Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Clear Track Listing -Too Good To Be True?
UP ON THE ROOF
GEMS FROM THE ATLANTIC VAULTS 1961 - 1962 is a fabulous value 3 CD box set.
All the tracks are the originals by the original artists and all have passed the magic 50 year cut off day so are 'public domain'/
hence the cheap price!

BUT Amazon have cramped all the tracks and the as=rtists up making it really difficult to actuallt read...
Published 14 months ago by Glenn Cook

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Usual One Day mix of hits and total flops
Twist & Shout by the Top Notes is all the proof you need that Phil Spector should never have been allowed anywhere near Atlantic.This is one of the few recordings which should have been strangled at birth.
This track was issued in the U K as the B side of Nino & April's Sweet And Lovely
Interesting to note that Atlantic were issuing Shadows singles which...
Published 12 months ago by Richard


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Clear Track Listing -Too Good To Be True?, 17 May 2013
By 
Glenn Cook (South Cave, near Hull UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
UP ON THE ROOF
GEMS FROM THE ATLANTIC VAULTS 1961 - 1962 is a fabulous value 3 CD box set.
All the tracks are the originals by the original artists and all have passed the magic 50 year cut off day so are 'public domain'/
hence the cheap price!

BUT Amazon have cramped all the tracks and the as=rtists up making it really difficult to actuallt read whats on the CDs so I'm unjumbled them.

CD 1
1.Cry To Me-Solomon Burke
2.Sweets For My Sweet-The Drifters
3.Some Other Guy-Richie Barrett
4.See See Rider-La Vern Baker
5.Write To Me-The Isley Brothers
6.Comin' Home Baby-Mel Tormé
7.Do The Hully Gully(Part 1)-King Coleman
8.Drinking Wine Spo-Dee-O-Dee-Larry Dale
9.I Can't Take It-Carla Thomas
10.Don'tcha Cry-Jerry Mathers
11.Sorry, But I'm Gonna Have to Pass- Lonnie Donegan
12.Tarantula-The Tarantulas
13.Up On The Roof-The Drifters
14.Sure 'Nuff-Ruth Brown
15.With A Feeling-Dale Hawkins
16.F.B.I.-The Shadows
17.My Heart Went Do Dat Da-Barbara Lewis
18.I Really Don't Want to Know- Solomon Burke
19.When You Dance-Billy Storm
20.Jeanette-The Castle Kings
21.Pinetop-Johnny Jenkins
22.I Wonder Who-Ray Charles
23.My Man, He's A Loving Man-Betty Lavett
24.Twist & Shout-The Top Notes
25.Yes I Will Love You Tomorrow- Jon E. Holiday

CD 2

1. Some Kind Of Wonderful-The Drifters
2. Lost Love-Barry Darvell
3. Just Out Of Reach-Solomon Burke
4. She Makes Me Wanna Dance-Frank Gari
5. Just One More Time -The Isley Brothers
6. Hey Memphis-La Vern Baker
7. Black Widow-The Tarantulas
8. I Do Love You-Tex & The Chex
9. Jam Up Twist-Tommy Ridgley
10. Mashed Potatoes- Carl Holmes & The Commanders
11. You Can Get Him Frankenstein- The Castle Kings
12. Kon-Tiki-The Shadows
13. Tricky Dicky-Richie Barrett
14. Ghost Train-Virgil Holmes
16. Love Pains-Ronnie Dio & The Prophets
17. Dear One-Billy Storm
18. Am I Blue-Ray Charles
19. Stranger On The Shore-The Drifters
20. Hearts Of Stone-The Top Notes
21. Wish Me Good Luck-Carla Thomas
22. Women-Dale Hawkins
23. Beyond The Sunset-Lonnie Donegan
24. Go On Back To Him-Solomon Burke
25. Jimmy Told I Lie-Georgie Camp

CD 3

1.A Love Of My Own-Carla Thomas
2.Keep The Magic Working-Solomon Burke
3.When My Little Girl Is Smiling-The Drifters
4.Anyone But You-Ruth Brown
5.Shadows-Ronnie Gallant
6.Saved-La Vern Baker
7.Stay At Home Lulu-Dale Hawkins
8.Wonderful Land-The Shadows
9.Honey Love-Billy Storm
10.Hard Candy-Joe Bushkin
11.Early In The Morning-Ray Charles
12.My Mama Told Me-Barbara Lewis
13.Always Late (Why Lead Me On)- The Top Notes
14.The Lone Twister-The Lone Twister
15.Have A Drink On Me-Lonnie Donegan
16.Shine On Harvest Moon- The Isley Brothers
17.Down In The Valley-Solomon Burke
18.Adam And Eve-Barry Darvell
19.Too Good To Be True-Tommy Manno
20.Please Stay-The Drifters
21.Drive It Home-The Clovers
22.Take It Like It Comes-Jimmy Jules
23.King Of Fools-The Van Dykes
24.Loch Lomond-The Castle Kings
25.Darling-The Falcons
26. Ooh Err Baby- Glendoline O'East and the Ridings.

Don't include the last track 26 on your listing.

It's a sad thought that many of these artist will now have passed away after over 50 years or more since the tracks were originally recorded.

In a way it's really good that when we hear them again today we can think back to the original artists.
It would be nice if you could say a little prayer for them.
Like the add for Tesco says `Every little helps'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really good value, 6 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
All these One Day music compilations are good value for money.
This one even more so since it's culled from the atlantic vault.
Better buy them now. In 2014 it will be too late.
The public domain limit will be extended to 70 years from 50 so get them while you can.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, 27 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
great.bit of oldies music, Love this old stuff this sort of sound will always be around. it is always nice to here
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gems indeed, 30 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you are a Northern Soul person - this was the stuff that we listened to in Manchester in 65 -well some of it. Solomon Burke; La Vern Baker stand out. The Drifters' version of Stranger On The Shore is a pleasant surprise. Of course there is some dross - but at this price what do you expect?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Words Fail Me...It's Gemtastic!, 29 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is one of the great compilations. Great tracks; great sound; great value. Of course many of the tracks are well known but it's the rarely heard gems which sell these CDs. Ruth Brown is superbly soulful and Billy Storm is simply genius. Can't stop playing it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars vintage, 8 May 2013
By 
Victor Preston "gvb" (birmingham, west mids United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
i have been the proud owner of the brilliant 8cd Atlantic r&b box set for going on 20 years now.
there is a lot more vintage Atlantic now available from one day records.
there are some suspect inclusions it depends on your music tastes, I have always liked Lonnie Donegan!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Usual One Day mix of hits and total flops, 11 July 2013
Twist & Shout by the Top Notes is all the proof you need that Phil Spector should never have been allowed anywhere near Atlantic.This is one of the few recordings which should have been strangled at birth.
This track was issued in the U K as the B side of Nino & April's Sweet And Lovely
Interesting to note that Atlantic were issuing Shadows singles which undesevedly qualified as flops in the States and which made no sense as their own Atco sub issued the Jorgen Ingman version of Apache -a chart topper in 1961
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews