Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 38 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 4-1/2* Sensual New Sci-Fi Series
Dr. Kara Cantrell fled a supernatural malevolence seven years ago when she witnessed the brutal murder of her husband. She settled in the small town of Zorro thinking it would be a good safe place to raise her son Alex and settled into living a normal life, away from the threats of evil. All seemed right with her world until the day when she stepped from her truck and...
Published on 27 July 2006 by M. Rondeau

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good story, didn't like the bad guy
Never read anything by this author before,but reviews were good,so thought I'd give it a try. Story was good,kept you interested,never guessed who the baddie was,although I thought I had it a couple of times,but was completely wrong! Unfortunately, what spoiled it for me was the way the 'bad guy's thoughts were written. Considering the way the rest of the book was...
Published 5 months ago by Lambinator (Angie)


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

38 of 38 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 4-1/2* Sensual New Sci-Fi Series, 27 July 2006
By 
M. Rondeau (West Springfield, MA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Dr. Kara Cantrell fled a supernatural malevolence seven years ago when she witnessed the brutal murder of her husband. She settled in the small town of Zorro thinking it would be a good safe place to raise her son Alex and settled into living a normal life, away from the threats of evil. All seemed right with her world until the day when she stepped from her truck and felt the `power'. Gazing at the tall dark stranger in town she recognized him for what he was -- a Sentinel. Kara knew the danger and the risk, and she wanted no part of him, his powers, or any influence he would have over Alex.

Damien Morgan was an Atlantian Sentinel soul born human -- mortal but with supernatural powers to track down and bring Karmic justice to evil Belians. He knew at once that Kara recognized and felt his power; knew also that she was not a Sentinel but a Conductor who could help him find the Belian. More than the woman though, Damien sensed a much more powerful energy emanating from the boy, and knew he was an initiate - a fledgling Sentinel who without guidance would easily fall prey to the Belian evil.

Damien forcefully inserted himself into Kara and Alex's life mainly to protect but also knowing that with her help he would fare a greater chance of discovering where the evil Belian dwelt. Kara knew the dangers of emotional involvement with a Sentinel, knew Damien's purpose of rooting out the evil was dangerous and she could not afford to have her heart broke again. But the pull Damien had on her was so intense that falling in love was too hard to resist.

This was an amazing story. Damien was a terrific lead with a take charge no nonsense attitude and was not about to be ignored. Fabulously sensual, the concept of how a Sentinel and Conductor's relations empowered the Sentinel's chances of tracking the enemy made for a truly steamy tale. The concept and characters were developed extremely well, and the brief background of terms describing these new beings was fabulously helpful in giving this reader a better understanding of what was going on and who was who in this authors new world. Breathing life into the characters with a deft touch the reader will become immersed immediately into the story, feeling the terror, the heartbreak and the joy of the characters as they began to work towards the common good. Personally, I loved the entire concept of how these people came from the lost land of Atlantis and give this author high marks for originality and creativity. Fans of Spangler's Sci-Fi Fantasy are going to be mesmerized by this sensual new series.

Marilyn Rondeau, RIO - Reviewers International Organization
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding Tour De Force Return, 9 Jan 2007
By 
Deborah MacGillivray "Author," (US & UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
The first book I picked up by Catherine Spangler, years ago, was because I had a cat named Spangler. By that funny quirk of fate, I found one of the most wonderful writers and have been enjoying her books ever since. An auto-buy, the RITA nominee writer has left Dorchester Publishing and moved to Berkley, and in doing the jump, has moved into a new series. While I am sure fans of the Shielder series will bemoan Spangler's switch to another genre, they cannot help but be amazed by this stunning new series launch.

Spangler leaves the Sci-Fi Romance subgenre and moves in to the dark paranormal series with the Touched by Darkness, book 1 of the Sentinel Series for Berkley Sensation. I could not put this book down. Spangler's Excalibur level wordsmithing, wove a spell and kept me turning pages when I should have been in bed sleeping. I just had to keep reading, cover-to-cover, non-stop.

A dark, powerful and ancient evil walks amongst us, and Dr. Kara Cantrell knows this only too well. She has come to the small town of Zorro, Texas with the purpose of hiding, hiding herself from the unspeakable terror, but more importantly, hiding her son. Alex was born of a passionate affair, but at the time Kara had little idea what she had been sucked into. By the time she understood fully, there was nothing left for her to do, but to take her son and runŻand keep running.

When she sees Damien Morgan, coming toward her, she fears her running is over. Damien is a Sentinel. He's come to protect her, but to do so he must use her, use the special power within her. The dark ancient menace that traces its roots back to Atlantis is already feasting on the souls of Zorro and only Damien can save Kara and Alex.

From the first pages, Spangler took hold of me and sucked me into the world she created. I have long been a fan of Spangler's works, and was sad to see the long gap in her books as she moved from one publisher to another, but now am very happy to say she is back. If anything, I think the `down-time' has sharpened her craft and her ability to conjure these alternative worlds, in a breathless, non-stop action book that is one of the best you will read this year.

Very highly recommended.

Deborah Macgillivray

Paranormal Reviews
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Make Way--She's Back!!, 9 Jan 2007
By 
K. Montgomery (Columbus, GA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Awaiting a Catherine Spangler book is like waiting for that elusive present you only get on birthdays or Christmas mornings. Her gripping sci-fi romance originals have delighted fans of the genre for quite a long while and I couldn't have been happier to see this new release. Spangler takes a break from the future though and opens our eyes to an evil walking right here, amongst humans on present day earth.

Dr. Kara Cantrell is hiding from an ancient evil, one that took her beloved from her and one that now has the power to destroy her son Alex as well. When she spies Sentinel Damien Morgan, a dispenser of Atlantian justice, she's sure trouble has found her again. He wants her--to help track down the Belian, crazed followers of an ancient dark rebel Atlantian, that is committing murders in her town of Zorro, Texas. With his responsibilities in the forefront, Damien cannot afford the distractions the lovely Kara brings to his emotionally stripped world. He will do everything in his power to gain her help, for if she refuses, the citizens of Zorro will be in far greater danger than they have ever imagined. Malice and murder have set sights on Kara and Alex and only Damien can stop it. Will Kara let go of her past fears in time to help...and will Damien learn to open his heart to what he thought never to have?

One of those all-nighters, "Touched by Darkness" is a fast-paced, action infused thrill of a romance. No one pens a tale of this magnitude like author Spangler and I am absolutely thrilled with her newest series. Kara is a mother desperate to preserve a sense of normalcy for a son that is anything but normal. Her plight is heartbreaking, but at the same time readers are reassured by Damien's handling of the problem. He steps in, as mentor to Alex and at the same time must guard himself against a growing attraction to Kara. Damien and Kara's romance is one that simmers slowly and builds to a heart-tripping crescendo, only to build again and again over the course of the story. Spangler's style, I'm happy to say, has changed quite spectacularly with this new series and she infuses a new feeling into it, guaranteeing readers are getting a totally new experience from her. At the end of the book, I am still flying high in anticipation of the next one, "Touched by Fire", due out fall of 2007. As always, Ms. Spangler, one hundred percent satisfied.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great read pick up the story really quick and could not stop., 27 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Touched by Darkness - An Urban Fantasy Romance (Sentinel Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Great to read a fantasy romance that's different with a who's done it plot loved it from start to finish
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars great little freebie, 12 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Touched by Darkness - An Urban Fantasy Romance (Sentinel Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Kara has done the best she can keeping her son safe since his father died but he's inherited more than his looks and where ever they go they'll no longer be safe, something which is hard for Kara to accept.

Their sleepy little town has been a haven for them but a spate of murders has brought a Sentinel to town and to their door.

Good little read that had a lovely ending. Great freebie pick up
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Exhilarating & enthralling!, 20 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Touched by Darkness - An Urban Fantasy Romance (Sentinel Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Characters and plot were clear from the outset, the paranormal world is brought to the reader with great skill and intrigue!
Can't wait to download the next book in the series...think I have found another favourite author!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 10 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Touched by Darkness - An Urban Fantasy Romance (Sentinel Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Touched by Darkness was a good story. Overall, I enjoyed it but felt that the end was a bit rushed? broken up?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars amazing, 4 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Touched by Darkness - An Urban Fantasy Romance (Sentinel Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I thoroughly enjoyed this book,it is so well written and it kept me interested from start to finish,I would recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 4 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Touched by Darkness - An Urban Fantasy Romance (Sentinel Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed this book. Not too much sex but a fair bit of tension. Could not put it down
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Loved it, 2 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Touched by Darkness - An Urban Fantasy Romance (Sentinel Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Well written book. I enjoyed it and couldn't put it down when I got into it. It was a bit dark but it could have been more. Based on previous reviews, I expected a very dark and chilling story. But it wasn't as I expected. Also would have loved to see more emphasis on the sex scenes. But it felt very professional. Guess that's how it was meant to be. Anyway, I loved the story and will go on to buy the next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews