Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars77
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£0.98
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 May 2013
... a bit like reading a recipe book or I suppose a blog.

No real moralising which is good to see but also no 'feel', it really is like reading ingredients in places.

Very good for facts to start looking elsewhere for more information imo but a struggle to call it a 'read' as such.

Highly recommended for people starting to look into the NSDAP and the organisations it spawned - the facts alone make it great value on Kindle
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2014
This book has been written by throwing together all the facts at the author's disposal without a coherent interpretation. The chronology is frequently confused. Just a pot-boiler.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2013
I was hoping for some good background information on the SS before going on holiday to a town near Oradour-Sur-Glane. What I got instead was a rambling and often repetative narrative cobbled together from secondary sources.

I'm not kicking myself too much since I only paid 99p but I'm sure if I'd spent a little more time searching on Amazon and spent a little bit more money I could have enjoyed reading a much better book on the SS.

I particularly disliked the way Nigel Cawthorne put the biographies of SS officers in the body of text, they would have been better as an appendix or footnotes.

Based on this book I will not be buying any more from this author.
22 comments|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2013
As time goes by, our knowledge of the SS and their crimes against humanity becomes more and more vague. We know they were the evil instigators of the Nazi regime, but who were they and what exactly did they get up to. Nigel Cawthorne fills in the blanks in this compelling book, which is illustrated with some incredible photos, and plays an important part in helping to ensure that the way these human beings, "not so different from ourselves", as he puts it, fell into this frenzy of sadism, debauchery and murder, does not get forgotten.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2015
Gave a great insight into all the main henchmen of Adolf Hitler and why the people of Germany allowed a small criminal minority to come into power and allow the laws of the jungle /animal kingdom to be legal where the strong live and the weak / perpetrated die. This being caused by not achieving Germany's goal of matching Great Britain and France with their navy and overseas empires and having to submit to defeat in 1918 when there were the 40 divisions that were available to be transported from the eastern front to the western front and the punishment imposed on them by the Treaty of Versailles.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2016
excellent history of the ss under himmler the rise of the elite black uniformed ss and the complete terror they bought with death to all countries including germany and austria and the final solution throughout europe and the downfall and capture of this spectacled ex chicken farmer in 1945 and the suicide by him with cyanide and other nazi war criminals including reichsmarsall goring, nuremberg and all of the hierachy of the nazis some like goring by commiting suicide by cyanide and sentenced to death and some others commited to death or long term prison excellent recomended
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2013
Very informative ! With so many branches of the SS it made a lot of sense and would be of interesst to anyone researching the subject. Good Clear and Precise.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2014
At 55 p I was not expecting this to be a very intellectual read and my first impression is confirmed. This is basically a potted history of the SS via a collection of short biographies and descriptions of events that offers no historical analysis or interpretation of the story except the utterly obvious that it is one of horror and madness. As such it is not without value. The short biographies are of some interest in that they display the extraordinary cross-section of German society that participated in this hideous organisation. Quite why an otherwise normal and civilised society managed to summon up such a collection of psychopaths and perverts and that in such numbers is still a mystery to most people including many Germans - recommended for those who like their history thick, curdled and bloody. For a penetrating analysis look elsewhere.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2013
A very realistic book which goes into great detail of the history of the SS warts and all. Worth a read
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2015
Very interesting and well put together book with chapters on the SS, Waffen-SS and Odessa to name just three. There is also a lot of information on many Nazi members, many of whom I had frankly never heard of and I thought I knew quite a bit about this part of history. I look forward to reading other titles by this author.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)