Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great listen
Jennifer Nettles the voice of Suglarland goes solo but some might say she was solo on many or most of the Sugaland songs anyway! Those who have heard her know what a superb voice she has and she perhaps has the talent with the right breaks to be a major solo act. Going solo after being in a highly successful duo is always a risk. Only time will tell if she is successful...
Published 7 months ago by Musicfan

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Read review
And bought it anyway. It is a very disappointing album from a very gifted talented singer. Such a shame :)
Published 2 months ago by K G Allodi


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great listen, 21 Jan 2014
By 
Musicfan (Somerset, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: That Girl (Audio CD)
Jennifer Nettles the voice of Suglarland goes solo but some might say she was solo on many or most of the Sugaland songs anyway! Those who have heard her know what a superb voice she has and she perhaps has the talent with the right breaks to be a major solo act. Going solo after being in a highly successful duo is always a risk. Only time will tell if she is successful. I hope she is as this is a great listen with a mix of accoustic ballads, country, soul influences, soft rock, latin sounds, blues and pop and it all hangs together well for an enjoyable and entertaiing listen. Some tracks are better than others but nothing to skip over. Her voice is emotive, powerful and sensitive and is to the forefront in the mix. Highlights include Falling, Now You Wanna Know, This Ones For You and my favourite That Girl. Not an album for country purists, it is not a country but neither was Sugarland really. This is an album full of different mixes which is a highly entertaining and enjoyable listen. I suppsoe if you like Reba or Sheryl Crow or Bonnie Raitt or all 3 or have wide musical tastes for great female vocals, you will probably enjoy this. Those who like the modern country should also enjoy this. She is a great singer. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Something different..., 11 Feb 2014
This review is from: That Girl (Audio CD)
Since Jennifer was always the voice of Sugarland, it was inevitable that she would release a solo album. What wasn't apparent is the surprising fact that she would enlist Rick Rubin to produce the album.
Her sound is different yet still somewhat similar to the Sugarland sound as well. It's mainly slow, stripped down and heavy on the ballads. Such as Falling, Me Without You, This Angel and Good Time To Cry.
The title tracks has a Spanish feel to it, while songs like This One's For You and Like A Rock (cover of the Bob Seger song) have a more blues/soul vibe to it.
As always, Jennifers voice shines through and is the highlight of the album. The songs aren't as comercial as Sugarland's and I doubt country radio will give her any big hits, but if you're a fan of the duo, you still should enjoy this album.

Prime Cuts: Falling, Me Without You, That Girl and Good Time To Cry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars You don't need to be a Country Music fan to enjoy this, 28 Feb 2014
By 
Mark Syder (Prescot, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: That Girl (Audio CD)
I'm by no means a Country music fan, but I do like a good female singer, and Jennifer Nettles is certainly that.

This album is an excellent mix of soft melodic songs (e.g. This Angel), slightly more uptempo songs (e.g. Jealousy), and a bit of rockabilly (Know You Wanna Know) thrown in for good measure.

Strangely enough, for this reviewer at least, the title track is the weak link (possibly because it's closer to being Country and Western than most songs on the CD). The song That Girl is the story of Jolene, the Dolly Parton song, told from Jolene's viewpoint. Interesting lyrically but does not appeal to me musically.

Being fortunate enough to have family in the USA I managed to obtain a copy with two exclusive bonus tracks on: His Hands (not a religious song, despite the title!) and Every Little Thing. These are good songs, but if you have to settle for the release available in the UK, don't be too upset - they're no better than the songs you have available to you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant CD, 9 May 2014
By 
MRS A L MASON (Horley, Surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: That Girl (MP3 Download)
I loved Jennifer Nettles in use Jennifers powerful voice to the full and had high hopes of her solo CD. This CD is not a disappointment, my only small complaint is that there could be a bit more variety of songs, the majority of these songs use Jennifers powerful voice to it's limits, a few more ballads would have been good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great solo album, 8 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: That Girl (Audio CD)
She has a beautiful voice and the songs are really fine.

I like this album but also I hope that she will make a new album with Kristian soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars That Girl by Jennifer Nettles, 3 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: That Girl (Audio CD)
I totally enjoyed the album, great voice and worthy of any one to listen.

Hope that each listener will enjoy it as much as I did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 26 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: That Girl (Audio CD)
This album is further proof that Jennifer is capable of anything. Fantastic tunes with wonderful and meaningful words. Well worth the wait
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Loudness, 19 July 2014
This review is from: That Girl (Audio CD)
Great vocals as expected but the production/mastering lets it down. Its just so loud. Works great if you play the cd in the car and also if put onto an MP3 player, but on a good hi-fi system it gets annoying after a time. It sounds very compressed so that even the quiet bits are loud.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars top solo cd, 23 July 2014
By 
W. C. Chelton (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: That Girl (Audio CD)
great voice good selection of songs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How can anyone not love this wonderful album?, 14 Jun 2014
By 
Mr. B. R. Good (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: That Girl (Audio CD)
Jennifer has one of the best voices in country music. I love her twang and strong vocals. How anyone can not love this beautiful album is beyond me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

That Girl
That Girl by Jennifer Nettles (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews