Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just call him God.
Personally, I don't think I could have got on with Dick Knight, we're too similar, but without doubt, he saved B&HA. As a lifetime supporter he deserves everyone's gratitude and congratulations and it's because of the man he is that he was able to achieve the feats he did, many would have crumbled and faded away.
The book, whilst being a bit self-indulgent at times,...
Published 13 months ago by Malcolm Boyes

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars interesting read
Felt dick came across as very egotistical and gave no credit to tony bloom, which is a shame given how much money he put in. Dick comes across as very bottler which is very sad given what he did to save the club.
Published 9 months ago by firing blanks


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just call him God., 20 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mad Man (Kindle Edition)
Personally, I don't think I could have got on with Dick Knight, we're too similar, but without doubt, he saved B&HA. As a lifetime supporter he deserves everyone's gratitude and congratulations and it's because of the man he is that he was able to achieve the feats he did, many would have crumbled and faded away.
The book, whilst being a bit self-indulgent at times, is a must read for any club and supporter as it shows what can happen if people take their eye of the ball. It also gives the average supporter information that we knew nothing about but perhaps we should have done. A great read and a tomb deserving of the man himself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars for genuine football fans, 26 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mad Man (Kindle Edition)
Yes I'm a Brighton & Hove Albion fan, a sometime season ticket holder and have been for almost 25 years but I'd describe myself as a casual not a diehard. This book is a great insight into the perils of how to take a football club in turmoil, give it an identity but ultimately see how business can treat you. The club were fortunate to have the loyalty of'Dick' but also the football league were better off as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great insight, 21 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mad Man (Kindle Edition)
As an Albion Fan I thought I had a good handle on things that went on during the years of turmoil at the club but this provides such a superb insight to what really happened and, how on so many occasions, how the new club and its long suffering fans, came so close to the brink.

It brought back many great memories as well as reminded me of a time that however tempting it is to forget, should form required reading for any future employee of the club (directors, management staff and players especially).

It could provide a valuable blueprint for fans of other clubs in similar situations.

Thanks Dick, for all your hard work, the memories and this great book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The trials and tribulations of being a football chairman, 8 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A good insight into the experiences of a lifetime Brighton supporter. Although bought for my son, this was well read by my wife as well
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A 'Must', 31 Dec 2013
By 
Tim Clarke (Ashington,W.Sussex) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As a long suffering Brighton & HA season ticket holder at The Goldstone, Gillingham, Withdean and The Amex I was curious to read this book. As part of those turbulent days with Archerlotti, I was intrigued to read about what was really happening behind the scenes and how much longer they had kept their claws in the club than I had realised. DK writes well and chooses his words carefully, but you cannot help feeling sad towards the end of the book because we have a fine club and stadium but I am not sure that DK gets the credit he should. Have we actually 'done right by him?'. If you are serious about football and or your club then this is a compelling read! I bought it at the same time as Ferguson's and Redknapp's autobiographies and the latter two do not compare.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dick knight loves himself, 27 Jan 2014
By 
Matthew Weir "MattW" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have a large amount of respect for what Dick has done for Brighton. Plenty of the book talks about his career but the parts about Brighton are an interesting insight into life behind the closed door. A must for long term Brighton fans
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Seagulls, 30 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My brother in law is a mad Brighton & Hove Albion fan. So when this was published just before Christmas there was no option but fo someone to buy it for him. As far as I know he was very pleased with his present,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent story ( in fact facts ) of one man'S crusade to save a football club, 24 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It is very well written and researched. It is obvious that the author always intended to write this book. And kept meticulous records.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Football Story, 17 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a most interesting story of a man's commitment to Brighton & Hove Football Club - a man the Club's fans owe a debt of gratitude.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mad Man (Kindle Edition)
Very good reed, don't need to be into football to enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mad Man
Mad Man by Dick Knight
£6.17
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews