Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pleasant Change!
What a pleasant change, in these celebrity obsessed times, to celebrate a group of people who actually did something remarkable with their lives. And coming from two mathematics professors, Raymond Flood and Robin Wilson, it's a fine example of 'bringing maths to life'. As they point out in the introduction, this isn't a history of mathematics, it's their selection of the...
Published on 13 Aug. 2012 by Rory Chang

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I actually quite like it, but as others have said
Although I am only about 80% of the way through this, the format of the book is such that it is clear to me that reading the rest of it won't change my opinion. I actually quite like it, but as others have said, it is very superficial. As an example, Newton is covered by 4 to 5 pages on a 7 inch kindle device and his contribution to calculus is just one small paragraph...
Published 12 months ago by Jaymsee


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I actually quite like it, but as others have said, 23 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great Mathematicians: Unravelling the Mysteries of the Universe (Kindle Edition)
Although I am only about 80% of the way through this, the format of the book is such that it is clear to me that reading the rest of it won't change my opinion. I actually quite like it, but as others have said, it is very superficial. As an example, Newton is covered by 4 to 5 pages on a 7 inch kindle device and his contribution to calculus is just one small paragraph! This is pretty extraordinary for someone regarded by many as the greatest (or one of the greatest) mathematicians of all time. Having said that, I regard the book as a "taster", a good way to get some very basic information about a large number of mathematicians and scientists, many of whom you've probably never heard of even if you have a maths degree. If you find something of interest, then you will need to look elsewhere for a more detailed account.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pleasant Change!, 13 Aug. 2012
What a pleasant change, in these celebrity obsessed times, to celebrate a group of people who actually did something remarkable with their lives. And coming from two mathematics professors, Raymond Flood and Robin Wilson, it's a fine example of 'bringing maths to life'. As they point out in the introduction, this isn't a history of mathematics, it's their selection of the great mathematicians, from the ancient Egyptians and Mesopotamians up to the likes of Mandelbrot, Perelman and Wiles. And as you might expect, the maths gets more complex as time goes by, but Flood and Wilson make a good job of putting it across in a simple and understandable way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Valuable Insights into their lives, 15 Mar. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great Mathematicians: Unravelling the Mysteries of the Universe (Kindle Edition)
Gives a very good description of the lives of the famous Mathematicians over the years from early times and it is very easy to read, as the account of each one is short and concise and therefore the whole book is a real joy to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting,but could lead to a migraine., 19 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great Mathematicians: Unravelling the Mysteries of the Universe (Kindle Edition)
Full of facts,but unless you are a mathematican or extremely numerate most of it is difficult to comprehend.This is a book aimed,I suspect,at a quite limited readership.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An interesting start to the history of mathematians, 19 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great Mathematicians: Unravelling the Mysteries of the Universe (Kindle Edition)
This book should appeal to everyone who, like me, loves mathematics and knows little about the history of the subject. I feel there is just the right amount of logic and mathematics in the content which the author explains well.
I think this book still has a lot to offer readers who are interested in history but not necessarily very keen on mathematics.
Readers who already know a lot of the history of mathematics may find this book doesn't go into enough detail, but for me, it's perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good summary and useful starting point to research deeper., 3 Jan. 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great Mathematicians: Unravelling the Mysteries of the Universe (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed this quick romp through the Great Mathematicians and picked up a few things that I have missed in other more thorough histories. It certainly proved to be a good memory jogger and a useful addition to my kindle library. Others have stated that Newton has been a little overlooked and while this may be true I would recommend reading a book dedicated to Newton, or any of the other mathematicians, if you really want to study the life and works one in particular.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Leaves you wanting more, 11 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great Mathematicians: Unravelling the Mysteries of the Universe (Kindle Edition)
Good coverage of the subject matter but at the expense of detail. Just when you think you are beginning to understand the importance of any of the mathematicians and their contribution to the knowledge base, you find you're on to 'the next one' and I felt there was a lot more information about to be revealed but it never materialised.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too little biography, too much math., 13 Oct. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The book contains very little about the mathematicians themselves other than a very brief biography. It is mostly about the math areas they worked in, and contains lots of equations and graphs. If you like algebra and calculus, you'll love this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very expansive, but not detailed enough, 13 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great Mathematicians: Unravelling the Mysteries of the Universe (Kindle Edition)
Its rather interesting to have a list of so many mathematicians and try to get an idea of the pace with which mathematics has expanded throughout time. However this book only dedicates a few pages to each mathematicians, downplaying the importance of certain ones. I think this book would have benefited by presenting fewer mathematicians and in more detail.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good light reading., 29 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great Mathematicians: Unravelling the Mysteries of the Universe (Kindle Edition)
OK you could argue that this is too light and superficial, but for some light educational reading on the train or plane it is a good read. I am sure that unless you are a student of mathematical history you will learn something. I've taught maths for 30 years and it kept me fascinated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews