Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brief but profoundly moving
This short memoir - all the more poignant because it can be devoured almost at one sitting - is a profoundly moving vignette on the effect of war on one family, and, especially, on one boy, who, in some ways, always remained a boy because he never knew his father, despite attaining high office. The banishing of any true grief for many years and the various foiled attempts...
Published 17 months ago by J MYLES

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Only child
I enjoyed this book because it was a short story and to the point. It was sad to think the author grew up not ever knowing his father. The war took many lives and in this case, the author's father was killed many miles away from his home. It sounded an awful death but, the Greek people kept his spirit alive enabling his son to visit many years later.
Published 10 months ago by Glynis Bennett


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brief but profoundly moving, 16 Nov. 2013
By 
J MYLES (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Only Child (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
This short memoir - all the more poignant because it can be devoured almost at one sitting - is a profoundly moving vignette on the effect of war on one family, and, especially, on one boy, who, in some ways, always remained a boy because he never knew his father, despite attaining high office. The banishing of any true grief for many years and the various foiled attempts at a pilgrimage to the crash site of his father's wartime plane are beautifully painted with deep honesty and the final sentence broke my heart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb short memoir, 19 Nov. 2013
This review is from: Only Child (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
I found this to be a brave and beautiful memoir. A searingly honest tale of one family's emotional history and the politics which charts Meyer's evolution into adulthood. A fantastic read that is beautifully written by this accomplished author. I recommend this book as it will be informative and moving for all generations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Only child, 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Only Child (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed this book because it was a short story and to the point. It was sad to think the author grew up not ever knowing his father. The war took many lives and in this case, the author's father was killed many miles away from his home. It sounded an awful death but, the Greek people kept his spirit alive enabling his son to visit many years later.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Only child, 4 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Only Child (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
I am glad Christopher was able to trace what happened to his father and write about the loss experienced by the family. It is written in a very factual way probably because the only way to survive a loss even if it is felt through a family member is by concentrating on living whilst searching for answers. My eldest brother's father was lost presumed dead over the Adriatic and he was brought up by grandparents. My mother never settled, a trait which seemed common when I looked into the families of the rest of the crew. We owe so much to these brave people and need to understand the effects on their families in order to aid the families of our existing servicemen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Only child, 17 Mar. 2014
This review is from: Only Child (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
I have enjoyed reading this book. My parents lived though the Second World War so although I was born in the late fifties I have heard some stories of the time and also lost relatives. The author also explores family dynamics and gives the reader an idea of how the War affected peoples personal lives. I was pleased the author got to his father's grave.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Holiday read, 15 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Only Child (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
I had no idea Christopher was so important that was a revelation however I have great interest in real life so I enjoyed his very factual account lightened by his wonderful sense of humour A very good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A gentle, moving and sometimes candid family story, 14 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Only Child (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed this book, Sometimes lovingly described, sometimes bluntly told, a topsy-turvy childhood in a different time.

Meyer's search for information about his Father, who was killed before his birth, informs the effect of his loss on his and that of his Mother's whole lives.

Mixtures of hilarity and the kindness of the islanders who gave his father and his colleague respectful funerals despite the presence of the Germans, and their tales of those days, passed down through generations.

A really nice book to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Only child, 5 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Only Child (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
A short insight into the grief and loss that war visit on family life. The dignity and grace which the Greek islanders gave to his father's buriel was very touching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good, easy reading, 4 Mar. 2014
By 
M. Beetham (Ashford, Middlesex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Only Child (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
An engaging tale, well told by Christopher Meyer. I enjoyed reading Christopher's story and that of his father's short life. Quite moving and very well written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Frustrating story, 20 Feb. 2014
This review is from: Only Child (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
The book is about the author trying to find out more about his father who died just before the author was born. The author does find out more about the death of his father on a Greek island during the Second World War. However, he is unable to find out more about his personality except from a few of his father's letters to his mother. The author is left with the feeling that he might have been a different person if his father had survived but is not sure about this. The reader is left as frustrated as the author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only Child (Kindle Single)
Only Child (Kindle Single) by Christopher Meyer
£1.74
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews