Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Prog Rock at its best!
This is an excellent 'best of' album from one of the best British prog rock bands of the 60's and 70's, they are up there with Yes, the Moody Blues and Genesis, high acclaim indeed. This band were very popular across Europe and still are. There work is of very high quality but they are a little different to both Yes and the Moody Blues as a lot of their sings were based...
Published 13 months ago by Simon Nixon

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
not the best BJH .
Published 1 month ago by Keith


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Prog Rock at its best!, 11 Feb. 2014
By 
This review is from: Titles: The Best Of Barclay James Harvest (Audio CD)
This is an excellent 'best of' album from one of the best British prog rock bands of the 60's and 70's, they are up there with Yes, the Moody Blues and Genesis, high acclaim indeed. This band were very popular across Europe and still are. There work is of very high quality but they are a little different to both Yes and the Moody Blues as a lot of their sings were based around social comment and issues at the time. I don't feel that this dates their work but then I am a little biased!

This album showcases some of BJH's more popular work including a live version of their classic 'Mockingbird' which if I remember correctly was their encore piece at the concerts where I saw them live. I am not 100% sure who this album will appeal to because if you are a fan you probably already have a number of the tracks.

Unique guitar sound combined with a Neil Young type vocal with a touch of the orchestral thrown in, it was a wonderful era and I think that there work has stood the test of time. Good value, excellent stuff recommended purchase!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not progressive enough for me, but some decent material, 17 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Titles: The Best Of Barclay James Harvest (Audio CD)
Although I don't claim to have a detailed knowledge of this band's back catalogue, 'Titles', covering the period between 1974 and 1983 during their years on the Polydor record label, demonstrates BJH's abilities as a melodic recording outfit, comfortably straddling 'soft rock' and 'progressive' territories. Personally, I would have liked to have heard the earlier material released when the group were signed to E.M.I and, judging by the quality of the superb 'Mockingbird' (1971) which appears here as a 'live' version from 1974, I would probably have enjoyed this compilation disc more if this had been the case. 1978's 'In Search Of England' is definitely one of the high spots on a consistent, if rather bland, album - the weakest material is the overly commercial stuff from the 1980s. Comparisons with the Moody Blues are often made, but the Moodies are in a higher league altogether in my book. In terms of musical ability, these guys are pretty talented so I think I can stretch to 4 stars here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Introduction to BJH, 14 Aug. 2014
This review is from: Titles: The Best Of Barclay James Harvest (Audio CD)
Great Introduction to BJH or for someone who casually liked their music.

A really good selection of tracks across the range - if you don't like these, you won't like anything else they produced.

I don't like "Jonathan" - it sounds very dated and for me a depressing sound, but that is the exception on this collection.

They never made it really big although very popular in Germany.

They were once described as "The poor man's Moody Blues" - hence the track of that name. The track itself is supposed to contain musical irony in the way it's composed (I've read the life story!), but this was lost on the listening public 99.9% of whom are not musicians. This perhaps sealed their fate. BJH can't really be labelled, but if you want to place a label for comparison, a blend of Yes and the Moody Blues is the best that comes to mind and I guess Prog Rock is the best generic label to apply.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ... Reading Town Hall at the begging of the seventys Enjoyed there set, 4 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Titles: The Best Of Barclay James Harvest (Audio CD)
Saw BJH at Reading Town Hall at the begging of the seventys Enjoyed there set, but never brought any of there albums until I saw this best of, Not a bad band at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good compilation, 19 Mar. 2014
By 
G. Henderson "Hendy" (Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Titles: The Best Of Barclay James Harvest (Audio CD)
I saw BJH back in 1974/75, so this is great to hear some of those old classics.
A definite trip down memory lane for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 Mar. 2015
By 
Ms. M. Atkinson (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Titles: The Best Of Barclay James Harvest (Audio CD)
Step back in time with this timeless music, made me forget am in my 60s now, how time flies
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Memories, 20 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Titles: The Best Of Barclay James Harvest (Audio CD)
Brought back so many happy mermories of early 70's. Just the right track listing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Titles: The Best Of Barclay James Harvest (Audio CD)
BJH simply the best a great album from a great band
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 29 Dec. 2013
By 
C. Baker (Cambridgeshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Titles: The Best Of Barclay James Harvest (Audio CD)
Saw BJH years ago and wanted some of their tracks on CD as I only ever had vinyl, at this price there is no complaints.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 8 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Titles: The Best Of Barclay James Harvest (Audio CD)
not the best BJH .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Titles: The Best Of Barclay James Harvest
Titles: The Best Of Barclay James Harvest by Barclay James Harvest (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews