Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars176
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£8.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 December 2013
Forget Australian soaps if that is what you think Oz TV is all about. This is superb - set in the late 1950's this show is a cross between Foyles War and Endevour Morse, but with the local doctor solving the crimes as a police surgeon. Fantastic acting all-round with characters you will love - an era when things were more gentler and polite - or at least that is the perception of things as they keep a stiff upper lip and maintain dignity despite the horrors of coming out of the 2nd world war. This is prime time TV in Australia and I can't understand why the BBC in the UK put it in a weekday afternoon slot. This should be shown prime-time in the UK as well. Watch and be thoroughly enthralled.
0Comment|108 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 December 2013
If you want a well acted and put together series then this is for you. Craig McLachlan has matured into a very good actor indeed. He portrays Dr Lucien Blake as a gentle caring doctor whose past traumas gives him greater insight to the troubles of others. He is well supported by the rest of the cast. Nadine Garner is a revelation as Jean Beazley - she can convey a thought with just a look. As for Joel Tobeck, he is ideal as the Chief Supt - strict but determined to do the job well. I have just two minor niggles - not the actor or actress playing the parts but with the parts themselves. One is the way the young district nurse is portrayed. She is quite abrasive at times and obviously has a certain amount of disdain for the people she works with. It is a pity as the actress Cate Wolfe is far nicer than this. The other is the young policeman played by Rick Donald. Why do young police men have to be portrayed as being very immature? Rick Donald is good at doing this while showing that there is a mature intelligent man underneath. The programme evokes a time when things were a lot slower and in many ways more interesting. It reminds me a little of the wonderful 'House' but with more kindness and humour. The stories are interesting and keep you guessing up to the end. I can not understand why the BBC hid this programme in the early afternoon spot. Although it should not be a surprise seeing how they hid the wonderful 'Indian Doctor' in the same spot!!! I cannot wait for series two!!!
11 comment|35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2014
I wasnt going to bother watching this when it was on tv, but im so glad i did, got completely hooked on it. Fab stories, fab acting, fab location. This has to be one of the best things that has been on tv for ages, but the Aussies do make great programmes. Cant wait for series 2.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2015
I have always been attracted to Australian films but never their TV Series. Their productions have either been of a high international standard
or extremely poorly executed, much the same as Afrikaans films and TV Series in South Africa. Well, we now have ITV on premium DSTV
and they have been showing the 'The Dr Blake Mysteries' and what a marvelous surprise.

I have not looked forward to the next episode of a TV Series or enjoyed them so much since Inspector Morse, Frost and 1st series of Foyle's War.
Set in the historical mining town of Ballarat in Victoria State, Australia and actually filmed on site in the beautifully preserved historical part of Ballarat, this series has everything. Each episode is a self contained unit and well crafted with acting of the highest caliber, excellent photography
and musical score(enhancing the series) together with strict attention to detail of the period just after the 2nd World War.

Lucien Blake played by Craig McLachlan, the Doctor who returns to Ballarat under a cloud of mystery to take over his Father's practice and who
is a risk taker and shrewd detective defying the strict protocol of the time, is superb as are all the characters, whom one gets to know with all their foibles and cannot wait to see them again in the next episode. The period just after the war is so well captured with the so well mannered Doctor capturing the spirit of the age together with his housekeeper extraordinaire.

I shall not say more and spoil the TV feast you will enjoy when you see it on TV or purchase it(which i shall do to view again at my leisure). I have now seen Series 1 @ 2 and cannot wait for Season 3 to be screened. It is a mystery that BBC did not see fit to show this as Prime Time Television as it is up there with best. Well done Australian TV for an excellent production.
review image
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2013
The Doctor Blake Mysteries is absolutely brilliant and Craig McLachlan is the perfect person to play the doctor. A mix between Murdoch Mysteries and Diagnosis Murder, set in 1950's Australia in Ballarat. This series had me hooked from the beginning and can't wait for the next series of this fantastic programme. Glad that it is out on dvd, could watch it again and again.
0Comment|46 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2013
The mystery, humor, compassion, calm pace, great acting, and interesting story lines has made this program one of my favorites. I was browsing UK sites to determine if there is a season 2, when it will be released, etc. - and I kept bumping into reviews such as "this picture is too dark - too slow paced". All I can say, is if you are interested in a crack paced franctic flashing unimpressive mystery, check out most of the American programs. I live in the USA, and I watch primarily UK and Australian DVD's. I stopped all cable / TV subscription over a decade ago - 500 channels, and nothing worth watching.

Regardless, Dr. Blake mysteries definitely has class and quality - plus a rich sense of humor and caring. For the many who are behind creating and acting in this, you "got it right". Hope to have years of enjoyment with this program.
44 comments|41 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 December 2013
This is a really entertaining and interesting series. The setting, acting and storylines are all first rate and, as another reviewer commented, the BBC missed a chance by putting this in a daytime slot. It is far better than most of the stuff which fills the evening schedules. Looking forward very much to series 2.
0Comment|24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2014
An interesting 'Whodunnit' series set in 1950s Australia. Thoroughly enjoyed it and the various main characters. Eagerly waiting next series!
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2014
The Doctor Blake Mysteries is a crime and mystery drama that originates from Australian television. The first series aired there in 2013, and was just released on DVD in the UK. The show was successful enough that it was renewed for a second series.

The show follows the recent "retro" trend of British crime dramas, and set in the 1950s. The primary character is Doctor Lucien Blake, who is a local doctor or physician who also doubles as a "police surgeon," or in other words he also serves as the local coroner or forensic pathologist, etc. As with most police procedurals, there is regular a cast of other characters, and three of them live with Doctor Blake. His residence is also his office, and living with him is his housekeeper, a local district nurse, and one of the police constables. Another recurring character is the police superintendent.

Each episode is an individual case or story, about 55 minutes in length, and there are 10 episodes in total. Dr. Blake is brought by the police to examine the body and the crime scene. The basic premise of the character's personality is that, unlike the police, he never accepts the obvious answer. As the police constable lives in his house, Dr. Blake exploits him to his advantage, and sometimes at odds with the police superintendent. The housekeeper and the nurse also become regularly involved due to their knowledge of the community. There is a lingering attraction between Dr. Blake and his housekeeper, as wells as the local district nurse and the police constable. From a critical point of view, Dr. Blake initiates multiple public controversies that would undoubtedly damage anyone's reputation, especially that of a doctor, but he seemingly survives each unscathed.

The atmosphere of the show is not too serious and not too light, and there is some subtle humor and charm. Many fans of British crime procedurals will find this series an enjoyable view.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2014
The main character in these DVDs is an Australian Doctor who has clearly seen more than any man would wish, has lost his family during a Japanese invasion of Singapore and worked with the army for a long time. His reputation precedes him and lends weight to his requests, as does his status as only doctor of a small town near Melbourne. The time is in the 1950s, I believe, and the characters are all believable and likeable - even some of the villains. It is a pleasant journey into another time and place with a bit of a mystery to be resolved by a person one trusts. Nice way to while away an hour.
22 comments|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)