Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle  Learn more Countdown to Prime Day Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars150
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 November 2013
While Lily Allen's vocals are not exactly perfect, she really makes the song her own. It fits perfectly with the John Lewis theme. Haunting & magical.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2013
Really like this cover, very different from the original really made it her own. would recommend it to all -
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2013
This version is worth downloading as it is no crappy mp3 format but a decent 6mb size music file, you can play it in hi-end speakers and you can hear lots of details

Strongly recommended getting it before Christmas and I am sure it goes well with other classics in your parties!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2013
I loved the original from Keane and in it's original format features on many of my MP3 playlists already.Lily Allen's cover has definately given the tune a new edge adapted to her unique style and has been "given wings" by it's inclusion in the wonderful "hare and bear" animation featured in a well known store advert.It just goes to prove that a really good song will stand the test of time and Somewhere Only We Know undoubtedly will feature on Christmas Albums from here on in (Kerching for Messers Oxley/Chaplin/Hughes!).A lovely novel way of wrapping up an established tune into something different for Christmas and always.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2013
"Somewhere Only We Know" by Lily Allen caught my attention due to my previous enjoyment and familiarity with "Somewhere Only We Know" by Keane. I like both versions, but admit that Lily Allen puts her unique and passionate spin on the song. She sings extremely well on this cover and gives a believable portrayal of singing it as if it may have been the story of her life in past experiences (whether or not this happened). The cover is available to listen to on youtube and is best for those who are familiar with Keane's rock version and/or enjoy smooth synth-pop ballads.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2014
It is a nice song and nice to see some nice Festive songs, just something I like to hear now and then and it did get a bit irritating all the time on the adverts.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2013
A brilliant song from Lily, a lot different from her normal style but still unmistakable Lily Allen. No wonder John Lewis used it for there christmas ad
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2013
I know, I know, the rabbit mucks up the bears circadian clock and he will never get back to sleep, but all the bunny wanted to do was share Christmas with his friend. Softies everywhere will know what I mean and eyes will fill up with delight. It's a beautiful version Lily x
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2014
All credit to John Lewis for using this for their last Christmas advert but obviously this review isn't about them! It's quite difficult for people to do a decent cover version but Lily Allen has succeeded where most haven't. Obviously the ad was a tug at the heartstrings affair and Ms Allen's cover was a contributory factor here. I happily sing along when I play it and would play it all day every day if I could. Could go on and on about it but you'll all probably die of boredom.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2014
Lily Allen can do little wrong for me - as far as her music is concerned, anyway. Even with the swearing from time to time I find her melodies enchanting, voice control and intonation riveting, production excellent, and the lyrics always tell a story. This was a good choice as it is also one of my all time favourite Keane tracks. Looking forward to the new album in the 'Late Spring'...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)