Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Read
Read this book with little interruption....couldn't put it down. Well written with loveable and not so loveable characters (Wanted to slap Jude more than once) romantic and engaging. Recommend this book!
Published 6 months ago by Tina Caldeira

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ok plot, but tragically executed - requires more depth, background story and felt rushed. But otherwise ok read
The plot was ok, but tragically executed

I thought it was a enemy-turn-lovers type story, but it's nothing like that, I'm not sure I can safely articulate what it is without misleading potential readers.

=======================================
Characters
Maggie Mitchell: 21 yo science student (former geek) was always a shy nerdy creature...
Published 1 month ago by Goddess of Blah Book Reviews


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ok plot, but tragically executed - requires more depth, background story and felt rushed. But otherwise ok read, 25 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Community Service (Kindle Edition)
The plot was ok, but tragically executed

I thought it was a enemy-turn-lovers type story, but it's nothing like that, I'm not sure I can safely articulate what it is without misleading potential readers.

=======================================
Characters
Maggie Mitchell: 21 yo science student (former geek) was always a shy nerdy creature and a late bloomer. She attended the same school as Sawyer (who was her long-ago crush but she didn't think she stood a chance).
She suffers severe self-esteem issues due to her late-bloomer nerd identity holding her back (plus stupid former boyfriends). But otherwise she's driven, intelligent (book smart anyway) and a "babe" (loads of men seem to think so anyway rendering Sawyer growling with jealousy). She seems to be rather judgemental of other women (and men).

Sawyer Reed: 22 yo science student, totally hot athlete and one-time Casanova who had every girl after him... Until a tragic sinking accident 4 years ago rendered him paralysed and in a wheelchair (but he can have sex before you're wondering). After his accident he has changed as a person and is incredibly sensitive and no longer a womaniser (or The Jock). He appears to be obsessed with Maggie (but only she can't see it).
From the synopsis: Her new lab partner, Sawyer Reed, is still the overconfident and sexy jock that made fun of her in high school. The only thing that has changed is that he now uses a wheelchair, the result of a skiing accident.

Jude Marino: spoilt, an actor hoping to break into Hollywood, arrogant, good-looking, player, bit of a misogynist and rather unpleasant. He's also the arch enemy of Sawyer, not to mention a rival for Maggie's affections.
From the synopsis: Jude Marino is a hot actor, who all the girls want and would do anything to get. He works at a local theatre where Maggie has been assigned to complete community services hours after rear-ending a police car.

=======================================
Plot
Maggie Mitchell obtains a scholarship that includes working on a project for the university science department. Sawyer Reed has also obtained the same prize and is her lab partner.
There they become re-acquainted and Sawyer seems to be immediately taken with her (to the point that it seems unrealistic and OTT). In fact most men who meet her (with the exception of a police officer) appear to be in lust with her.

After rear-ending a police car, Maggie must do community service which is where she encounters our Mr Wickham aka Jude Marino. He hits on her (as seems to be the rule), which confuses the heroine who confesses (to herself) that she may have feelings for Sawyer.

But Sawyer feels threatened by Jude (and due to events in his past he doesn't trust love and all that jazz) and hence he pushes Maggie away who then accepts a date with Jude.

And then she must decide whether she wants the deep-thinking mature Sawyer or the fun-loving crazy Jude.
=======================================

Problems
The problem with the execution of the book is that it jumps and seems rushed. One minute they meet - bang - next Sawyer is nuts about her and Jude is wondering if he's met his match (because of course no other woman in the world has rejected his advances).

It would have worked better if there was a backstory on Maggie and Sawyer at school - more interaction between the two. But instead we hear that she shared the same bus with him and she had a secret smile.

Then there's the part regarding Jude - if Maggie doesn't want to date Jude or Sawyer, that doesn't mean there aren't other men around. Just because she rejects one doesn't mean she must date the other and vice versa. **facepalm**

That part didn't make any sense. You shouldn't need a "foil" to make your hero look good. He ought to be The One regardless how good or bad other guys are.

Then there's Jude's "harem" - he thinks just because these girls are "easy" that he's better than them? Wow oh please with your sexism. You're as bad (or as good) as them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Read, 28 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Community Service (Kindle Edition)
Read this book with little interruption....couldn't put it down. Well written with loveable and not so loveable characters (Wanted to slap Jude more than once) romantic and engaging. Recommend this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fab read, 29 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Community Service (Kindle Edition)
Really good story, thoroughly enjoyed reading it, read it from start to finish in one sitting. Definitely worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent read, 16 Jan 2014
By 
Jean Burns (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Community Service (Kindle Edition)
excellent read from start to finish I hope there`s a book 2 this is the second book I`ve red from this author
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I cried a lot!, 22 Dec 2013
This review is from: Community Service (Kindle Edition)
3.5 - 4 Stars in my Sky!

Community Service follows Uni senior Maggie as she begins a highly sort after science internship. The other intern is the uber hot former jock, Sawyer who was Maggie's high school crush and sort-of-bully. The big difference is that Sawyer is now in a wheelchair, but is still handsome and (at least on the surface) cocky and confident.

After starting the internship Maggie releases she hasn't moved on from her crush on Sawyer and he's pretty instantly taken with her. After an unfortunate incident with a police car Maggie is sentenced to community service at a local theatre, where she meets bad boy actor Jude. Jude also wants Maggie and he's pretty forward in his attraction to her. Throw in a complicated history between Sawyer and Jude and you've got quite the interesting story.

Maggie has come a long way since high school - according to her mother she's "a late bloomer," but she has really low self esteem and doesn't see her own worth. A lot of these issues come from her controlling mother (don't get me started on her mother's opinion of disabilities). I could totally understand Maggie's doubt when it came to Sawyer and Jude; would Sawyer want her if he wasn't in a wheelchair? He was pretty mean to her in high school. Also does Jude's attraction mainly stem from his issues with Sawyer?

Sawyer is an interesting character because he's a charming mix of confident (at one point he says he's dealt with his situation) but he's also really vulnerable he considers himself less worthy because of the wheelchair and has to face a daily battle against prejudice and unfair expectations from other people.

I would have loved to have seen the story from Sawyer's POV because it would have helped highlight the issues Sawyer faces by being in a wheelchair. Some sections were really funny, whilst others were really sad. Sometimes I wanted to shout at Sawyer to see sense because Maggie didn't pity him. Community Service is a short, sweet and sad story about prejudice and self-worth.

I received a copy from the author in exchange for an honest review!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Community Service, 1 Dec 2013
This review is from: Community Service (Kindle Edition)
Wow! Just... wow! As a reader of any particular genre, you will find yourself reading the same (ish) story, following the same guidelines as a lot of other books. It becomes the 'thing' to try and find a book with a different angle but that isn't just about that different angle. It still has to have a story that will intrigue and fascinate you. Dakota Madison has done that superbly with this book. The love triangle, the ugly ducking/swan transformation, the nerd and the jock, yep they've all been done before. But not with one of the male leads in a wheelchair. This is almost a taboo subject although it shouldn't be. Dakota has made this love story into something so beautiful, so resonant that, just like Maggie in the story, you forget that Sawyer is in a wheelchair. You will see him and not the chair, which is just as it should be. I don't want to go too much into the story but Maggie has to choose which one is for her and it's not a straightforward, easy choice. She realises that not everyone is happy with the idea of dating someone in a wheelchair, let alone anything else. She is also very flattered by the intense advances of Jude, as she still sees herself as a nerd.

This story is incredibly well-written from the first person's perspective, with characters that are completely believable and the plot to the story is well-paced and flows naturally. The sex scene in the book is very tenderly and sensitively written. One of my favourite quotes from the book, said by Maggie (but I won't say who she's talking to) is:

"He's not better than you," I replied. "He's just better for me."

I loved this book, it is definitely a keeper and Dakota Madison is an author who's other work I am curious to read. If they are half as good as this, then I'm onto a new (to me) fantastic author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Community Service (Kindle Edition)
Great storyline!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars community service dakota madison, 17 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Community Service (Kindle Edition)
Found this book by accident an all i can say is i loved it, what a lovely romance especially with the hero being in a wheelchair, i loved the sensitive way Dakota wrote the sex scenes, beautiful. Jude, what a jerk he turned out to be, altho he did get what he deserved i did however think as he had been close friends with Sawyer before the accident he could have apologised to him in the end, but never mind i would read this again and seriously would like a book 2, as no doubt a lot of obstacles would be put in their way, thankyou lovely book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Community Service
Community Service by Dakota Madison
£2.07
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews