Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 November 2013
Lots of actionable ways of training myself out of my habit of procrastination - the bane of my life! Still working through it but I know it makes sense and the suggestions for processes to overcome the bad habits are sensible and practical.
Steve writes great books - I like his style and they are well-researched and presented.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2014
This may be a good book if you need to get organised, but if your problem is that you put things off (i.e. procrastinate), this will NOT help. It is a daunting and seemingly never ending list of more and more bits of organising, list making, planning and reviewing ("the monthly review will only take a few hours..") and there's the daily and weekly ones as well, not to mention 43 folders (no, that's not just a catchy title, you actually need to use 43 folders in a filing cabinet!). So if you're an expert procrastinator like me, who already has an endless list of jobs that need urgent attention, and specialises in avoiding all of them, the concept that you are going to overcome this by adding another endless pile of organising tasks that need doing is frankly ridiculous. It does reference a couple of useful concepts from others, though, such as the pomodoro technique - hence the one star.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2014
Although lots of the information was common knowledge, it is laid out in a simple and easy way that makes it very easy to take action on. I got a lot of value from this, and I highly recommend if you are having trouble with procrastination.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2014
I've tried several strategies from the book, and while it may take me a while to start using them all. I've become more productive already!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 11 August 2015
The author is one of the armies of 'getting organized' proponents - with better organization being touted as the panacea to (in this case) procrastination. The 'habits' described are well described and will quite probably help in specific instances - if the reader decides to implement them - so in principle the book has the potential to be useful.

The big if, as mentioned by some other reviewers, is that many of the habits require lots of time and proactivity to implement, qualities that procrastinators do not always have / apply in spades. To top it off, applying all the 23 habits will require so much time that it is questionable to what extent you will save time after all and how much more effective you will become, even if you will stop procrastinating. In that sense the book should be read in conjunction with A Perfect Mess: The Hidden Benefits Of Disorder if you are really looking for a balanced treatment of the subject.

Implementing the habits selectively may be useful, though - therefore the four stars. It is also very easy to read, well organized and may potentially move the odd reader from the group of procrastinators to become more proactive.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2014
Very practical read, Very easy to applicable. Speaks to you "straight from the hip" - especially understanding the 80/20 rule, which I have heard before but highlighted some things to me. Looking forward to completing it.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2014
Am feeling the benefits already. Have got so much done! Would recommend this book to all you fellow procrastinators out there.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2014
Seems to be a collection of ideas from various authors, but does bring them all together in an easy-to-read form.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2014
Great book well written with good ideas to make you focus has helped me in my job to achieve more and on time!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2015
All of the books I have read by SJ Scott have been easy to read, interesting and plain common sense. Really good ideas from someone who knows how to help people without stuffing their heads with chapters full of so many words..when a single paragraph will work!!..
The way he writes suits ME..I hope it helps you too 😊.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)