Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What to expect....
My husband ordered this book for my daughter and I as we have a lot of fun singing the song together. The book was not what he expected.

Having said that, the illustrations are fantastic but not to everyone's taste.

What do you get? The Lyrics and 'abstract' style drawings over approximately 24 pages. The drawings depict the fox and other characters...
Published 9 months ago by Julie

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a quality children's book
Definitely not a children's book. It's basically just the song put to wierd and wacky pictures and without the context of the song it would make absolutely no sense and not be enjoyable for children. If your a fan of the song or your children are then go for it but if you're looking for quality children's literature then look elsewhere.
Published 4 months ago by Teresa Ferrara


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What to expect...., 13 Dec 2013
By 
Julie "J x" (Northumberland, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: What Does the Fox Say (Hardcover)
My husband ordered this book for my daughter and I as we have a lot of fun singing the song together. The book was not what he expected.

Having said that, the illustrations are fantastic but not to everyone's taste.

What do you get? The Lyrics and 'abstract' style drawings over approximately 24 pages. The drawings depict the fox and other characters from the book in a similar style to the front cover.

If that is what you are after then you will love the book.

If you are after a general story (and not just the lyrics) and prefer more traditional children's artwork then this book would not meet your expectations and for you, I would rate this book only 1 or 2 stars.

I have only rated this as a 4 star as the information given about the book was not as clear as it could be and to hopefully flag up this review to help people decide if this is the book for them.

As far as the actual quality of the book goes - if it is judged on the quality of the illustrations and if you are expecting nothing more than the song lyrics and are aware of the type of illustration then it truly deserves five stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 18 Jan 2014
By 
Sophie Hayward (Leicester, England, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What Does the Fox Say (Hardcover)
This book is great. If you loved the song then this would be brilliant for you. The illustrations are very good and creative. Overall the book is just really great fun to read and sing along too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The book of the parody song!, 16 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What Does the Fox Say (Hardcover)
This is the illustrated book of the parody song made famous on Youtube.

It gets five stars for just being that.

Normally I'd give a more straight forward review but if you love the song this book is for you to read out loud to kids forever!!

I would have liked to have seen the lyrics written in a bigger louder font to match the lovely drawings as they are printed all in the same size font and if you are reading to children then the bigger words get shouted LOUDER!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Only worth getting for kids that love the song, 12 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What Does the Fox Say (Hardcover)
My kids absolutely love the song and listened to it on repeat for many months. We got them the book and they all enjoy having a look through it, especially while listening to the song. As a standalone 'story' book though it's not much good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not a quality children's book, 18 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What Does the Fox Say (Hardcover)
Definitely not a children's book. It's basically just the song put to wierd and wacky pictures and without the context of the song it would make absolutely no sense and not be enjoyable for children. If your a fan of the song or your children are then go for it but if you're looking for quality children's literature then look elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Get into the part!, 30 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bring out your inner actress / actor now and get singing. This book isn't so special but it can be a bit of fun if you also view the video on tube.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars For an Ylvis fan and/or a fan of artsy illustration, 18 Mar 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What Does the Fox Say (Hardcover)
Since I'm a fan of the Ylvis brothers (not just the Fox song btw) I would probably buy about anything they put their name on. I'm happy they chose to do a proper book with illustration (although a bit artsy, weird and not really so much their style). I think I read it thru once before putting it in my bookshelf but I don't regret buying it since the whole success story of the Fox song is something for the books, no pun intended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, 9 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What Does the Fox Say (Hardcover)
Really funny and well drawn, would recommend it as a joke gift. Not substantial enough for a sincere kids book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the most beautifully illustrated books for children recently issued, 12 Dec 2013
By 
Denis Vukosav - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: What Does the Fox Say (Hardcover)
'What Does the Fox Say' written by Ylvis and illustrated by Svein Nyhus is book for children that was created based on the world-famous YouTube video.

Ylvis video wasn't created in order to be enjoyed primarily by children, instead it was made for TV show however, given its "infectious" melody, children worldwide had enthusiastically embraced it.

'What Does the Fox Say' children book that was released today is primarily beautiful illustrated book that keeps the song from the video but attracts readers with its wonderful drawings that will appeal to children exceptionally.
Uncommon are children books whose illustrations you would prefer to immediately increase on the poster size and decorate a child's room and this is one of those books - full of spirit, vivid colors, made in a special style - making a perfect complement for funny song.

Therefore, this book can be fully recommend to all those whose children are already humming this famous melody, or those that just want to enjoy themselves in a nicely illustrated book, one of the most beautiful recently issued.
Also if you are looking for a gift book for the upcoming holidays for your preschooler or someone else, and you want to step back a little of the Christmas motives, this issue in my opinion is at the forefront of those that need to be considered.

And in the end I shouldn't forget to mention that as in the video, the book itself won't give the answer about what does the fox say but delivers everything else that kids love.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Fun, 3 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What Does the Fox Say (Hardcover)
My son loves the song and its so funny to hear him reading it because no matter what you cant help but sing out loud!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

What Does the Fox Say?
Used & New from: 3.66
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews