Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ridiculously enjoyable, 21 Dec 2013
By 
Mrs. K. A. Wheatley "katywheatley" (Leicester, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Property of a Gentleman: One House. Many secrets. (Kindle Edition)
I'd never read anything by Catherine Gaskin before this, but I will definitely be reading her work after having finished this. I enjoyed it immensely.

It kind of reminded me of Du Maurier's Rebecca but with a little more melodrama. The story is of its time, and my only niggle was the subservience of the main character, Joanne to the men in her life, although, to be fair to her, she does learn to stand up for herself during the course of the novel, which is a good job. The other thing that really showed the age of the book was how much smoking goes on by all the characters in the book. It isn't until you read a book of an age like this that you realise how much things have changed in such a short time.

The book is a hugely enjoyable dramatic romp with a dose of high romance set against a background of crumbling fortunes, historical ruins and ancient enmity in the empty reaches of the Lake District. I raced through the pages, and was very sad when it was finished. I shall look out for more of her work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A book I wished I'd written!, 5 Dec 2013
This review is from: The Property of a Gentleman: One House. Many secrets. (Kindle Edition)
Take a magnificent but gloomy ancestral home in need of repair; an elderly retainer by the name of Tolson; place them in wild moor land on the edge of a national park in Cumbria; mix them together with a bit of mystery, intrigue and romance, and there you have it! The makings of a brilliant story. This is what Catherine Gaskin achieved in this book published in hardback in 1974 and now available for the first time as an ebook.

The story centres around Thirlbeck, home of the Earls of Askew. The 18th Earl, Robert Birkett, has reluctantly returned and asked his old school friend, Gerald, to visit with the purpose of valuing and selling off the art and antiquities. Gerald has worked for Hardy's, a large auction house in London for many years and mentors a young woman, Joanne. She accompanies him to Thirlbeck, acting as his assistant and driver. The house and farmland now need vast amounts of investment to restore the estate to its former glory.

The characters are wonderful, especially Tolson, a strange man, just the sort of character you would expect to find in an old house such as this. Tolson has cared for the house for many years in the absence of the Earl and in many ways looks upon it as his own, with many of his relatives employed about the estate.

This book, although of its time, is so well written. The descriptions of the characters, the house and the surrounding countryside are quite evocative. Gaskin describes everything in great detail, but that doesn't prevent the reader from using their imagination. I particularly like the pack of family pet dogs, interwoven in the story, who became almost mystical in their behavour. The story builds slowly and inexorably, with many twists and turns.

I thoroughly enjoyed this book and look forward to reading other Catherine Gaskin ebooks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still a very good story..., 5 Dec 2013
By 
jaffareadstoo (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Property of a Gentleman: One House. Many secrets. (Kindle Edition)
The Property of a Gentleman was originally published in 1974 and forms part of the extensive catalogue of historical/romantic suspense stories which were written by Catherine Gaskin during her forty years as a novelist, when she became known as "The Queen of Storytellers" and "The Girl with the Golden Pen."

Sent from a London auction house, Jo Roswell, and her companion Gerald Stanton visit the stately home of the Earl of Askew, in the English Lake District. Their mission is to evaluate the historic contents with a view to a possible sale of antiquities. However, once at the house they become enthralled by the history, and also of the tragic story of the ill fated Spanish woman who lived in the house centuries before and of the infamous diamond, La Española, which exerts a sinister curse over all who come into contact with it.

I half expected this story to have lost some of its charm over the years and whilst parts of it can appear a little out-moded, it is still a very good story and quickly draws you into the whole concept of the slightly dilapidated country house, the reluctant Earl and his enigmatic mistress, and the brooding gloom of the faithful old retainers who knows far more than they should about the history of the house and contents.

This story encompasses all that is great about Catherine Gaskin's writing, and even forty years on from its publication date ,The Property of a Gentleman remains as atmospheric and compelling as when it was first published.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Read from Catherine Gaskin, 13 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Property of a Gentleman: One House. Many secrets. (Kindle Edition)
I loved this book. Catherine Gaskin was a wonderful author and I have read most of her books. unfortunately most of them are not available on Kindle which is a shame as they are wonderful books to read, especially The Ambassor's Women which is my favourite book and I'm hoping will become available on Kindle at some time. I would love to download all her books to my kindle as they are the type of books you can read over and over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great book, 8 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Property of a Gentleman: One House. Many secrets. (Kindle Edition)
Again another well researched and interesting subject matter. Always a good storyline, romance, intrigue, danger. Brilliant as always this author
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars proprety of a gentleman, 28 April 2010
By 
Miranda Morland ""bruised UK"" (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I bought this book by mistake at a station thinking it was a Cookson, was so disappointed was almost unable to start reading 2 pages in and I was hooked marvelous bravo, what a thrilling and moving love story that traverses across several generations of secrets and intrigue Couldn't put it down Have re read several times and still has a huge impact
bravo I think my most favorite Gaskin
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Property of a Gentleman, 27 Sep 2009
By 
S. E. Robinson (Wetherby, Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I first read The Property of a Gentleman many yeas ago and thoroughly enjoyed it . On finding I could buy it on Amazon I am delighted to say that I enjoyed it even more. For those interested in antiques it makes a special impact. It is an excellent read about treasures unknown by the Auction Houses. It is a story of wonderful discoveries in an old Mansion house in Cubria. Of course what maked it an even better story is the touch of "spooky" happenings served alongside a super love story. I highly recommend it to all readers. It is highly entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great to see Catherine Gaskin available at last!, 19 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Property of a Gentleman: One House. Many secrets. (Kindle Edition)
As ever great story line. Always enjoyed her books and good to see one available on Kindle! An amazing storyteller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews