Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars15
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£1.15
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 November 2013
A female journalist and her cameraman are in a country in East Africa, when they come upon bodies stacked 9 feet tall along the roadside. She notices a woman in a bright yellow dress amid the carnage. While the photographer is telling her it's too dangerous, the militia is near, she jumps out of the car to photograph the lady in the yellow cotton dress. She reaches down to close the eyelids, pulls the dress down from around her waist, and pays her respects in silence.

Later, she does an award winning documentary of the genocide and goes home to her husband.

However, she is haunted by that moment and has nightmares. She wants to know the aftermath. She's done so many stories, and moves on. Now she wants to return to learn the answers to her questions. They include who the woman was, and why was were the victims stacked up on the roadside mainly children and men.

The answers to those questions make the telling of the story even more horrific. This is genocide, up close and personal.

I would highly recommend this very short read for an inside look at a 100 day period that was one of the worst genocides in modern days.
11 comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2013
The story of a journalist, a cameraman, and a woman brutally murdered in a beautiful yellow dress. Incongruous to find such beauty amongst such diabolical examples of mankind's inhumanity towards mankind. Normally social and well educated men who can be led to believe that what they are doing is 'right!'

The story unfolds to reveal the identity of the woman in the yellow dress, herself a journalist. And in how stopping to see this bright yellow, incongruous, dress in the middle of such an atrocity as genocide, nearly cost the journalist and her cameraman their lives.

They say every picture tells a thousand words, the author here has painted an incredibly moving picture with very few words.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2013
This is the story of a reporter who encounters genocide (and near death) in Rwanda, and the aftermath. It is full of vivid incident and has some heartbreaking moments, such as when the killers use chilli pepper to draw the children out of their hiding places, as if in a game. The author uses great writing to invoke the tragedy without preaching about what could (and should) have been done to stop it. Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2014
This book left me feeling equally disturbed and saddened. It is a story of inhumanity and of love. The description of the heaps of bodies on the road and of the writer recognising a flowered dress left me feeling distraught and questioning just how this happens. We all need to read this and to try to understand.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2013
I worked with Katharine in Rwanda nearly 20 years ago and I can strongly recommend this story for its authentic detail and moving plot. It is a real example of how one can take real life experiences and turn them into something more than autobiography, something universal that illuminates the human condition.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2014
United Nations? A job for the boys, they are as guilty as the killers themselves. They watched the violence of Rwanda unwind, the killing spree and didn't intervene, a religion of it's own. They all deserve a Nobel Peace prize for cowardice.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2013
I wanted it to go on longer, a very interesting read. it made me question whet else are these atrocities going on in the world today. what are we doing about it, apart from viewing it from a safe distance.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2013
Emotional & thought provoking, how can one human being subject others to such hideous acts of barbarism.
A moving tale of senseless waste and savagery.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2014
Well written quick read with a deep message about the nature of humans. Who loose their humanity. Read it twice and will again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2014
I loved the words used it kept me reading, really well written, I liked the fact that you never knew what was coming next.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.