Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Parody On Quentin Tarantino Style Films
This 2011 (or according to IMDb 2012) released movie stars Christian Slater as John Smith who takes part in an Elvis Presley competition (after his wallet is stolen by a call girl) in a casino at an Native American reservation run by The Chief, he then gets to play poker with the other Elvis impersonators which includes Gary Oldman who's known as Elvis.

The...
Published 1 month ago by Tony

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars WE'RE HUNTING ELVIS'S
This is a wannabe grindhouse. It has all the style, but not the substance. John Smith (Christian Slater) is at an Indian casino and participates in an Elvis impersonator contest. One of the contestants steals a rare mask from the casino which culminates into a hunt for Elvis impersonators.

"The Blonde" (Helena Mattsson) recites Edgar Allen Poe poetry...
Published 5 months ago by The Movie Guy


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars WE'RE HUNTING ELVIS'S, 14 April 2014
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Guns Girls Gambling [DVD] (DVD)
This is a wannabe grindhouse. It has all the style, but not the substance. John Smith (Christian Slater) is at an Indian casino and participates in an Elvis impersonator contest. One of the contestants steals a rare mask from the casino which culminates into a hunt for Elvis impersonators.

"The Blonde" (Helena Mattsson) recites Edgar Allen Poe poetry and rather badly as she too hunts for the mask. This grindhouse aspect of Poe reading was done rather well by Daryl Hannah in "Eldorado 3D." The fact is that they stole the idea and could not improve upon it.

Be warned that Christian Slater performed as well in this one as he did in "Hatfields and McCoys: Bad Blood" and "Soldiers of Fortune."

The film has some twists, but lacks any serious clues, so don't look for any. The dialogue and jokes become stale as we get a constant barrage of Native American vs. Indian or midget Elvis vs. little person Elvis humor. The Asian listing the stereotypes wasn't funny either. It is a film for those who will watch anything grindhouse, even those that don't measure up. Wayne Gretzy's daughter Paulina has a minor role as "the deputy."

Parental Guide: F-bomb, sex, nudity (Heather Roop).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Parody On Quentin Tarantino Style Films, 25 July 2014
By 
Tony (London, U.K.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Guns Girls Gambling [DVD] (DVD)
This 2011 (or according to IMDb 2012) released movie stars Christian Slater as John Smith who takes part in an Elvis Presley competition (after his wallet is stolen by a call girl) in a casino at an Native American reservation run by The Chief, he then gets to play poker with the other Elvis impersonators which includes Gary Oldman who's known as Elvis.

The next day John Smith gets woken up on the table by the Casino owners henchmen who accuse him of stealing this sacred Native American mask, they stick him in the boot of his car and they drive him in the middle of the desert, later John Smith manages to rip through the back seat, the both henchmen are shot dead, he manages to make it at a small town then suddenly everyone he meets (including some of those Elvis impersonators) try to kill him for the mask due to the reward money offered, not to give anymore away this movie has so many twists and turns along the way.

As for the other characters they appear in the movie sporadically especially the Gary Oldman one, the names that are given seem like they are poking fun of the movies made by Tarantino, like The Blonde, The Rancher, The Indian to name but a few, in regards to the performances real life martial artist Helena Mattsson as The Blonde steals the movie, she comes across as Lara Croft with the skin tight clothes, cleavage with two guns strapped behind plus she reads poetry before she assassinates someone, Christian Slater is cool as usual, the supporting actors give weight and conviction, if you want to see a good Quentin Tarantino movie that he never made I highly recommemd this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars WE'RE HUNTING ELVIS'S, 22 April 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This is a wannabe grindhouse. It has all the style, but not the substance. John Smith (Christian Slater) is at an Indian casino and participates in an Elvis impersonator contest. One of the contestants steals a rare mask from the casino which culminates into a hunt for Elvis impersonators.

"The Blonde" (Helena Mattsson) recites Edgar Allen Poe poetry and rather badly as she too hunts for the mask. This grindhouse aspect of Poe reading was done rather well by Daryl Hannah in "Eldorado in 3D." The fact is that they stole the idea and could not improve upon it.

Be warned that Christian Slater performed as well in this one as he did in "Hatfields and McCoys: Bad Blood" and "Soldiers of Fortune."

The film has some twists, but lacks any serious clues, so don't look for any. The dialouge and jokes become stale as we get a constant barrage of Native American vs. Indian or midget Elvis vs. little person Elvis humor. The Asian listing the stereotypes wasn't funny either. It is a film for those who will watch anything grindhouse, even those that don't measure up. Wayne Gretzy's daughter Paulina has a minor role as "the deputy."

Parental Guide: F-bomb, sex, nudity (Heather Roop).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lucky Number Sleven (but in the desert), 22 Feb 2014
This review is from: Guns Girls Gambling [DVD] (DVD)
This film mainly reminded me of (the far superior) ‘Lucky Number Sleven’. I won’t say why, because that might spoil it for you if you watch ‘Guns, Girls and Gambling.’ The two films follow (dare I say a ‘more British’ style?) genre of film where a character gets into trouble with numerous different warring factions (normally gangsters – think Lock Stock, Snatch and Layer Cake) and ends up having to dodge the lot of them and/or pit them against each other in order to come out on top.

Christian Slater’s offering is – sadly – not quite as good as any of those films I’ve mentioned. However, that’s not to say it didn’t have a certain charm. Did I like it? Yes, I did. It kept me entertained for its duration. It’s not the longest of films, but it does have some fun scenes which go a long way to make me stay the distance.

From the title, you can probably tell that it is going to be a little tongue-in-cheek. It could never be played totally straight. There’s plenty of black humour as one assassin murders another, before being offed himself in another gruesome way. There are plenty of characters, all of which get their own ‘freezeframe introduction,’ complete with title. This probably happens a little too often and ceases to be cool pretty soon, especially as most of the characters get killed only a few scenes after they’re introduced. The other downside – in my opinion – is the blonde ‘bombshell’ assassin who spouts poetry before she kills her victims. It’s supposed to be cool, but it just doesn’t work and I found it pretty hard to stand.

You may have noticed Gary Oldman on the cover. That’s about his biggest part in the film. What he does is little more than an extended cameo, but – naturally – he steals every scene he’s in. There are some twists in the story – some you’ll see coming, others may take you by surprise, but by the time the credits roll, you’ll feel satisfied that everything adds up (well, just, but it does more than it doesn’t!).

If you like those sorts of Guy Richie gangster movies, or are just looking for something loud, a bit cheesy and quick, then give this one a go. It’s no classic, but it is entertaining if you set your sights low enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A tarantino wanna be., 30 Jan 2014
This review is from: Guns Girls Gambling [DVD] (DVD)
If I had to pick one fault with this film is that at 85 minutes it's a bit short and rushed through. A decent cast that includes Gary Oldman and Christian Slater do there best in the comedy crime thriller all about the search for a stolen indian mask from a casino.

A couple of twists and turns in the plot help make it worth a look, but the kind of film you almost forget after you finished watching it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 2 Sep 2014
Liked it, the twists and turns were great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good, 12 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Guns Girls Gambling [DVD] (DVD)
Similar to Smokin Aces but with more humour enjoyable movie I wasn't expecting too much but was surprised plenty of twists and turns, recommended as a good watch
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Funny, 4 Feb 2014
This review is from: Guns Girls Gambling [DVD] (DVD)
Good movie, very funny. Some great laugh out loud moments that stand out to me. Slightly short, however each minute was jam packed so the time zoomed by.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars No subtitles, 2 Mar 2014
This review is from: Guns Girls Gambling (DVD)
The info on this title didn't say whether it had subtitles and I thought I'd gamble, seeing that it was a recent film. Imagine my surprise that it didn't have subtitles. Pathetic. Tried to watch it without, understood the plot. I see from some of the reviews that it was supposed to be funny, but I'm afraid I didn't laugh at all, I guess I missed out because I didn't understand a lot of what was being said.

People who make dvds without subtitles should be ashamed of themselves.

I am going to give this a low rating because of the above.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Rubbish, 14 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Guns Girls Gambling [DVD] (DVD)
I knew one should approach a movie like this with tongue firmly in cheek, but even so, the acting is atrocious, the plot weaker than watery soup, and the cinematography exceptionally badly applied.
Would avoid this like the plague.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Guns Girls Gambling [DVD]
Guns Girls Gambling [DVD] by Michael Winnick (DVD - 2014)
7.31
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews