Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.7 out of 5 stars31
3.7 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£23.68+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 July 2010
I found this film by chance on youtube one evening....it is a great
film with these two really classy actors....Natalie Wood and Steve
McQueen....what a pair!!! And it is about a subject, 'abortion',
that is still out there for us to be dealing with today....here dealt
with so well for the time!!!!
Despite the fact that it is a black and white film....no matter!!!
I highly recommend this movie.....why isn't it available??!!!
11 comment|21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2010
I saw this by accident many years ago - nothing to do one evening, went to the local cinema.

There are two superb performances by Wood and McQueen, and many hilarious support actors who all do a wonderful job. It is extraordinarily funny in a slow-burn way, and is one of my all-time favourite films. Watch out for the lovely and clumsy fast-food operative who tries to woo Wood. He never finishes a sentence. Recommended.

Alan Douglas
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2011
l loved this film when i saw it first in the early sixties.the subject matter being very controversial
at the time (abortion).It was good to see a very young Steve Mcqueen and Natalie Wood .I can`t understand
why this film is unavailable to watch on d.v.d.come on the powers that be make it happen please !!
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2014
A great movie that should have been on DVD many years ago. I hope it will be released in region 1 soon in English.. I am trying to figure out if the main language in this movie is English because it says Spanish subtitles, but does not say which languge the movie is spoken in . that information has been left out. It should say "English" under Language, but there is no Language listed and usually there is.
The language on the cover of the DVD is in Spanish, so is confusing as to main language in the film.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2011
Saw this film back in the day ,loved it then, still love it.Abortion,taboo then and against the law,was well handled here,with steve and natalie at their peak,good cast across the board.classed as a comedy,but was bleak in its way because many girls found themselves in this sort of jam,but for all that i still loved it,and still get it out view it from time to time sueb
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2015
Still a good but not great film. However this dvd is taken from TV and is not much better than others from the US, which are also dvd made from home VHS tapes and take from an american tv presentation. On this one the audio is better but the picture is fuzzy and indistinct. It remains the case that this movie is buried in Parmount's vaults somewhere and has never been released in proper DVD form. Internet gossip suggests it is the subject matter of abortion, it remains a mystery as it has two major stars, a well known director and music by Elmer Bernstein.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2014
Film is dubbed and we did manage to get rid of the 'voice overs' by googling for Portuguese /English translations of the menu but cannot remove the subtitles. Consequently, we are checking for the film to appear on TV for perfect viewing.
11 comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2012
love this film, it is fantastic so well done . Where can I purchase it from I need it to be UK friendly.I would recommend it to any one who loves a feel good romance
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2016
I bought this as I'd been unable to find a copy anywhere else. I was able to change it to English dialogue and get rid of the Spanish subtitles easily enough, but the picture quality is very poor and the music is distorted at the beginning. It has obviously been copied from an old VHS tape.
To be honest, if I hadn't read the synopsis I wouldn't have had much idea what was going on, as the film started when Rocky (Steve McQueen) was told about the baby, and he clearly didn't remember his encounter with Angie (Natalie Wood). It felt as if the film should have started earlier in the story. Having said that, I was pleased to get hold of even a ropy copy of the film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2016
This is a good film, and with the people involved it's hard to believe this film has not received proper treatment on dvd/blu-ray.
So thank you Acid Vibes for providing us with a copy of this film.
Picture quality is of the VHS type. Sound is Good. 4:3 ratio picture.
The film will initially play in spanish with subtitles. To play in English with No subtitles as intended - Highlight - 'Idiomas' on the
main screen. then highlight under Audio - 'Ingles'. Then highlight - 'Sin Subtitulos' - then highlight 'Ver Pelicula'.
Yes it's not the DVD quality were use to. But until Paramount get there act together it's better than nothing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)