Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply the Most Marvelous Middleweight of all Time!
I ordered this book from Amazon even before it was published & received it only a few days after publication (I was well pleased with Amazon's service). Well, what a fabulous book concerning in my view, the greatest boxer to ever hold the 160 lb world title. I know a fair bit about Marv's career (I saw the fights with Hearns & Mugabe live on t.v. way back in the 1980s), &...
Published 18 months ago by Arjuna Korale

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Missed chapter
Good book, but why miss out a whole chapter on how hagler won the title from minter.
I know there were ugly scenes but this is surely a big part of his story
Published 13 months ago by nick newland


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply the Most Marvelous Middleweight of all Time!, 14 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I ordered this book from Amazon even before it was published & received it only a few days after publication (I was well pleased with Amazon's service). Well, what a fabulous book concerning in my view, the greatest boxer to ever hold the 160 lb world title. I know a fair bit about Marv's career (I saw the fights with Hearns & Mugabe live on t.v. way back in the 1980s), & I have seen (& read about) Marv's world title winning fight & all 12 of his title defences.

However, what I loved about this book is the info regarding Marvin's pre world title career. I loved the chapter regarding how Hagler met up with his famous managers, the Petronelli brothers. There is some good info on his early professional career. I also loved the chapter regarding a time in Marv's life when he took on the best that the legendary fighting city of Philadelphia had to offer - yeah I'm talking about Hagler's fights with "Bad" Bennie Briscoe, Willie "The Worm" Monroe, Bobby "Boogaloo" Watts & Eugene "Cyclone" Hart. These fights & these fighters were, in some respects, tougher/harder than the ones Hagler faced as World Middleweight Champion (& this was a time when Hagler was perhaps at his very best). In time, Hagler cut down each of these formidable Philly middleweights, but I like the fact that the authors do not try to smooth over Hagler's legitimate loss to Willie Monroe (Monroe, unlike Watts, did beat Hagler). Hagler was beaten badly (& beaten up) by Monroe in the first fight & the authors present an accurate account of this fight. It showed that Hagler was human, just like every fighter since the beginning of time & that Marv could be beaten by using clever movement & subtle boxing. It was the same style of boxer, in the form of Duran & Sugar Ray Leonard (both of whom possessed very good movement, quick hands & were "clever" boxers) that went on to give Hagler so much trouble later on his career.

It is an ACCURATE & UNBIASED book in my estimation - the authors have even given Hagler's real height in bare feet, which is great, as I have incorrectly seen him quoted as being as tall as 5 ft 9 & even 5 ft 9.5 inches, which of course is pure fantasy as (apart from Duran & a few others) several of Hagler's opponents towered him! A great book - I advise any casual or specialist fan to buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read, 20 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marvelous: The Marvin Hagler Story (Kindle Edition)
A facinating, insightful & enjoyable book about an extraordinary athlete unappreciated in his time. Arguably Haglers legacy is not fully appreciated - his durability to remain at the pinnacle of one of the worlds toughest professions, for so long at a time of such intense competition - is worthy of acclaim - the book does justice to his story and is a balanced account. It tells us much about the man, his ruthless intensity, his beliefs ,the demons he faced (both in and out of the ring) - and importantly what kept in him the game for so long. For the boxing fan - a must , for the sports fan - a facinating tale, and for those driven just to learn about how an individual can achieve and sustain success for so long - an object lesson. Congratulations to Messrs Hughes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great book, 19 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
great read , one of the greatest fighters ever. author gives a great insight into the fighter, i would reccomend this book to any fight fan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best books written about boxing, 11 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marvelous: The Marvin Hagler Story (Kindle Edition)
Marvin Hagler was a great fighter, however he was a very private person. This book takes an in depth look at this great champion's life. It is far more insightful than most books on boxing. It tries to explain what drove Hagler to be such a successful champion during a golden era of boxing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Marvelous Monster, 25 Oct. 2013
Nostalgia is great. This book brings me back to the era when boxing was exciting and true superstars entered the ring. Hagler v Hearns and Leonard v Duran will always revive memories of Warriors against the artists from which we always admired the Artists for their guile, movement, craft but knew that the Warriors had the heart, courage and power to counter.
This book does not hold back and paints a true picture of how Hagler had to turn into a monster to achieve the ultimate goal. I am not sure if I like Hagler after reading this book but I certainly admire his tunnel vision approach and sacrifice in getting what he dreamed of.
Well done Brian and Damien and I will look forward to the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Marvin HAGLER biography, 8 Mar. 2014
By 
M. PSALTIS - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As a fight fan I like this book. However I am a little dissapointed at the luck of information on the private life of the man who has been a hero of mine since childhood!
I would have liked a little more information on his childhood, his familly relationships etc!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars superb book for boxing fan, 11 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
fantastic book for your die hard boxing fan , especially those who loved the 80's boxing scene. well written. bargin
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome read!, 8 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marvelous: The Marvin Hagler Story (Kindle Edition)
I grew up watching Hagler and it's amazing how much BS he had to put up with in his career. Brian and Damian Hughes captured this to a tee in this book. Well done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Marvelous: The Marvin Hagler Story, 12 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Would have obviously been better if the great man had been involved in the book, but still a good read. Included some interesting insight into his relationships with the other great fighters of that era.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Knock out, 7 Oct. 2013
This book is well written and very in depth on this great fighter.

I enjoyed it immensely and would recommend it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Marvelous: The Marvin Hagler Story
£8.72
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews