Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome. Truly Awesome.
It's been a long time coming, but Skunk Anansie have released a CD with all of their greatest hits on, along with 3 *new* songs which are absolutely brilliant.

Some Greatest Hits CD's simply chuck together previously released material and sell bucket loads. The artist(s) have absolutely no new material and make absolutely no effort to make the CD in any way...
Published on 12 Dec 2009 by M. Blanchard

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Why the new tracks on a best of...?
Why the new tracks on a best of...?
Put the next time the new tracks on the new cd.
Published on 24 Nov 2010


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome. Truly Awesome., 12 Dec 2009
By 
M. Blanchard (Brighton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Smashes And Trashes' (Audio CD)
It's been a long time coming, but Skunk Anansie have released a CD with all of their greatest hits on, along with 3 *new* songs which are absolutely brilliant.

Some Greatest Hits CD's simply chuck together previously released material and sell bucket loads. The artist(s) have absolutely no new material and make absolutely no effort to make the CD in any way rememberable.

However, Skin and the lads have produced, in my opinion, a masterpiece as 8/10 of their best songs are on this one CD!

Also, with regards to the new material they've released, we have...
1) Tear the place up. 4/5. A return to their original form, full of teenage angst and screaming - whilst they have slightly modernised the guitar riffs, which brings the sound more up-to-date.
2) Because of you. 5/5. An absolute masterpiece! This song is nothing like what they've recorded before, full of drama, passion, tension and beauty. It merges both of their best sounds (anger vs. tender) to produce this fantastic piece of music. In my opinion, one of their finest pieces of work.
3) Squander. 5/5. A lovely slower piece of music, which can related a little bit to songs like 'infedelity'. After listening to it over one hundred times, it does not get boring. A lovely song.

If anyone appreciates Skunk Anansie, this CD is a must buy as it is simply brilliant. A true accolade to one of the best bands in the world for the past two decades.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars YES., 5 Nov 2009
By 
Moog (Brighton, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Smashes And Trashes' (Audio CD)
It seems to be too easy to forget just how amazing Skunk Anansie are. I was a fan right back when the first album came out right up to their split. They were easilly one of the best live bands I've ever seen, and they have the rare talent to make songs that make you want to explode with pure rock god-ness, or crumble to the floor as if your hearts been plucked from your chest, Yet despite all these honest and true accolades, somehow it rarely occurs to me to play SA of my own accord. It takes a radio play, or maybe hearing a track on tv, or in this case, a greatest hits collection to make me stick them on and each time I do, I wonder just how come it's been so long since I played them.

This collection is packed with some of the most amazing rock songs from the late 90's - and if you've never heard them, man you're in for a treat. If you're an old fan like me, get ready for a flood of memories. The amount of times I've bounced around a rock club to this soundtrack....ahhhhh.

I'm always dubious about new tracks on GH compilations, but MAN! These track sound like SA never left. 'Tear the place up' does exactly that, it rocks - hard. Because of you drifts through perfectly well, and 'Squander' is absolutely the equal of classics like 'Hedonism' & 'Brazen (weep)' - it hit me so hard that I was almost in tears walking around the supermarket. And that my friends is the power of Skunk Anansie. To move you.

Welcome back Skunk Anansie, stick around for a beer, I've missed you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome stuff. Greatest Hits with 3 new songs..., 12 Dec 2009
By 
M. Blanchard (Brighton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Smashes And Trashes' (Audio CD)
It's been a long time coming, but Skunk Anansie have released a CD with all of their greatest hits on, along with 3 *new* songs which are absolutely brilliant.

Some Greatest Hits CD's simply chuck together previously released material and sell bucket loads. The artist(s) have absolutely no new material and make absolutely no effort to make the CD in any way rememberable.

However, Skin and the lads have produced, in my opinion, a masterpiece as 8/10 of their best songs are on this one CD!

Also, with regards to the new material they've released, we have...
1) Tear the place up. 4/5. A return to their original form, full of teenage angst and screaming - whilst they have slightly modernised the guitar riffs, which brings the sound more up-to-date.
2) Because of you. 5/5. An absolute masterpiece! This song is nothing like what they've recorded before, full of drama, passion, tension and beauty. It merges both of their best sounds (anger vs. tender) to produce this fantastic piece of music. In my opinion, one of their finest pieces of work.
3) Squander. 5/5. A lovely slower piece of music, which can related a little bit to songs like 'infedelity'. After listening to it over one hundred times, it does not get boring. A lovely song.

If anyone appreciates Skunk Anansie, this CD is a must buy as it is simply brilliant. A true accolade to one of the best bands in the world for the past two decades.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic return with the 3 new songs and the classics in one place!, 16 Dec 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Smashes And Trashes' (Audio CD)
I have been missing sa for so long and was excited to hear they were coming back, this was a perfect way of doing it, best of the actual classics and actually put together by the band rather than the label just throwing out a random cold cd of hits. The 3 new songs are fantastic too, true return of a band of who i saw live back in 1994 first time and then last year at london water rats where they didn't appear to have aged a week and were as tight as ever!! Bring on the new album next year and another tour. This album does exactly what it should do!! :) So glad skank heads appeared on here too. Sooooo good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars skunk anansie still rock!, 7 Jan 2010
By 
D. Stroppiana - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Smashes And Trashes' (Audio CD)
it's a greatest hits with 3 new tracks so i had already all the songs, but it was definitely worthwhile buying especially for the extra dvd with all the videos of their past singles, a must for all the old school fans like myself. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars you gotta own this, 3 Nov 2009
By 
D. J. Stewart - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Smashes And Trashes' (Audio CD)
This greatest hits set features digitally remastered tracks culled from the band's first three albums. From the rejoiceful 'Weak', to the anthemic 'Hedonism (Just Because You Feel Good)', 'Smashes & Trashes' is a timeless record brimming with hits, which is translated into the here and now in the form of their three brand new tracks, 'Because Of You', 'Squander' and 'Tear The Place Up'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pure brilliance!, 26 Sep 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Smashes And Trashes' (Audio CD)
Why didn't I buy this years ago? I'd almost forgotten how good some of these tracks are! I love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best Album, 19 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Smashes And Trashes' (Audio CD)
If you have scratches on all of your Skunk Anansie CD's. Get this one it covers all the good ballads.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars CD, 20 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Smashes And Trashes' (Audio CD)
arrived as stated and early in good packaging.
Good quality looks good and will consider vendor again
Customer is happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 5 Star, 22 Oct 2012
By 
Mr. L. J. Knight "Lewis Knight" (The Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Smashes And Trashes' (Audio CD)
Awesome...Skunk Anansie are great, brought back some good memories and looking forward to seeing them in Amsterdam. Gonna be buying the new album soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Smashes & Trashes [Explicit]
Buy MP3 Album£6.69
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews