Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Barker shows hints of what his films could become
Losing the strait ahead structure of his first two films Barker draws out his short story "The Last Illusion" (Books of Blood VI aka Cabal) and makes an intriguing prelude to "The Great and Secret Show" Unfortunately, it seems unlikely that the D'Amour's second story will ever see the screen.
The story centers around an occult led by nix, a petty demon-like man with...
Published on 13 Oct 2004 by M. Daneker

versus
18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Buyer Beware - Theatrical Cut Blu-ray ONLY
I prefer not to review products I don't own - so please forgive me.

However, I am doing so here so that other buyers can be aware of something. I pre-ordered this title as soon as it became available on blu-ray; but I cancelled it yesterday.

The reason is that it's only the Theatrical Version that is on blu-ray here. The far superior Director's Cut...
Published 6 months ago by Pantheon


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Barker shows hints of what his films could become, 13 Oct 2004
By 
M. Daneker (Spinnerstown, Pa USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Losing the strait ahead structure of his first two films Barker draws out his short story "The Last Illusion" (Books of Blood VI aka Cabal) and makes an intriguing prelude to "The Great and Secret Show" Unfortunately, it seems unlikely that the D'Amour's second story will ever see the screen.
The story centers around an occult led by nix, a petty demon-like man with some real powers, but little ambition. After he kidnaps a 12 yr old girl, his best learner, Swan, and a small band of followers who see the error of there ways mount a rescue, they seal Nix in an iron mask and bury him in the dessert.
Years latter...
Swan is married to the girl, Dorthea, now a woman, but Nix's followers are ready for the resurrection. Fearing for her safety Swan fakes his own death hoping that when nix returns he'd leave Dorthea alone.
Harry D'Amour, a Brooklyn PI is brought in to determine the possibility of Nix's return and protect Dorthea. Of course D'Amour and Dorthea have heat as she admits nearly immediately that she loved Swan but was not in-love with him. The not-really-dead Swan complicates his own plans by trying to scare Harry off.
Eventually everything falls apart for Swan, his woman is in Harry's arms, his enemies are after him, and Nix is after his soul.
The showdown ensues and is much more satisfying than Hellraiser's non-conclusion.
There's some nifty visuals and enough gore in the superior directors cut. Mostly there's a real feel for fans of the horror-fantasy novels, Weaveworld, Great and Secret Show, Galilee, that Barker is so favored for. This is the only film that feels like his books and feels like it's own world, complete and fully realized.
The film is a bit overly stylized and Barker's stagnant camera and unimaginative set-ups do little to invite the eye in. A better 5.1 mix would have helped sell this as well and the DVD lacks a HD transfer so the contrast and details are a bit grainy.
Over all a solid film that could have benefited from better editing, camera work and a better DVD presentation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Buyer Beware - Theatrical Cut Blu-ray ONLY, 12 Feb 2014
By 
Pantheon (Boston, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Lord Of Illusions [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I prefer not to review products I don't own - so please forgive me.

However, I am doing so here so that other buyers can be aware of something. I pre-ordered this title as soon as it became available on blu-ray; but I cancelled it yesterday.

The reason is that it's only the Theatrical Version that is on blu-ray here. The far superior Director's Cut is only on DVD.

This may appeal to some purists; but this is one occasion where the Director's Cut really DID improve the film and the Theatrical cut pales in comparison.

I'm not saying people shouldn't buy it - I just want people to be fully informed. I received an email from 101 Films who confirmed that they were unable to obtain an HD copy of the Director's Cut.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This is a single Blu-ray disc of the 109 minute "theatrical release", with very good quality but no DVD., 3 Mar 2014
By 
John Frame "There Is No Substitute For Equality" (Brisbane, Queensland Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lord Of Illusions [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Buyers ought to be aware that the information on the packaging for this Blu-ray contains a lot of errors, and that (according to IMDB.com) there have been three different runtime versions of this film. They list 109 minute for the theatrical release, 119 minutes for a "director's cut" and also a 121 minute "unrated director's cut". On the back cover of the 1998 "Unrated Director's Cut" (MGM, Region 1, 24fps prog scan, 121 minutes), the first item listed under "Special Features" is: <"Contains footage not seen in theatres or as part of the "Director's Cut">

This Blu-ray is definitely the 109 minute "theatrical release" - and it is not likely to be the "definitive" high definition version for long. On 14th February 2014 Clive Barker made the following announcement on his Facebook page (which was later confirmed by USA distributor Scream Factory who anticipate a mid-2014 release of a definitive collectors edition): "The other movie of mine that Shout is preparing a definitive new edition of (I've just seen the art-work for the DVD. It's superb ) is indeed LORD OF ILLUSIONS, as many of you have already guessed. The edition will have both cuts of the film, interviews, analysis, a profile of D'Amour traced through all his literary and cinematic journeys and Nix knows what else...It's going to be a whole new vision of D'Amour's world, all the way up to, and including, THE SCARLET GOSPELS. My love to you all, Clive Barker"

I own the 121 minute 1998 "unrated director's cut" DVD so I've been able to compare it to the Blu-ray edition and make a confident positive recommendation for the quality of the Blu-ray. The 101 Films Blu-ray is brighter and has significantly greater detail - however after closely comparing the two in "A-B" fashion on my PC, I'm suspecting that the darkness of the DVD was might have been an intended element of the style of the film - and that the brightness of the Blu-ray edition might be due to the clever new high definition transfer technology (Clive Barker would know).

The Blu-ray is AVC encoded 1920x1080 24p, letterboxed slightly to the original film aspect of 1.85:1 and with 48kHz 16 bit PCM stereo audio - whereas the 1998 "Unrated Director's Cut" edition is 720x480 24p anamorphic 1.77:1 (no letterboxing) with a choice of three audio tracks: Dolby Digital 5.1 surround, Dolby Digital 5.1 surround for the isolated music track, and Dolby Digital 1.0 for Clive Barker's commentary.

I was surprised that there was only the Blu-ray disc, in a single disc case, even though the cover states that it ought to contain a second disc - the "Director's Cut DVD". Amazon UK lists a "101 Films" DVD version as a separate item. The Blu-ray cover also claims that the film is just 87 minutes (when it's really 109) and that it is in Dolby Digital 5.1 surround, when the only soundtrack is PCM stereo (only).

I will be hanging on to my 1998 "Unrated Director's Cut" NTSC anamorphic widescreen DVD for all the extras that you do not get with this Blu-ray - the three above-mentioned audio options, an 8 page booklet, 32 chapters (about 4 times as many as the Blu-ray) and for the 12 minutes of extra material which does significantly contribute to the story.

If you loved the experience of Lord Of Illusions in the cinema, then you will love this 2014 101 Films Blu-ray edition. If you want all the extras though, you will have to buy the "unrated director's cut" edition DVD - or wait till mid-2014 and see what the "Scream Factory" USA collectors edition Blu-ray has to offer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Guilty pleasure, 2 Mar 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Lord Of Illusions [DVD] (DVD)
Oh what can I say? I know this doesn't work, but I do enjoy it anyway, if only to try and pick through it to see how it could be salvaged.
I think the main problem is in the structure, Barker weirdly opens with a long flashback, giving away a good few twists up front and then has his hero trying to work out what happened, something we already know. Snipping out most of this - cutting straight to D'Amour, perhaps - maybe adding it in later on in some form or other, would have made the mystery aspect much stronger.
Still, it's good to see a film try and do something a bit different, and as Barker puts it, it's nice to see a horror movie more interested in the good guys than the iconic one-liner spitting baddies. This one does have a decent plot in there somewhere amidst the naff effects and hesitant performances, and is definately worth a watch, just to catch a glimpse of what it could have been.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Very big thanks for the great quality of box and blu-ray, 11 May 2014
This review is from: Lord Of Illusions [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Hi!
A Very big thanks for the great quality of box and blu-ray. See you in next orders. :)
Vladimir
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Different, 4 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lord Of Illusions [DVD] (DVD)
If you caught this partway through, its still quite clearly based on a book - there's large quantities of character/plot stuff, the stuff that often wouldn't get into films, and though I have never read the book, this doesn't appear to be watered down because it requires the audience to pay attention. Some information could be easily missed by those with relatively short attention spans.

Its only low point is being very long.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the most horrific movies ever...., 31 Dec 2000
This review is from: Lord Of Illusions [DVD] (DVD)
This movie is a classic. Great story and even better cast. O'Conner was perfect for his role and Janssen makes the fear look soo realistic.
Clive Barker has done it again, to make a great horrific movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Illusions, 16 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lord Of Illusions [DVD] (DVD)
Yes this is a great show with everything happening around you, the suspense is killing with mind blowing effects that keep you entertained, A private detective visits Los Angeles and sees a magic show that is very different, so is it real or not plenty of intrigue and fabulous acting from Scott Bakula and the cast, It holds you interested that you don't want to miss anything. Say to much and spoil the movie no not me I like to let you be the judge so see for yourself as it is very different to nearly every other movie I have seen in a long time. I rated this an A grade plus classic for pure entertainment that's worth seeing. So sit awhile and enjoy a marvelous night of amusement with something from the beyond and unexplainable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 Aug 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lord Of Illusions [DVD] (DVD)
Pity the newly released blu-ray is not the superior director's cut.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a bad movie, 14 Dec 2001
By 
Nuno Souto (Lisboa, Portugal) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Lord Of Illusions [DVD] (DVD)
This is a nice Clive Barker movie but certainly not his best. Hellraiser is still his best movie followed by Nightbreed. The image and sound quality in the DVD version isn't perfect but is OK.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lord Of Illusions [Blu-ray]
Lord Of Illusions [Blu-ray] by Clive Barker (Blu-ray - 2014)
14.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews