Customer Reviews


114 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (33)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (16)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Welsh Blade Runner...
The Welsh Blade Runner...

Dr. Vincent McCarthy is on the quest to find AI, under the umbrella of MOD. Wounded soldiers are fitted with implants and are rendered mute. Unbeknownst to McCarthy, they already developed their own kind of robot-communications, and a few homicidal tendencies.

When Ava starts asking too many questions, she is promptly told...
Published 6 months ago by Robyn K

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great movie, AWFUL blu-ray.
Great movie, but it is a bit of a slow burn...I wasn't expecting that. The trailer made it seem as if it was this generation's Terminator, but it wound up being almost that movie's polar opposite, action wise. Outstanding visuals, great story, and very good acting.

My complaint on the blu-ray is the "downloadable extras". There are NO special features...
Published 5 months ago by Nipper


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Welsh Blade Runner..., 16 April 2014
This review is from: The Machine [DVD] (DVD)
The Welsh Blade Runner...

Dr. Vincent McCarthy is on the quest to find AI, under the umbrella of MOD. Wounded soldiers are fitted with implants and are rendered mute. Unbeknownst to McCarthy, they already developed their own kind of robot-communications, and a few homicidal tendencies.

When Ava starts asking too many questions, she is promptly told to mind her own business. Conveniently, Chinese terrorists (or are they?) do away with pesky Ava and her mechanoid is born.

McCarthy does have a touch of Doctor Frankenstein about him, as he creates humanity’s future ruin. He just wants to help his daughter, not take over the world. Denis Lawson is perfect as Thomson, the Corporate bastard. To him Robo-Ava is weapon and he manipulates the situation to suit himself.

The Machine is a visually stunning film full of conspiracies and it is hard to figure out who are the bad guys at times. The film is punctuated by sinister electro music- that adds a creepy claustrophobic atmosphere. A technique perfected over the years by the director John Carpenter.

If you are still unsold that AI can be devious, just remember that next time Siri gives you the wrong directions and you end up in the middle of a field. Just because you cant hear Siri laughing, doesn’t mean she/he/it isn’t.

The Machine is a quality British independent film that proves you can make a great Scifi film with out it turning into a CGI- crapfest.

This thought provoking film asks more questions than it answers, but at its core it is about what makes us human. This undiscovered gem is a must see for any hardcore Scifi fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant British Sci-Fi, 25 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Machine [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Sci-Fi movies are not made like this anymore. Now we expect explosions and multi-million dollar set pieces. This film doesn't need any of it.

Hardware from the 90's has similarities with the grittiness of the setting.

From the music, the lighting, to the story, everything about this movie is superb. This is a gem with a dark theme and great special effects.

And I see I'm not the only one who raises the Blade Runner tag and you can see why once the music sets in and the Machine is created by Toby Stephen's who plays the Dr. Frankenstein role really well.

Caity Lotz (from Arrow) puts in a real eye catching performance and had me believing it.

I'm not sure of the budget but this will be a cult movie for years to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very emotive, dark, sinister movie which could turn out to be a cult movie, 25 Mar 2014
Great sound track on this film.
Its very edgy and at times makes you feel quite shaky at the prospect of how human advancement could end up.
The flow and screen play is a tad poor in places, but fx and characters do grow on you.
Overall, I felt it was a good movie and the analogue sound is worthy of a decent sound system to fully appreciate its analogue feel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "..GEM OF A FILM, ONE OF THE BEST OF 2014..", 1 April 2014
By 
S. Drury "SDX-800" (U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Machine [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I Don't know where to start praising this movie as its truly amazing! For a small time release low budget movie its a huge deal, one of the best Sci-Fi's in years and certainly for me the most entertaining film this year so far, this film is a marvel of small budget film making and shows the big boys how its done, very original and visually beautiful all the time, top effects and a great sounding retro soundtrack, it has a wonderful story that you really get deeply involved in and you love the characters, the lead actress who plays the machine CAITY LOTZ is amazing and gives such great performance, this really must be seen by any sci-fi fan and any lover of a solid quality movie experience with a little more flavour than your usual Hollywood garbage! Gem of the year so far! Its just a shame there are no features on the disc but there are a couple of downloadable extras.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars albeit the box design and sleeve notes made it look like something of a potential clichefest - so moderated my ..., 8 July 2014
By 
Mr. Mark Slater "Wintermute" (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Machine [DVD] (DVD)
Picked this up on some moderate favourable reviews, albeit the box design and sleeve notes made it look like something of a potential clichefest - so moderated my expectations accordingly. Comments like 'The Welsh Blade Runner' don't help either. But am I glad I did pick it up! Very, very impressed indeed. The sleeve comment that says it's (to paraphrase) the best British 'Sci-Fi' film since Moon are prettty much bang on. The script is intelligent, the acting is great, the direction and photography are superb, the effects work is bang on (not overstated and serve the narrative rather than lead it) and the music is very good (with the exception of some suspect 80's synth sounds in the closing theme that are reminicent of a Blade Runner/Terminator mashup - but this is literally the only complaint I have about this film). It would be unfair to this film to make lazy comparisons with either 'Blade Runner' or 'The Terminator' - it is its own film entirely. I bought the DVD (as it was a speculative purchase and was cheap), but am thinking I'll give the DVD away and upgrade the the BluRay. Will be keeping my eye on this director, and hoping he can get funding together for more films of this calibre, which are such an antidote to the Hollywood cookie cutter multiplex fayre we're fed a steady diet of. Stop throwing multi-millions at mediocre cinematic spectacles, and start giving the money to talented people who can do this sort of stuff at a fraction of the budget - unbelieveable that this reported cost less than a million (when they spend the likes of $65m on bilgewater like 'I, Frankenstein')
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DON'T CLOWN AROUND, 16 April 2014
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Machine [DVD] (DVD)
In the near future China and the west get into a cold war, one where China kicks butt. The background material is almost insignificant. This story concerns the creation of machine implants in humans as well as the artificial intelligence question, similar to the ones asked in "I, Robot." Vincent ( Toby Stephens) works with new hirer Ava (Caity Lotz) to create...whatever it is the military wants. Vincent also has issues with his special needs daughter and seeks help for her.

The film is imaginatively done in a limited setting.The plot breaks with much of the formulaic trash that make up block busters, but not totally. Good red and black film for science fiction and conspiracy fans.

Parental Guide: F-bomb. No sex.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surprising, 17 May 2014
By 
Mr. P. J. Murphy "Starshade" (Liverpool) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Machine [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I got this film on a blind purchase, and for me its been one of the best sci-Fi films I have seen for a long time, and hope it is followed up.

The special effects while'st exceptionally good for a film made in the UK did not get in the way of the story-line as seems to be the flaw with most modern block busters.

I would use words like modern, edgy, brooding, punchy & emotive to describe this film.

This film has a great soundtrack which I would like to see given a separate release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining, 1 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Machine [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
A bit of an unusual film that suffers from a disjointed start which made me wondering whether o keep watching or not.

However it developed well as the story became more involved and in the end was highly enjoyable and does raise the question of what, exactly, is human in relation to computers and robotics.

Given the way my PC behaves at times I wonder if it has a life of its own already.

A film that's a bit different but well worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyed this film never seen this outside of Amazon site ..., 13 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Classic British sci-fi ,dark moody , compelling , and cautionary tale ! Enjoyed this film never seen this outside of Amazon site and was intrigued by reviews and was,nt disappointed, would highly recommend watching this, not the usual Hollywood rubbish that's doing the rounds at the moment , enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good serious sci-fi, 7 July 2014
By 
Richard Morton (Bristol, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Machine [DVD] (DVD)
The Machine is an enjoyable, interesting slice of British sci-fi. It wears it's influences on its sleeve - there are elements of Blade Runner, The Terminator, 2001, Metropolis and others here. It sometimes feels like a greatest hits compilation on a smaller budget.

Set in a near future it focuses on a military facility where science boffin Vincent (Toby Stephens) is leading the chase to create artificial intelligence weapons to fight a war. At least that's what his employers want and expect him to do, he may have other motivations. When Ava (Caity Lotz) arrives at the facility a breakthrough is made in the technology and things escalate from there (for better or worse).

I enjoyed it. The film belies it's relatively small budget and visually looks the part. The acting is good all round, including a fun turn from Denis Lawson as the obligatory hateable executive. The opening scene is a killer and things build slowly but nicely from here towards a stirring conclusion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Machine [Blu-ray]
The Machine [Blu-ray] by Caradog W. James (Blu-ray - 2014)
£9.94
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews