Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars compelling
As time goes by, our knowledge of the SS and their crimes against humanity becomes more and more vague. We know they were the evil instigators of the Nazi regime, but who were they and what exactly did they get up to. Nigel Cawthorne fills in the blanks in this compelling book, which is illustrated with some incredible photos, and plays an important part in helping to...
Published 17 months ago by A. Ali

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars You get what you pay for
I was hoping for some good background information on the SS before going on holiday to a town near Oradour-Sur-Glane. What I got instead was a rambling and often repetative narrative cobbled together from secondary sources.

I'm not kicking myself too much since I only paid 99p but I'm sure if I'd spent a little more time searching on Amazon and spent a little...
Published 12 months ago by Adam Brown


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 25 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Story of the SS (Kindle Edition)
Shocking and compelling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A group that brings sinister repercussions, 22 Mar 2014
This review is from: The Story of the SS (Kindle Edition)
It's group that gives sinister ideas and horrible consequences that would come close to any other group before or after the 2nd World War.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Ordinary and biased., 17 Aug 2013
By 
Vincent Bruno (Bury, Manchester, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This could have come straight from Wikipedia but the author added a little more research. The authors unfair comments on The Catholic Church's attitude to the Nazis made me feel quite sickly. He should research how many priests went into the gas chambers before attacking the church. Read up on a St Maximillian Kolbe, a Catholic priest who swapped his life for a Jewish man who was due to be shot. The Nazis didn't approve of St Kolbe's heroism so instead of just shooting him, the camp guards left him in a cell without food or water to die. They eventually injected acid into the priests heart to kill him after days of unfathomable suffering. Do proper research Nigel and leave your own bias aside.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The holocost, 9 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very in debt book on the barbaric treatment to mankind and a excellent insight to the German armed. Forces during world war two .
Aaronsbamp@hotmail.co
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent read, 26 Jun 2013
By 
John Hope (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is well researched and presented in a very readable style. Because of the large number of characters, the author diverts from a pure chronological sequence of events, and gives a brief overview of the character's life at the time they are first presented. I find this works very well. The author has researched the subject well, and the level of detail presented is sufficient to bring across the salient points without making the book too dry and tedious. I can recommend this book to anyone interested in WW2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A cracking read, 28 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is one of the best books I have read on the ss. It appears to be very well researched with a huge amount of detail from day one all the way to Odessa and beyond. Well worth the read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Story of the SS
The Story of the SS by Nigel Cawthorne
0.51
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews