Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Staying open
Barbara Ehrenreich, whose "Nickel and Dimed" is one of the best books I've read in the last fifteen years or so, is in her early seventies now (as I almost am myself), and it's quite wonderful to see her turn her unsentimental, humane eye on her own earlier life, and in particular, on some strange and intense "dissociative" experiences that she had as a...
Published 8 months ago by Stanley Crowe

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A promise gently unfulfilled.
The idea of an autobiography of someone who has been raised with and has deep commitments to the scientific paradigm, but who has a storehouse of memories from a wild youth that fit ill within that paradigm rang big bells, and struck me as an attractive proposition. They say we all have a book inside us, and my book would be very much about the radical dissonance between...
Published 4 months ago by John Ferngrove


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 22 Dec. 2014
By 
A. Booth - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Her solipsism has not left her, but a curious and very interesting story
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Self absorbed and self obsessed. This is a rambling ..., 9 Dec. 2014
By 
J. Blake "richaldis" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Self absorbed and self obsessed. This is a rambling nothing of a book which makes some truly Usa centric assertions, particularly about how difficult it is to be snap atheist. As a lifelong British atheist in her fifties it's never been difficult for me even though I don't live in a Communist state .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not much living, definitely not wild and nothing much about god at all either., 15 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Reading this book is akin to taking lunch with a slightly dotty great aunt who just won't stop talking about herself.
You hope she'll eventually get to making some point but as soon as she seems about to do that, off she goes onto another tangent.
Self absorbed simply does not cut it.
I persevered to the end with the story, such as it is; in the hopes that it could not get any worse ( it did).
Transcendentally dull.
Perhaps that was the point of the exercise, if so; it didn't work for me.
If Barbara Ehrenreich has set out her stall to become the thinking reader's Shirley McClain then she'll need to do more and better than this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 22 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
most interesting. made me think about my own beliefs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 21 Aug. 2014
By 
LG (Oxfordshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Living With a Wild God: A Non-Believer's Search for the Truth about Everything (Kindle Edition)
Gah! I read it as 'Living with a Wild Goat'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 21 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent quality & service.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Living With a Wild God: A Non-Believer's Search for the Truth about Everything (Kindle Edition)
A very interesting book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews