Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magnificent Live Performances
If anyone ever harboured doubts about Emmylou Harris' credentials as a live performer even a casual listen to these two performances would surely dispel them. For Emmylou aficionados these performances will not come as a surprise because they are simply magnificent.

The first fourteen tracks were recorded in Chicago in October 1978 and feature her legendary...
Published 8 months ago by Angel Delta

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Are these official or bootlegs (which is where I have heard them before)
The two concerts featured, are they officially licensed and is any of the money going to the proper recipients including Emmylou? I have seen these available as flac on fan sites, and I wonder if this label 'All Access' just pulled those off the 'net and banged them onto CD?
If it is all legit I would be happy to know!
Published 4 months ago by Cinetastic


Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magnificent Live Performances, 28 Jan 2014
By 
Angel Delta (Southsea Hants) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Live In 1978 (Audio CD)
If anyone ever harboured doubts about Emmylou Harris' credentials as a live performer even a casual listen to these two performances would surely dispel them. For Emmylou aficionados these performances will not come as a surprise because they are simply magnificent.

The first fourteen tracks were recorded in Chicago in October 1978 and feature her legendary Hot Band. All of the tracks are uniformly excellent but, for me, the pick of the bunch has to be a sweet and sentimental reading of "To Daddy", a riveting performance of "Luxury Liner", the honky tonkin' "Even Cowgirls Get The Blues" and a driving, rocking performance of "I Ain't Living Long Like This". The Hot Band are a powerhouse and deliver a standard of musicianship that set a benchmark for other country bands.

It is a rare set of skills that allows singer and band to reproduce near studio quality in a live performance but Emmylou and the Hot Band nail it to the wall!

The final six tracks are of Emmylou singing bluegrass with Ricky Lee Skaggs and bassist Roy Drusky jr in California the previous June. While not so immediately commercial as the first set they are nevertheless proof of how at ease she was with the acoustic sound of more traditional country music.

Standout tracks include a poignant reading of the Townes Van Zandt classic "If I Needed You", and a moving version of The Louvin Brothers "Satan's Jewelled Crown" with Ricky. These are performances of grace, beauty and honesty with the crystalline voice of Emmylou Harris always shining through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 star performance, 30 Jan 2014
By 
H. Bruce "music lover" (edin scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live In 1978 (Audio CD)
Loved the silver voiced and wonderful Emmylou since her one and only appearance in Edinburgh
With the legendary first incarnation of the hot band, seen her many times since then and she has NEVER been less than excellent as have been all of various backing bands -- this cd excellent BUT if search there are bootlegs out there just as good in content and performance but a clearer sound .....especially good are a couple of Dutch concerts, but hey it's Emmylou always a five star Queen in my eyes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 35 YEARS LATER TO LISTEN STILL, 26 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live In 1978 (Audio CD)
Live in 1978 of Emmylou Harris, an excellent broadcast from PBS Soundstage Chicago in 1978 with additional tracks from a show that Emmylou and Ricky Skaggs did together in California.
I chose this CD also because except "Last Date", there is no live recording of Emmylou and the Hot Band. In particular, in this CD we hear live some of her big successes such as Two More Bottles Of Wine, Luxury Liner, Even Cowgirls Get The Blues, I Ain't Living Long LikeThis. These versions are played with an higher tempo than those versions which we find in her CDs

This CD confirms that Emmylou was and remains one of the finest female singers working in the field of genuine country music and bluegrass. The gorgeous voice of Emmylou on wonderful melodies is highlighted by the musicians of Hot Band and the harmonies of Ricky Skaggs and the Whites.
I recommend this cd to all the fans of Emmylou of yesterday and today. This CD makes me regret not having seen Emmylou on stage at that time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Are these official or bootlegs (which is where I have heard them before), 12 Jun 2014
By 
Cinetastic (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Live In 1978 (Audio CD)
The two concerts featured, are they officially licensed and is any of the money going to the proper recipients including Emmylou? I have seen these available as flac on fan sites, and I wonder if this label 'All Access' just pulled those off the 'net and banged them onto CD?
If it is all legit I would be happy to know!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It's no wonder she's in the country hall of fame., 2 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live in 1978 (MP3 Download)
She has such a clear quality to her voice. She puts so much obvious enjoyment into her performances. Emmylou never fails to wow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Emmulou are so great!!!, 5 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live In 1978 (Audio CD)
I love Emmylou and every new CD I must by. In 1978 she was so young and beautiful. I wait for the next CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Emmylou Harris Live in 1978, 19 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live In 1978 (Audio CD)
I love Emmylou. This is an early concert from 1978. It is a radio show - therefor good quality.
As a collector of Emmylou Harris stuff - I must have it. But I think, this is not an official release
maybe a semi-bootleg.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 1 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live In 1978 (Audio CD)
Emmylou at her peak with her best Hot band line up. Great recording and excellent price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I love Emmylou, 12 Feb 2014
By 
Mr. R. A. Russ (DOVER,KENT) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live In 1978 (Audio CD)
This is Emmylou in top form-the Hot Band may not be one of the classic line ups,but nevertheless they ain't bad(!)
There are quite a few previously recorded songs,but that's to be expected on a live album,She does miss one verse out from "Keep on the Sunny Side",but as she had to get the lyrics over the phone she can be forgiven.
Good to hear Ricky Skaggs and the Whites supporting.
The sound quality is not"studio standard" but is perfectly acceptable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 27 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live In 1978 (Audio CD)
Great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Live In 1978
Live In 1978 by Emmylou Harris (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews