Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars The motorists little helper
This is truly a great piece of kit, now that catching motorists doing a few miles an hour over the speed limit is more about revenue collecting than safety, if it wasn't then they'd maintain the road signage or even put up more safety devices that display your speed etc.
the road angel will warn you of the location where that camera van might be hidden, it can't tell...
Published 25 days ago by Mr. Andrew Dodds

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars RA Gem is functional but cheap-and-plasticky with irritating sound; many improvements needed
I have used four different Road Angels over 10 years: the small oval classic model, the 6000 incorporating GPS navigation, the big-screen Vantage now out of production, and now this Gem which may be the last time I buy and use a RA.

PROS

* Charges continually via in-car cable

* Updates from the dashboard so you don't have to take it into...
Published 18 days ago by The Guardian


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars RA Gem is functional but cheap-and-plasticky with irritating sound; many improvements needed, 9 Feb. 2015
By 
The Guardian (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Road Angel Gem+ Deluxe Safety Camera Locator & Accessory Pack (Electronics)
I have used four different Road Angels over 10 years: the small oval classic model, the 6000 incorporating GPS navigation, the big-screen Vantage now out of production, and now this Gem which may be the last time I buy and use a RA.

PROS

* Charges continually via in-car cable

* Updates from the dashboard so you don't have to take it into the house and connect it to a PC like the old models

* Small & unobtrusive (if you see this as an advantage) with good graphics

* Mount it on the inside of the windscreen or the dash, though both locations are problematic

* Correctly IDs speed cameras 95% of the time and alerts you to their presence

* The average-speed-between-SPECS-cameras on the motorways function is brilliant: a real first and very, very useful

* eAssist option (which you may never use, or only once in the product's lifetime)

* mph/kph easy to change over when you drive abroad

* RA's tech-support is reasonably knowledgeable and responsive

CONS

* The magnet-attach dash-mount is so weak that the unit spins around every time you corner, so you need the screen-mount for a secure fitting - which in my vehicle means the Gem ends up too far away to see clearly or reach, as the device is too small

* The build quality feels cheap and plasticky, less substantial than previous models

* The rubbery buttons are fiddly to use, a regressive step from the big easy touch-screen & quality-feel of the Vantage

* The speed limits on roads I know and use a lot are incorrectly displayed (i.e. `60' is mysteriously displayed for 2 miles in a `30' zone); this has never happened before with a RA product

* Screeching, irritating camera alarms (one reviewer describes them as "like a demented dalek") with no `mute' button will drive you nuts - another step backwards from the superior Vantage

* You need to subscribe to the regular update service (where RA makes its money) or the unit rapidly becomes out-of-date and useless

If you want a speed camera detection device then the RA Gem is better than nothing, and the SPECS function is superb. RA however needs to pay more attention to the driver experience of the device in daily use, and stop compromising on design & build quality to maximise profits from such a blatantly cheap-to-manufacture product. RA: what's wrong with your marketing department? You can do better than this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A good looking piece of equipment that simply fails to deliver, 1 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Road Angel Gem+ Deluxe Safety Camera Locator & Accessory Pack (Electronics)
Very poor opinion of this product. Despite registering immediately, after many weeks it still starts with the comment 'please register and within 24 hours you will get updates' . Fixed cameras are reported perpetually at some locations where they may have existed once many years ago. Altogether a good looking product that simply fails to deliver
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars about £60 or something like that., 19 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Road Angel Gem+ Deluxe Safety Camera Locator & Accessory Pack (Electronics)
When you buy this product remember you have to pay for an additional subscription to get it up to date. about £60 or something like that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Sadly this is utterly useless., 7 Oct. 2014
By 
D. E. Evans - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Road Angel Gem+ Deluxe Safety Camera Locator & Accessory Pack (Electronics)
Alerts 30mph from side roads whilst on the motorway. Alerts where there physically couldn't possibly be a van. Cries wolf so much. Real camera van alerts way too late and not adjustable like fixed cameras. Falls out of its cradle when you press a button. Screen invisible in daylight and sound so tinny and utterly annoying. Thick unweildy USB cable for powering in car. Its just terrible and i returned mine. Sorry to be so negative but its just the truth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Works fine but you will find that it doesn't pick up ..., 22 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Road Angel Gem+ Deluxe Safety Camera Locator & Accessory Pack (Electronics)
Works fine but you will find that it doesn't pick up the right speed limits in many locations as it doesn't seem to have the latest information to process despite having the feature of automatically updating itself. Still a useful product, just a shame about this. Battery life isn't great, so you might need to hard wire it. The dashboard stands it comes with seem not to last very long either as I've already replaced two.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The motorists little helper, 1 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Road Angel Gem+ Deluxe Safety Camera Locator & Accessory Pack (Electronics)
This is truly a great piece of kit, now that catching motorists doing a few miles an hour over the speed limit is more about revenue collecting than safety, if it wasn't then they'd maintain the road signage or even put up more safety devices that display your speed etc.
the road angel will warn you of the location where that camera van might be hidden, it can't tell you if there is actually a camera van there.
When the speed limit changes it'll tell you, and will ping when you go over the limit.
It'll warn you of average speed cameras and laser guns and other danger zones like schools etc.
Because it uses GPS for your location it will warn you of "safety cameras" within the radius you set. For example if you're travelling on the motor way and there is a speed camera anywhere within a 500m radius it's let you know.
Yes you might get a few warnings where there are no cameras etc but I'd rather have a false alert than get a ticket.
I have removed a start because the holder is a bit weak when trying to push the on/off button, and the power cable is stiff and not that flexi.
I use mine everyday now, every journey, depriving the government of the extra income.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Easy to use, 7 Oct. 2014
This review is from: Road Angel Gem+ Deluxe Safety Camera Locator & Accessory Pack (Electronics)
Easy to use. Good alerts. One disappointment is that alerts are not regularly removed. One alert has been on same stretch of road for over a month and definitely no camera van ever there. However provided they are put on fast one can live with delays in removing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Too many warnings about historic locations, not current threats - refund sought, 24 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Road Angel Gem+ Deluxe Safety Camera Locator & Accessory Pack (Electronics)
On drive to work (40 miles 50 minutes) it continually (every 2 minutes) kept warning me of speed camera vans.
I did not see one!
Total waste of money, as I know the vans park in lay-bys, I want to know where they are NOW, not where they are sometimes, and with so many warnings I soon stopped listening to it.
I was impressed that it only warns me of fixed cameras that are on my side of the road (i.e. a threat to me) - but on a negative, it also warned me a few time on the one trip of cameras nearby, and not on the road that I was on.
Will be sending back for a refund as not fit for purpose.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Not worth the money! Keeps telling you about ever ..., 14 Jan. 2015
By 
J Johnston (Glasgow Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Road Angel Gem+ Deluxe Safety Camera Locator & Accessory Pack (Electronics)
Not worth the money ! Keeps telling you about ever traffic camera miles away and when you pass one it does not even tell you that it was their !! Rubbish in my option
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Only just got it it works well no excuses fo ..., 18 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Road Angel Gem+ Deluxe Safety Camera Locator & Accessory Pack (Electronics)
Only just got it it works well no excuses fo getting caught now .had to contact the company and got very quick response
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews