Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Poirot Movie Blu Ray Boxset
Fantastic transfer from 35mm film to blu-ray. Orient Express interior shots looked superb. Nile scenery was better than being there in real life .... no heat and heathens!
Published 5 months ago by Sir Steve Ashby-howe

versus
33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars poirot blu-ray box set
This long awaited Box Set is a major disappointment on all levels....picture quality is poor and old masters have been used for Blu-ray conversions....NO SUBTITLES have been included in any language......No extras of any description have been included....HOWEVER there IS good news for fans of these films....BUY the ITALIAN...
Published 6 months ago by martyn cros


Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars poirot blu-ray box set, 21 Jan 2014
This review is from: Poirot Blu-ray Boxset (Murder On The Orient Express / Death On The Nile / Evil Under The Sun) [Region A] (Blu-ray)
This long awaited Box Set is a major disappointment on all levels....picture quality is poor and old masters have been used for Blu-ray conversions....NO SUBTITLES have been included in any language......No extras of any description have been included....HOWEVER there IS good news for fans of these films....BUY the ITALIAN BOX SET at the SAME price as the UK release .....with an extra Blu-ray movie included : The Mirror Cracked....Picture on all 4 films is superior to the UK release ....SUB _TITLES in ENGLISH has been included for all films with many other sub-titles also.....and the extras are just the movie trailers of each film....This excellent 4 movie Box Set is available on AMAZON-ITALY and was released just before Xmas.....and by the way all 4 movies play IN ENGLISH as well as other languages.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Buy the Italian version, 10 Feb 2014
By 
C. Hall (U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Poirot Blu-ray Boxset (Murder On The Orient Express / Death On The Nile / Evil Under The Sun) [Region A] (Blu-ray)
I have to agree with Martyn Cros, and suggest you buy the Italian version of this set.

The Italian version has the English soundtrack and optional subtitles, if needed.

The Italian set also contains the Marple film, The Mirror Crack'd.
This film is included in the UK DVD release of these films, so makes a four film set. I assume that the Marple film was included in the DVD set as it was directed by Guy Hamilton, who also directed Evil Under The Sun.

I paid 23.44 including delivery from Italy, and it only took 4 days to reach me.

I'm glad I didn't buy the UK version of this Blu-ray set, as again with so many discs here, we seem to get the short straw with quality.

As for the films, I enjoy watching them regularly, and am very pleased with the versions that I bought from abroad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars No better picture quality than on the DVD...., 8 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Poirot Blu-ray Boxset (Murder On The Orient Express / Death On The Nile / Evil Under The Sun) [Region A] (Blu-ray)
And that's my bug bear! It's really not acceptable to release a "blu ray edition" of something, unless it's of noticeably better picture quality, otherwise it's just a dvd on a blu ray disc! I returned mine to Amazon for a refund - and they were great about it - and ordered the Italian edition as advised here by another commentator!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Why didn't they use the great prints that the Italian version uses? These are very weak in picture quality., 20 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Poirot Blu-ray Boxset (Murder On The Orient Express / Death On The Nile / Evil Under The Sun) [Region A] (Blu-ray)
Just like other reviewers, search out the Italian box set of these films. They are amazing in comparison to this rubbish. Studio Canal needs to pull this inferior set because it gives the blu ray format a bad name (and I viewed them upscaled to 4K!) and get better prints to fix their mistake. Unfortunately, I purchased this set without reading all the reviews here. The Italian set is like watching these films with new eyes compared to this set (and it is also from Studio Canal). So hold off on this purchase and look into Amazon and purchase the Italian box set (plus you get an extra movie and subtitles). Your eyes will thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Lack of subtitles a disgrace, 23 Jan 2014
By 
John Chandler (Melbourne, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Poirot Blu-ray Boxset (Murder On The Orient Express / Death On The Nile / Evil Under The Sun) [Region A] (Blu-ray)
Very poor value. Adequate video transfers but disgracefully no subtitles. The three films come in a three pack 14mm box in a slip case (which is a complete waste of money as it just duplicates the insert and adds to the postage costs) and are bare bones transfers. The sound tracks are old and Poirot's pseudo Belgian accent would have benefitted from subtitles which most disgracefully are not included. Studio Canal have a poor track record of providing English subtitles on English language releases and clearly have little or no understanding of and probably no interest in the challenges faced by the hard of hearing and the millions to whom English is a second language. These same films are available in a 4 pack release on amazon Italy and amazon Spain, and all have multiple subtitles including English. I have the Italian set which is excellent value, has very similar picture quality, perhaps a slightly pinker skin tone, but has twice as many chapters and a large number of subtitles including very good English ones. Much better value. Don't waste your money on this shabby UK release
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Waste of money, and missed opportunity., 1 Feb 2014
By 
M. Bridle (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Poirot Blu-ray Boxset (Murder On The Orient Express / Death On The Nile / Evil Under The Sun) [Region A] (Blu-ray)
This box set is a waste of money, and if you want the films on Blu-ray you should buy the Italian imports at a similar price which are fully subtitled in various languages, and also contain the Lansbury/Marple film. The lack of extras on these discs is shocking. It's not as if there aren't making-of features for all of these films, though the hour long four-part making-of documentary for Murder on the Orient Express has only ever appeared on the Region 1 DVD. Picture quality for that film in the HD format is frustrating because the opening credits for the film are really very impressive in all their splendid colour - but as soon as the film begins picture quality is little better than DVD. Evil Under the Sun and Death on the Nile do fare better but that is no reason to buy this set given the lamentable treatment Studio Canal have given to this.

A missed opportunity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Poirot Movie Blu Ray Boxset, 27 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Poirot Blu-ray Boxset (Murder On The Orient Express / Death On The Nile / Evil Under The Sun) [Region A] (Blu-ray)
Fantastic transfer from 35mm film to blu-ray. Orient Express interior shots looked superb. Nile scenery was better than being there in real life .... no heat and heathens!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The little grey cells have never looked better!!, 23 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Poirot Blu-ray Boxset (Murder On The Orient Express / Death On The Nile / Evil Under The Sun) [Region A] (Blu-ray)
I know the previous review has only given this Blu Ray set just the one star but I have to disagree. Firstly this is a Poirot box set so there would be no reason to add 'The Mirror Crack'd' because that is a Marple story so it wouldn't make sense to have it here. Secondly it is true that 'Murder on the Orient Express' is a bit grainy, but 'Death on the Nile' is of excellent picture quality and the final film 'Evil under the sun' is one of the best Blu Ray's of an older film that I have seen. Anyway if your a Poirot fan, especially of Ustinov's interpretation (always thought that Finney's portrayal is overrated and quite ridiculous) then treat yourself. Your little grey cells will approve!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews