Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It'll make the hairs stand up on the back of your neck!
Chet Baker is one of the Jazz worlds most earnest and touching symbols, and this CD is a fantastic collection of his material. The recordings are digitally-beautified without being made glossy or 'produced' sounding. Particular trakcs to look out for are 'My Funny Valentine', 'Find the Silver Lining', 'Lets Get Lost' and The Thrill is Gone'. Chet's voice is smooth, calm,...
Published on 21 Nov 2004 by Mr. S. Mellins

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars slightly disappointed
Although there are some good tracks on
this album, slightly disappointed that
too many sound like hotel lounge songs.
Easy listening but a little too easy.
Maybe it will grow on me with more plays.
Published 13 months ago by sjj


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It'll make the hairs stand up on the back of your neck!, 21 Nov 2004
By 
Mr. S. Mellins (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Chet Baker is one of the Jazz worlds most earnest and touching symbols, and this CD is a fantastic collection of his material. The recordings are digitally-beautified without being made glossy or 'produced' sounding. Particular trakcs to look out for are 'My Funny Valentine', 'Find the Silver Lining', 'Lets Get Lost' and The Thrill is Gone'. Chet's voice is smooth, calm, innocent, wise, supremely joyful and heart-breakingly sad all at the same time; One of my favourite voices of all time, and his trumpet playing is wonderfully complimentary to his voice, displaying the same smoothness and ease. This is music that does far more than just relax you - it will move you and touch you deeply. If you are new to Chet then this makes an ideal introduction. If like me you are a long-term fan this is a tip-top collection that is for the most part well selected - however the omission of 'Deep in A Dream' is regretable!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars HOW COOL IS THIS, 29 April 2009
By 
Alexander Bryce (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I needed to replace some old cassettes of Chet Baker and thought that i would start with a songs collection. This CD is great value and covers most of his vocal work when, i believe, he was at his peak around the mid. fifties before his demons destroyed him. Not gifted with the strongest voice, he used what he had to best effect with an angst laden, soft, almost whispering style. To some My Funny Valentine is his best , to others it is The Thrill Is Gone, but for me it has to be Hoagy Carmichael's I Get Along Without You Very Well. He makes this epitaph to lost love so engagingly melancholy without being maudlin and if anyone's voice was created for this standard then it must be his.
Most of the writers of the American song book are included: Gershwin, Rodgers and Hart, Sammy Cahn, Frank Loesser etc. etc. so you know that he works with the best of material and oh boy does he do it well.
This guy was cool before cool was invented. I bought this for his vocals, but don't forget that his main talent, was of course, as a jazz horn player and you get plenty of examples of his artistry on this album. What a sound! If God played trumpet, it would sound like Chet!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoy, 11 Mar 2006
By 
lovemurakami "tooty2" (uk) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great album from a great trumpeter and sweet singer. He always reminds me of Mel Torme. The songs which have been chosen for this cd could not be better. Well worth listening to and will leave you wanting more
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FIVE STARS IS TOO LITTLE FOR THIS RECORD!!!, 6 July 2007
By 
Jose Carlos Solimeo (Sao Paulo, Brazil) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Aside from Francis Albert (the one and only), Chet Baker is, by far, the most "honest" singer ever! He does not tell you lies. As Sinatra, he transpire sincerety, when singing: you believe him, you believe his feelings and his hurting... And, again, as Sinatra, he has a marvelous timing, a beautiful phrasing and an impecable good taste. And - here is finally an advantage, when compared to Sinatra - he also blows his horn wonderfully, with that simple, clear, full, honest sound of one that does not have to do any fancy trick to reach your heart and your imagination.
Again, five stars is too little for this record!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just sublime!, 6 Mar 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have always adored Chet Baker, his beyond cool persona is very addictive, no pun intended! His voice is sublime on these songs, just an extention of his trumpet playing and makes one so relaxed it's hard to tell when his playing stops and his voice begins. One of my all time favourite CD's and I cannot recommend this highly enough for those lovers of cool jazz, simply the best!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the Best Male Jazz Singers, 2 Feb 2010
Jazz has many awesome female singers but when you think about it the number of really great male jazz singers is small, or even non-existent, unless you count the jazz influenced popular singers like Sinatra. I don't really want to ignite a pointless debate about what constitutes a jazz singer though(yawn!). Merely to comment that, although he was primarily a trumpeter who may have lacked power vocally, in terms of timing, phrasing and communication Chet Baker was a superb singer and this is a very fine collection. If you like Chet's singing this is the one to buy since it finds him at his vocal peak.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jazz For Easy Listening, 8 Mar 2010
By 
B. Pimley (Berkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Although I have enjoyed Jazz for many years I had not heard Chet Baker until very recently on a radio 4 jazz programme. I agree with what other reveiwers have said about his unique approach to this music and without pretending to be a fan of the music of the bepop era I can honestly say that Chet Baker's recordings (I already have 4 of them with two more on order!) are the most played in my collection.

This particular selection, not unsurprisingly, features plenty of Baker's smooth, relaxed and lyrical singing style along with beautifully phrased and concise trumpet solos that don't seem to outstay their welcome. A word of praise too for the excellent accompaniying contributions from piano, double bass and percussion.

If you like your Jazz to be easy on the ear (melodic even!), if, perhaps, you already like the music of Paul Desmond or Anton Carlos Jobim then chances are you will love this selection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Smooth, sweet, sad loveliness, 1 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Sweetly melancholic renditions of jazz classics in Baker's inimitable, effortlessly cool style. Understated yet resonant, this is the perfect late-night/rainy-day accomplishment. For the casual fan you can't get much better than this - for £4 delivered! - as a compilation of Baker's vocal tracks, and for those willing to explore further this is a great primer. Fans of modern 'crooners' such as Michael Buble would benefit too from a listen to this true original.

100% recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow! A velvet-cushioned box of jewels!, 3 Aug 2010
By 
Sorbus (S.E. England) - See all my reviews
I have to thank 'Desert Island Discs' on Radio 4 and the 'castaway' (don't remember who)for choosing one of his tracks - it blew me away!
Chet Baker had been a jazz trumpet name to me (prefer jazz piano)but what a voice and what fantastic phrasing he had - eat your heart out Sinatra!! Seriously this set of recordings is a velvet cushioned box of jewels. His voice is a cross between Mel Torme and Michael Buble - so could appeal to the generation below mine as well! A great joy and a quality recording production, considering the tracks are from 1953-1957.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the best, 15 Feb 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Came across Chet Baker by accident, not being a Jazz fan, but I thought that this CD was really good. Chet Baker has a haunting quality in his voice, and it is a great pity that he died at a relatively early age. Would recommend this Cd to anyone who likes "mood music".The Best of Chet Baker Sings
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews