Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Short and sweet, cheap and cheerful
This is a nifty little fantasy horror flick from 'Reanimator' director Stuart Gordon, one of the great lost talents of horror cinema. Following 'Reanimator' and 'From Beyond' Gordon seemed destined for Sam Raimi/George Romero style cult adulation, but lost his way badly. 'Dolls' is probably his last worthwhile feature.
It's simultaneously formulaic and surprising...
Published on 11 April 2006 by C. Quinn

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No subtitles: a disappointment. (otherwise terrific)
"Dolls" is a children's fantasy horror movie with a scary atmosphere, black humour, and great effects. But the real star in this movie was the young girl Carrie Lorraine, nominated as "Best Young Actress in a Horror Motion Picture", an award that she really deserved! She was an absolute delight. A lovable kid surrounded by some nasty characters, who are all killed. Her...
Published 8 months ago by Filip R


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Short and sweet, cheap and cheerful, 11 April 2006
By 
C. Quinn "totality denier" (County Louth, Eire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a nifty little fantasy horror flick from 'Reanimator' director Stuart Gordon, one of the great lost talents of horror cinema. Following 'Reanimator' and 'From Beyond' Gordon seemed destined for Sam Raimi/George Romero style cult adulation, but lost his way badly. 'Dolls' is probably his last worthwhile feature.
It's simultaneously formulaic and surprising. Lost travellers, creepy house, evil slasher dolls -- you know the score. But Gordon directs with such pace that you don't have time to groan at the clichés, and the eponymous mini-monsters are realized with marvellous glee and wit. It's a bit like 'Toy Story' written by Rob Zombie and directed by Jan Svankmajer. Well, maybe not as deranged as that would be, but pretty good anyway.
I wouldn't pay a lot for what's basically a sassy B-movie, but if you can pick up 'Dolls' cheap I'm sure you'll be pleasantly surprised. Watch it back-to-back with 'Reanimator' and wonder what the hell happened to Stuart Gordon's talent. A crying shame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No subtitles: a disappointment. (otherwise terrific), 18 Dec 2013
By 
This review is from: Dolls [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
"Dolls" is a children's fantasy horror movie with a scary atmosphere, black humour, and great effects. But the real star in this movie was the young girl Carrie Lorraine, nominated as "Best Young Actress in a Horror Motion Picture", an award that she really deserved! She was an absolute delight. A lovable kid surrounded by some nasty characters, who are all killed. Her innocence (and that of the other protagonist - a young man) are a big contrast of the rest of the evil visitors. The only disappointing thing in this movie was the two punk/new-wave chicks, 2 unwatchable characters, but luckily they have not a main role in this movie. "Dolls" is a really splendid horror-fantasy, sometimes hilarious comic, sometimes really horrifying and sometimes really cute. Another interesting character was the dollmaker: grandfatherly and mysterious. I really loved this movie. If you still have the child in you, "Dolls" is an unforgettable experience. This gem is definitely the best work of Stuart Gordon!!! (rating **** excellent)
However, I won't buy this Blu-ray because there are no English subtitles. I'll wait for the American release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I'm not Afraid of Dolls....who said I was? ........O Gosh I am Afraid of Dolls!,, 17 Oct 2007
By 
And I was, thanks to this film back in 87' I was afraid of my Barbie and her pink Cadillac, Ken stop laughing at me. After viewing this again it turn out to be comedic. Dolls starts out with the Bower family - David (Ian Patrick Williams), Rosemary (Carolyn Purdy-Gordon) and Judy (Carrie Lorraine) - headed out for a vacation that none of them really wants to take. They get lost and stuck in the middle of the woods when a really bad storm falls upon them. They are in luck however; as they stumble across an old mansion which they assume is abandoned. Fortunately for them (or unfortunately depending on how you look at it) it is not abandoned at all but instead inhabited by an aging toy maker and his wife - Gabriel (Guy Rolfe) and Hilary Hartwicke (Hilary Mason) as well as a few other small guests.

As the night wears on, the Bower family is joined by Ralph Morris (Stephen Lee) who has picked up a couple of punk looking hitchhikers - Isabel (Bunt Bailey) and Enid (Cassie Stuart). It appears that they will all be spending the night. Quite possibly the longest night ever according to young Judy and Mr. Hartwicke.

We find that most of the visitors to the Hartwicke home do not have the best of intentions at heart. The punk girls just want to rob the Hartwickes of their antiques and David and Rosemary are continually plotting to get rid of David's day dreaming pain of a daughter so they can get down to some real vacationing. You probably don't need to be told anymore but the special effects are good no strings or sticks attached, given the year of production. Because we aren't tortured into believing in super-dolls and because their movements are kept to a subtle minimum, the film's sobriety is enhanced. These dolls are viscous as they slice and dice their way through the guests, with your standard killing utensils, as well as using some unconventional murderous techniques. The characters remain simple and common; the adults are evil, the younglings are nice and the ones that are over the hill are simply in between. From the get go, you'll know who will survive and who won't. The development is predictable but never boring. The finale where a large quantity of puppets is annihilated is stunning. What we learn during Dolls is that if you are not a child or at the very least a child at heart, you probably would fair better out in the storm than in the Hartwicke mansion. I over came my fears within a year and looking again at this film also made me realize how cute (the irony) of a film it is. Again with good effects and a lesson to be learned for bad people everywhere - stay away from toy making witches and warlocks lest you become a toy yourself!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Got myself a crying, walking, killing, talking... living doll!, 17 July 2014
This review is from: Dolls (Blu-ray)
I’ve been watching ‘Dolls’ every few years since I first saw it near its original release in the eighties. It’s fair to say that it’s a classic (for what it is). That doesn’t mean that everything about it is perfect, but it does do the job if you’re looking for something short, sweet and pretty scary.

As a guy, I’ve – obviously! – had very little interest in children’s (or should I say girls’?) dolls. I always did find their blank, staring expressions, their perfectly-powered rosy cheeks and their overly-chiselled cheekbones a little unsettling. Perhaps that makes me the perfect demographic to get the most out of this film?

Basically, during one of those types of storms you only really get in horror movies, various strangers all seek refuge in one of those creepy old mansions in the middle of nowhere (that also always seem to turn up in horror movies). There, they encounter more than they bargain for when they meet the occupants. And I’m not talking about the softly-spoken, perfectly polite old English couple who live there. It’s their murderous ‘creations’ who cause the problems. And guess what they create? (Clue: there’s a hint in the title)

So, what you’re left with is a quite a short film that charts the survival of the humans as they taken on a whole swarm of Barbie’s evil cousins. If you like the sound of that, you’ll probably enjoy it. As I mentioned, it’s not perfect. Some of the actors’ performances are pretty atrocious and others seem to try and over-act as if to compensate.

But we don’t really watch horror films for great acting performances, do we? It’s the dolls who steal the show. And they do it well, even without any formal acting lessons behind them. The gore flows nicely, as you’d expect from an eighties B-movie and everything rolls along nicely.

Special mention to the human ‘villains,’ who, despite creating hordes of evil, murderous dolls, seem to be strangely likeable – a rarity in any film, let alone a horror film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scary as ever, 12 Feb 2009
By 
R. Scothern (Nottingham UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I first saw this film many years ago and still have an overwhelming fear of dolls. Its not that this is a great film as it isn't but the way the dolls move is just sooo creepy!
The part i will always remember is where they are all lined up on a mantlepiece with their eyes closed, then the lightning flashes again and their eyes are open, then when the next lightning flash comes they are all gone!!! Absolutely sends shivers down my spine.

Definately worth watching,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "..CLASSIC 80'S HORROR..", 18 Feb 2014
By 
S. Drury "SDX-800" (U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dolls [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This is a very cool little horror film from the 80s, directed and produced by the people responsible for the re-animator movies, and Charles band who's classic for puppet master etc., As usual killer dolls are the theme of this film and they are very well done with creepy effects, the story is short but has a great build up with some eerie music and good sets, the cast is great too especially credit to the little girl who is an amazing little actress in this film. This is really worth checking out for its low price, good quality Blu-ray, shame there is no features but a commentary, classic creepy well made horror.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars dolls, 5 July 2013
love this film got this on vhs and now got it on dvd and its best horror alot better then some realy cheesy horror and rubish acting and some have camras following the actors and actress around there are the ones fit for the bin i wish they did the dolls 2 as another famlie got stuck in the mud and judy got a ride with ralph but i gest know no one is going to do it as been so long. but why do other sellers put the high prices they should be struck off as do they belive peole will buy a dvd for over 100 pounds or 33 onwards thats a joke thats why people by bootleg films or wait for a cheeper price or download it so was pleased i got mine cheaper a bit a go know its 33pounds pluss postaged it dosent deseved 1 or 2 3 stars rating. can other customers stop putting spoliers about films people have bought or about to buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant 80's horror/fantasy, 1 Feb 2012
By 
Neil B ""HINRG BOY"" (Bury, Lancashire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I originally saw this film back in the mid 80's when it came out in the UK on video. For a low budget picture the production values are quite high and it is a chilling and memorable film. A very good cast of character actors do a fantastic job and the film is directly very well. The big old house setting is perfect, and Hilary Mason does a great job in her role as old Mrs Hardwick. This film is definitely on a par with the more successful PUPPET MASTER series and you will thoroughly enjoyb this little gem if killer dolls is your thing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Be good or ELSE !!!, 9 Jan 2008
This review is from: Dolls [VHS] [1987] (VHS Tape)
Forget the teddybear picnic. These dolls kick ass big time. Sure the quality is grainy by todays standards, but watching a bunch of no-gooders getting it big time by a house full of porcelain dollies and Mr Punch guarantees a laugh. Most memorable moment (without spoiling it) is watching two dollies cutting off someones leg with a saw, while she is standing in a hallway, the look on her face when she looks down and sees them grinning at her while they saw away!! Just buy it - its cheaper than a twenty pack of ciggies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic 80s cult horror., 21 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dolls [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Let's get one thing straight it's not gonna win any oscars, or any other awards probably, but where this movie is a winner is the performances from the actors who clearly loved making this gem of a movie. The setting in a big old scary house is perfect and...oh I could go on it's obvious I love this film flaws and all. If you like your horror on the cheesy classic 80s side you can't go wrong with this, but if you like all this torture porn that's become the fashion stay away it's probably too sophisticated for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dolls [Blu-ray]
Dolls [Blu-ray] by Stuart Gordon (Blu-ray - 2014)
10.43
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews