewer as much as they should.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspector Marotta, somewhat like Montalbano at Inspector De Luca's times, 15 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Calling Inspector Marotta: St Peter's Treasure [DVD] (DVD)
I simply loved Inspector Marotta! Luca Zingaretti's acting is fantastic as usual and the rest of the cast is really good too. The director, Alberto Sironi, is the same director of the "Inspector Montalbano" series: you can really notice similarity in the style of the direction and the high value of both the productions. The 1920's costumes are quite impressive too: Marotta's wife seams to come out from a painting by Tamara de Lempicka. The plot is based on a lesser known true story: Marotta, not known in Rome and under cover, investigates a big robbery which is said to be about to happen in the Italian capital. In many ways, if you enjoyed both Montalbano and Inspector De Luca (which was recently broadcast on BBC Four) then this mini-series is for you, expecially if you have an interest in history as well as Italian language and culture.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A period piece, 10 May 2014
By 
D. White (Dorset UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Calling Inspector Marotta: St Peter's Treasure [DVD] (DVD)
This is a fine production introducing you to life in Mussolini's Italy and an event most people have never heard of. Luca Zingaretti supplies his usual professional style and his co-stars are first class. The period is well portrayed both in background and costume, an entertaining film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great foreign film, 28 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Calling Inspector Marotta: St Peter's Treasure [DVD] (DVD)
A really interesting story and I must say I do like Luca Zingaretti. Even more interesting knowing it is based on fact.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars If you liked Luca Zingaretti in Montalbano you'll like this also., 13 Jun 2014
By 
J. Bulat (Edinburgh, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Calling Inspector Marotta: St Peter's Treasure [DVD] (DVD)
If you liked Luca Zingaretti in Montalbano you'll like this also. A stylish invocation of early fascist Italy (set in 1925) Zingaretti plays Inspector Marotta, a man with a very strong moral compass that is at odds with the politics of the time. He pays for his morality by being marginalised by his superiors and then used to infiltrate a gang intent on robbing the Vatican.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 19 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Calling Inspector Marotta: St Peter's Treasure [DVD] (DVD)
Love inspector Marotta, I am a very avid Luca Zingaretti fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining and intriguing, 27 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Calling Inspector Marotta: St Peter's Treasure [DVD] (DVD)
I really enjoyed this film. Although the plot took quite a long time to build, this added to the suspense and enjoyment. Zingaretti is an excellent actor and this film proved a worthy vehicle for his talents.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It is kinda like taking a vacation to another part of this planet., 15 July 2014
By 
Robert K. Green Jr. (Dallas, Texas USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Calling Inspector Marotta: St Peter's Treasure [DVD] (DVD)
We learned about Luca from the Montobano (sp?) series that we really like, so we purchased this. It was a very good story, beautiful scenery and quality production. It is amazing how your brain adapts to well done sub-titles. Once the story gets going, you don't realize you are reading dialogue, not hearing it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Calling Inspector Marotta: St Peter's Treasure [DVD]
£7.20
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews