Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very good album indeed, 5 Feb 2014
By 
Andy Sweeney "music was my first love" (Brighton, East Sussex) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Harlequin Dream (Audio CD)
Boy and Bear are an Australian band who I first heard of a few years ago through a rather good cover of Crowded House's “Fall At Your Feet” recorded for a multi-artist tribute album to Neil and Tim Finn. A friend of mine mentioned them a few weeks ago, remarking that a track he'd heard on BBC 6 Music was pretty good, so I looked them up, saw they had a new album coming out and took a blind chance on it, pre-ordering it without first hearing their début. It was a risk that paid off as “Harlequin Dream” is a thoroughly likeable, dreamy mix of Laurel Canyon style country-tinged folk rock, reminiscent of Fleet Foxes, and a light dash of Mumford and Sons style instrumentation and vocals. It has a warm, summery vibe to it, which makes it a bit of an ill-fitting record to listen to with the rain hammering down and the wind currently threatening to tear our roof off, down here on the Sussex coast, but it's actually quite nice to close my eyes, enjoy the music and have a bit of escapism from the winter blues.

The album kicks off with the excellent lead single, “Southern Sun”. The first track is a mellow but catchy affair, with a gently chugging seventies country rock feel and Fleetwood Mac-esque guitar riff complementing the laid-back, but impressive vocals. Organs, lush harmonies and a full, heavy drum sound make this a near-perfect way to begin what promises to be a quality release. “Old Town Blues” picks the tempo up a little more, featuring a rapid guitar arpeggio, but, although pleasing enough. lacks a bit of individuality and, really, could be an album track for any number of indie artists. Title track, “Harlequin Dream” is a lush, grandiose, soaring track which reminds me a little of eighties Norwegian masters of dramatic pop, A-ha (that's a good thing, by the way), and is garnished with a rather lovely saxophone solo to conclude the song. The distinctive “Three Headed Woman”, with its superb lyrics, powerful, tumbling beat and folk leanings certainly has the feel of Mumford and Sons, but has a scintillating electric guitar solo that steers it away from the whimsical, nu-folk movement; nothing on this album feels particularly pigeon-holed into any specific genre.

One of the best things on offer here is the lyrically belligerent, musically-muscular defiance of “Bridges”, whereas “A Moments Grace” is almost its polar opposite, a fragile, beauteous, aching piece of folk that positively tears at your emotions. “End Of The Line” is an up-tempo folky number that, whilst listenable, is one of the least memorable songs on this release and, sadly, “Back Down The Black” also overreaches in its ambition, not quite providing the melodic hooks and emotional pull to do the lyrics justice. However, these couple of songs are merely ordinary, rather than poor and only revealed by the the quality of the rest of what's on offer here. “Real Estate”, for example, is an upbeat but understated folk gem, “Stranger” is a skilfully written and beautifully performed hybrid of country rock and shimmering pop, certainly another highlight from this record, and the album finishes with “Arrow Flight”, a warmly romantic and subtly jaunty composition which ensures that, as the music ends, the listener is left with a smile on his or her face.

“Harlequin Dream” is an album of many strengths. Thoughtful, richly descriptive lyrics, an interesting range of eclectic tracks, superb production by the band and Wayne Connolly (You Am I, The Vines), Dave Hosking's gorgeous voice and an unashamed embrace of what could only be described as seventies AOR. I very much doubt that anybody could listen to this album once and begin to appreciate everything on offer here; it's very much a richly textured piece of work that reveals more about itself on each listen. With the first couple of playbacks, I decided that I really liked the album. By the end of the fifth listen, I had fallen for it, head over heels... or, at least, most of it. This isn't an all-time classic, but it is a very good piece of work indeed; it just about earns its five stars, but if there was an option for four and a half, I'd have opted for that. Also, although I seldom write about anything other than the music, I cannot write this review without a mention of the wonderful artwork on the album cover, rear and within the CD booklet. It's rare to see such beautiful work on a music release these days and the effort that has been made on the presentation of this album is exceptional, just part of the attention to detail present throughout the whole of “Harlequin Dream”, a very good album indeed. Now to buy their debut...!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, melodic, fresh, creative!, 14 Nov 2013
By 
David Lusher (London England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Harlequin Dream (Audio CD)
Nice to see a second album from Boy & Bear, following on from their excellent debut 'Moonfire'. 'Harlequin Dream' delivers another superb set of well-crafted country rock songs reminiscent of Fleet Foxes or Iron & Wine. This is fresh and wonderful music, full of pleasant surprises and beautifully played. Dave Hosking delivers stunningly good vocals throughout. Although Boy & Bear sound American, they actually hail from Sydney, Australia. There is not a duff track on this wonderful album. Warning - buy this and you'll be ordering 'Moonfire' too! I highly recommend both.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Imagine having a relationship with an Album - Seriously this is a truly fantastic album, 1 Mar 2014
This review is from: Harlequin Dream (Audio CD)
This is simply an excellent and intelligent album. What a find !!

It is not often a ‘random’ listen to the track snippets at Amazon yields something as marvellous as this.....launching Boy & Bear into the realms of favourite-band-right-at-the-moment. And this album in particular is endearing from start to finish.

I see some of the reviews make the point loud and clear how catchy the songs become after a mere couple of listens, so I have to reinforce that point completely. These songs bury themselves into your waking consciousness. The lyrics are so palatable and fit the tunes perfectly, the themes relatively dark in a way in which some of the best songs are. Wonderful album, which I am not going to make any comparisons to with other artists, as some other reviewers have done. The only comment around this is to start with I felt the vocal reminded me somewhat of ‘Cherry Ghost’ (certainly another band worth checking out if you, like me, love this!)
So, a top star rating for this album, and a mention that Moonfire - the album that preceded this one from Boy & Bear - is also excellent, again the songs are what is termed ‘earworms’; Jeez this Australian band have got it sussed; brilliant music, wonderful lyrics, the entire sound, production and presentation - vocals and harmonies included.......there is not much around that can top what Boy & Bear offer..........honestly, believe me – give this 3 listens and I guarantee you will be hooked. Even songs you kind of shrug your shoulders at during the first listen will by the third be resonating inside your mind, so much so you’ll want to go back and listen and discover the melodies will have melted within you with such familiarity, you will absolutely go back for more.

And why not.

It is not often such music is stumbled across and then makes you wonder what life was like before the songs came into your life...........this album has been starting off my drive to work each day, and with each listen it just gets better. Imagine having a relationship with an album, well that hasn’t happened to me for many years.

But it has now. Truly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love this album, 17 Jan 2014
By 
T. Murray (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Harlequin Dream (MP3 Download)
I was looking for something new to listen to, and boy did I find it. This is a superb album, I cant stop playing it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant band, brilliant album, 8 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Harlequin Dream (Audio CD)
Brilliant band, brilliant album. Beautifully crafted - not a bad track on it and loads of truly great ones. Australia's best kept secret these boys. The UK and USA will follow soon surely? Saw them in Liverpool last month singing all the songs off this album and it was a real treat. Do yourself a favour...get this excellent CD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars loved it, 20 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Harlequin Dream (MP3 Download)
Superb. I loved this album and I love the group. Stranger will haunt you and make you reach for the repeat button again and again. My fave song though has to be southern sun. Just. Awesome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great album, amazing voice, 17 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Harlequin Dream (MP3 Download)
First heard Southern Sun on a Nettwerk sampler freebie and thought what a lovely voice (as well as a catchy tune )so looked them up and bought this album. This is obviously a very talented band, their sound is original, and mostly fairly mellow. I love all the songs on this album, some more than others. I absolutely love the voice of Dave Hosking. Will be buying Moonfire next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 8 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Harlequin Dream (Audio CD)
Great Album, great songs good voice One of the best I have listened to in a long time. Am going to purchase their first Album Moonfire.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great album, 31 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Harlequin Dream (Audio CD)
Thank you Amazon for the free download of Nettwerk which had as the first title Southern Sun by Boy and Bear. On listening to this song I bought the album. Not disappointed. Could not stop playing it. Great vocals, great tunes and some wonderful lyrics too. very mellow and laid back. This is a band that is going somewhere. Can't wait to see them live. best songs -Southern Sun, Old Town Blues, Back Down The Black, and Arrow Flight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great find, 26 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Harlequin Dream (MP3 Download)
I heard the opener Southern Sun on the Nettwerk free sampler from amazon a few weeks back, and am pleased that the whole album lives up to the standards of that excellent track. Boy & Bear have a lovely contemporary folk rock sound. Comparisons with Fleet Foxes and Mumford & Sons are fair, although perhaps more mainstream than either of those. The songs are catchy, vocals and musicianship are top notch, and the production is finely judged, being neither overblown nor too raw. Perhaps they could rock out a bit more in places, and the sax at the end of the otherwise-beautiful title track is unforgivable, but overall this is a strong album that I'm very glad to have found.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Harlequin Dream
Harlequin Dream by Boy & Bear
Buy MP3 Album£7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews