Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!, 24 Feb 2014
By 
SM (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Echoes (Audio CD)
This is the fifth album produced by Emily Smith. She has such a beautiful and pure voice which is so well suited to this type of music - she has done very well over the last few years. I have had her spotted at festivals and listened regularly to her recordings at home - she is truly a talent and is continuing to develop as this CD so well demonstrates. It is stunning. The sound quality is also good.

She has a band featuring Ross Hamilton on bass, Signy Jakobsdottir on percussion, Matheu Watson (multi instrumentalist) and last but not least, her husband Jamie McClennan. The guest list on this album is superb and adds to the high quality music. The guest list includes Aoife O'Donovan, Jerry Douglas, Tim Edey, Rory Butler, Kris Dreve and Natalie Haas.

I was lucky enough to be sent this as a gift from a relative on the day of release it seems! It arrived early today and already this morning I have listened to it once all the way through - it will be very well played. I am looking forward to future albums!

Would highly recommend this CD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sublime, 31 Mar 2014
By 
Philip Knight "Phil Knight" (Berkshire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Echoes (Audio CD)
Forget the 'folk' genre tag, this is quite simply extraordinary beautiful music performed by artists with exceptional ability. Am not as a matter of course a folk devotee, but am a huge fan of ES having stumbled across a gig of hers a few years ago. She is currently midway through a tour promoting this album and I urge you to go and see her.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely, 7 April 2014
By 
LJM (Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Echoes (Audio CD)
Recently saw Emily in concert in Dunfermline and she is very relaxed and a great performer. Jamie was with her and he is a great entertainer too. The songs on this are great. Funnily, Emily has a more Scottish accent on the CDs than she does Live!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best folk album ot the year., 7 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Echoes (Audio CD)
I've seen Emily Smith twice live on stage. I know she is a talented singer. On this album she has taken one further step. Surrrounded by some of the best folk musicians in Scotland. A good choice of songs arranged cleverly and superbly performed. A very good buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 21 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Echoes (Audio CD)
AMAZING !!!!

Her best album (In my opinion)

The album has brilliant tracks.
If like me, until a few months ago, I had never heard of Emily.... BUY this one !!
(I've ended up buying all of her albums)

She does sound amazing.

(If you want to buy something else as well, give Julie Fowlis a try... she sings in Gaelic, but don't let that put you off...)
Recommend Cara Dillon (from Northern Ireland) as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Folk album of the year, methinks., 3 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Echoes (Audio CD)
I reckon this is Emily's best album yet. Brilliant production with some stunning contributions from the musicians in the studio.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best one yet!, 5 Mar 2014
This review is from: Echoes (Audio CD)
I am loving listening to this new album by Emily Smith. All of the tracks are equally good and the singing and balance of musicianship could not be better. You will not be disappointed if you buy this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than ever., 24 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Echoes (Audio CD)
Having seen Emily live in concert, so I know what she actually sounds like live, this is probably of all her CDs the nearest to how she actually sounds live. I enjoyed listening to it and will listen to it again. Her music and her voice are superb and this CD reflects that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another gem from Emily Smith, 21 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Echoes (Audio CD)
If you loved her earlier albums then this new release will not disappoint. A delight from beginning to end. Wonderful!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Echoes--Emily Smith, 11 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Echoes (Audio CD)
A young Barbara Dixon. Lovely voice, super backing, particularly liked Nathalie Haas on cello. Songs that I've known 60 years. Loved it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Echoes
Echoes by Emily Smith (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews