Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars16
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
15
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£12.51+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

This is the fifth album produced by Emily Smith. She has such a beautiful and pure voice which is so well suited to this type of music - she has done very well over the last few years. I have had her spotted at festivals and listened regularly to her recordings at home - she is truly a talent and is continuing to develop as this CD so well demonstrates. It is stunning. The sound quality is also good.

She has a band featuring Ross Hamilton on bass, Signy Jakobsdottir on percussion, Matheu Watson (multi instrumentalist) and last but not least, her husband Jamie McClennan. The guest list on this album is superb and adds to the high quality music. The guest list includes Aoife O'Donovan, Jerry Douglas, Tim Edey, Rory Butler, Kris Dreve and Natalie Haas.

I was lucky enough to be sent this as a gift from a relative on the day of release it seems! It arrived early today and already this morning I have listened to it once all the way through - it will be very well played. I am looking forward to future albums!

Would highly recommend this CD
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2014
Forget the 'folk' genre tag, this is quite simply extraordinary beautiful music performed by artists with exceptional ability. Am not as a matter of course a folk devotee, but am a huge fan of ES having stumbled across a gig of hers a few years ago. She is currently midway through a tour promoting this album and I urge you to go and see her.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2014
I've seen Emily Smith twice live on stage. I know she is a talented singer. On this album she has taken one further step. Surrrounded by some of the best folk musicians in Scotland. A good choice of songs arranged cleverly and superbly performed. A very good buy.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2014
Recently saw Emily in concert in Dunfermline and she is very relaxed and a great performer. Jamie was with her and he is a great entertainer too. The songs on this are great. Funnily, Emily has a more Scottish accent on the CDs than she does Live!!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2014
AMAZING !!!!

Her best album (In my opinion)

The album has brilliant tracks.
If like me, until a few months ago, I had never heard of Emily.... BUY this one !!
(I've ended up buying all of her albums)

She does sound amazing.

(If you want to buy something else as well, give Julie Fowlis a try... she sings in Gaelic, but don't let that put you off...)
Recommend Cara Dillon (from Northern Ireland) as well.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2014
I am loving listening to this new album by Emily Smith. All of the tracks are equally good and the singing and balance of musicianship could not be better. You will not be disappointed if you buy this album.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2014
I reckon this is Emily's best album yet. Brilliant production with some stunning contributions from the musicians in the studio.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2014
Having seen Emily live in concert, so I know what she actually sounds like live, this is probably of all her CDs the nearest to how she actually sounds live. I enjoyed listening to it and will listen to it again. Her music and her voice are superb and this CD reflects that.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2014
A wonderful mix of traditional and new songs on a wide range of themes, each beautifully interpreted and personalised. "The Sowers song" could almost be seen as a sequel to "Winter Song" (on the "Too far away" album). "The Final Trawl" is a must for live performance, continuing a nautical theme, running through songs on several previous albums. "John O'Dreams" runs a close second to "The Sower's Song" as my favourite track on this album. Finally, "My Darling Boy" is a wonderful interpretation but not quite as perfect as Joan Baez' version "The trees they do grow high" (on her Ballad book Vol 1 album) and if Emily knows this album we can only hope for her own recording of "The Silkie" in the future.
Richard Stenton
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2014
A superb collection of Emily's latest work, including some traditional songs arranged by her, some self-penned and some others by notable writers and some by poets, put to music by her.
Emily's voice is, simply sublime and pure, and I can confirm that she is just as good, if not better, live.
On the album she's supported by hubby James (an incredible guitarist and performer in his own right), some friends, and guests such as Jerry Douglas, Aoife O'Donovan, Kris Drever, Time Edey, Natalie Haas and Rory Butler.
How can you list highlights, when every track is a masterpiece in it's own right?
An award winner, prolific writer and performer, and hard working crusader of traditional live music. Put her on your list of "must see" artistes.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£13.83

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)