Customer Reviews


120 Reviews
5 star:
 (79)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as OEM Canon, but it's a price compromise...
They do appear to have a similar capacity to the OEM Canon batteries, but not when they are cold.

I did a freezer test. I put one of these and one of my original Canon batteries in the freezer for about 10 minutes. I skewed the test slightly by taking the DSTE battery out first and took a 2 minute video. The battery meter in the camera's settings said 59%...
Published 10 months ago by N. Dittes

versus
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars For the price these are pretty great.
I've used both batteries constantly over the last 4 days on a job they've been solid, while not as efficient as the Canon branded cells these are so so much better than other makes, thanks Emma from DSTE for the great customer service and for the price of these batteries it's a great deal, thanks DSTE.
Published 5 months ago by Chris


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars For the price these are pretty great., 22 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DSTE® 2pcs LP-E6 Rechargerable Lithium-ion Battery for Canon EOS 5D Mark II, EOS 5D Mark III, EOS 5DS, EOS 6D, EOS 7D, EOS 60D, EOS 60Da, EOS 70D, 7DmarkII,7DmarkIII as LP-E6N (Camera)
I've used both batteries constantly over the last 4 days on a job they've been solid, while not as efficient as the Canon branded cells these are so so much better than other makes, thanks Emma from DSTE for the great customer service and for the price of these batteries it's a great deal, thanks DSTE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as OEM Canon, but it's a price compromise..., 14 July 2014
By 
N. Dittes (Luleå, Sweden) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DSTE® 2pcs LP-E6 Rechargerable Lithium-ion Battery for Canon EOS 5D Mark II, EOS 5D Mark III, EOS 5DS, EOS 6D, EOS 7D, EOS 60D, EOS 60Da, EOS 70D, 7DmarkII,7DmarkIII as LP-E6N (Camera)
They do appear to have a similar capacity to the OEM Canon batteries, but not when they are cold.

I did a freezer test. I put one of these and one of my original Canon batteries in the freezer for about 10 minutes. I skewed the test slightly by taking the DSTE battery out first and took a 2 minute video. The battery meter in the camera's settings said 59%.

The OEM Canon battery said 99% even though it was in the freezer longer.

These batteries die really fast even when it's only slightly cold. It was 6C outside when I used it camping and they died very fast. I only managed a few photos and they were toast.

But, when they are warm the capacity is very close to the same as the Canon batteries. Also interesting to note that they look practically identical to the Canon ones (as if they used the same plastic moulds). The surface finish, color and shape are identical to the Canon ones. If you weigh them, they are also less than 1 gram difference. I'd need a more accurate scale than a letter scale, but they both weighed the same with this cheap scale.

I would give them only 3 stars because of the cold weather problem, but they were cheap so you get what you pay for I suppose...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for the New Canon 7D mark 2!, 12 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DSTE® 2pcs LP-E6 Rechargerable Lithium-ion Battery for Canon EOS 5D Mark II, EOS 5D Mark III, EOS 5DS, EOS 6D, EOS 7D, EOS 60D, EOS 60Da, EOS 70D, 7DmarkII,7DmarkIII as LP-E6N (Camera)
Was really concerned about buying batteries for the the new Canon 7D mark 2. Many of the batteries on offer were found not to work with this camera. Apparently there is some device that affects compatible batteries from working. There was no problem with these however,they worked just fine. I cannot say how long they will continue to work but they are an excellent buy at the price. Can only give 4 stars at present but hopefully they will turnout to be worth 5 stars after some prolonged use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 19 April 2014
By 
JMK (Birmingham, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DSTE® 2pcs LP-E6 Rechargerable Lithium-ion Battery for Canon EOS 5D Mark II, EOS 5D Mark III, EOS 5DS, EOS 6D, EOS 7D, EOS 60D, EOS 60Da, EOS 70D, 7DmarkII,7DmarkIII as LP-E6N (Camera)
I can't yet say how well they will do in to the long term but I took around 250 snaps on my Canon 5D3 yesterday and several short videos at 50f/s today and the battery is only now close to being replaced. I'm reasonably pleased with that. Thinking about the lens it was also driving, it will do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fully compatible with 5D3 camera and charger., 14 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DSTE® 2pcs LP-E6 Rechargerable Lithium-ion Battery for Canon EOS 5D Mark II, EOS 5D Mark III, EOS 5DS, EOS 6D, EOS 7D, EOS 60D, EOS 60Da, EOS 70D, 7DmarkII,7DmarkIII as LP-E6N (Camera)
Early days, so four stars for now, but these charge properly in my 7D and 5D3 chargers and can be registered and reported when fitted into the DSTE grip for my 5D3. They will probably improve after a few charge cycles, at which point they will be given the full give stars. Certainly the value is undeniable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just the job, 4 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DSTE® 2pcs LP-E6 Rechargerable Lithium-ion Battery for Canon EOS 5D Mark II, EOS 5D Mark III, EOS 5DS, EOS 6D, EOS 7D, EOS 60D, EOS 60Da, EOS 70D, 7DmarkII,7DmarkIII as LP-E6N (Camera)
No issues at all with these so far. They have worked well and as yet no issues at all with the product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Work in-camera or in a grip, however they self-discharge rapidly and battery use is high per shot, 11 Mar. 2015
By 
Derek A. Brawn "Studio Del" (Dublin, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DSTE® 2pcs LP-E6 Rechargerable Lithium-ion Battery for Canon EOS 5D Mark II, EOS 5D Mark III, EOS 5DS, EOS 6D, EOS 7D, EOS 60D, EOS 60Da, EOS 70D, 7DmarkII,7DmarkIII as LP-E6N (Camera)
Function okay in-camera or in a dedicated battery grip, and Canon 7D recognises them and registers their 'info' correctly showing both recharge health/quality (3-green bars) as well as total charge percentage, however after fully charging these batteries to 100 percent I began using them and after 16 shots (about 10 minutes or so) of use they were both down to 92%. Battery life is way below what the OEM LP-E6 gives, this is the only downside, as others too have also pointed out. Yes they are cheap at a fraction of the cost of the Canon Li-Ion battery, but you're better off paying more for ones that will work when you pick your camera up the next day..

** UPDATE: Returned to my camera bag 4 or 5 hours later and one battery was showing 36% and the other just 39% in the BG-E7 compatible battery grip. That is a 'self-discharge' of two-thirds in just a few hours! That is very poor indeed. I've used generic LP-E6 clones before and they lasted the same as the original, but these would not last 1 night **

*** UPDATE 2: Took both these batteries out of the camera and charged them to 100% and put them back into the camera grip, but did not use or take shots, just registered battery info and checked both charge status @ 99% (they never ever show 100). Then switched off the camera and put back into the camera bag. Next morning checked the battery status 9 hours later and only 36% remaining after ZERO USE. Checked again 1-hour later and only 29% power remaining. These batteries drain so fast you can actually watch the power dissipate - take 3 or 4 shots and the BATTERY CHARGE DROPS ANOTHER ONE PERCENT!! ***

Returned to Amazon for a Full Refund - will buy Hahnel HLX-E6 on Amazon as its a false economy to have cheap batteries in expensive DSLR and not have them function correctly. I can understand photographers who want cheap spares...but you need to charge these immediately prior to use or they simply won't function.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars If you have a new EOS 70d beware, 22 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DSTE® 2pcs LP-E6 Rechargerable Lithium-ion Battery for Canon EOS 5D Mark II, EOS 5D Mark III, EOS 5DS, EOS 6D, EOS 7D, EOS 60D, EOS 60Da, EOS 70D, 7DmarkII,7DmarkIII as LP-E6N (Camera)
When placed in charger they flash correctly for 15-20 seconds then go into rapid blink mode and won't charge. There seems to be an issue with the 70d produced February 2014 onwards. As they are supplied by Amazon Worldwide you will be lumbered with the return costs which will have to be a courier as they are Lithium Ion !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cheap and cheerful, 28 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DSTE® 2pcs LP-E6 Rechargerable Lithium-ion Battery for Canon EOS 5D Mark II, EOS 5D Mark III, EOS 5DS, EOS 6D, EOS 7D, EOS 60D, EOS 60Da, EOS 70D, 7DmarkII,7DmarkIII as LP-E6N (Camera)
Bought these as a back up for my 7D Mk II Battery Grip, they charge and are recognized by the Camera no problem...
As with most, if not all, of these claimed high power compatible batteries, they certainly don't last as long as the genuine versions and they tend to discharge quickly when not being used, e.g. after a full 100% charge, the Camera was left switched off, when checked again after 2 days, one battery was down to 90%, the other 85%
As stated by many others, you get what you pay for...
They were relatively cheap and they do work, though don't rely on them for a long photo shoot without having some spares to hand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DSTE 2pcs LP-E6 lithium-ion battery for Canon, 7 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DSTE® 2pcs LP-E6 Rechargerable Lithium-ion Battery for Canon EOS 5D Mark II, EOS 5D Mark III, EOS 5DS, EOS 6D, EOS 7D, EOS 60D, EOS 60Da, EOS 70D, 7DmarkII,7DmarkIII as LP-E6N (Camera)
This package is suberp quality for any of the canon cameras which support this battery. Have now tried them in my battery-grip for my Canon Eos 70D for over a month and they work perfectly. Their durability is at par with the original canon batteries and I will very much recommend this purchase as you save a lot of money and they are as good or even better than the canon originals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews