Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

2.6 out of 5 stars
76
2.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£4.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 October 2014
I thought this was a well acted and very tense found footage horror film. Willow Creek is essentially The Blair Witch Project but with Bigfoot instead of the witch. It's quite short at around 80 minutes and it's well paced so the time flies by. This is definitely worth renting.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2014
Total rubbish! NOTHING i repeat Nothing happens!!
A horror film????? Ha If a shaky camera in a tent with two actors jumping every time there is noise outside scares you then watch this. And the ending? Dear me what a waste of time. I cant understand the hype over this I ended up fast forwarding it to see if anything would happen. If I could I wouldn’t give it one star. Dross!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2015
This film is very similar to , if not virtually identical, to the format of The Blair Witch Project. Travelling to the area, interviewing and interacting with some of the locals. Then spending the night in the woods encountering a few jumpy shock moments and then getting lost in the woods the day after trying find their car to end up with darkness falling to then encounter big foot which you don't even see but you do see one of his naked victims standing and groaning in the woods. It could have been so much more original than this but unfortunately it just wasn't to be. So it gets a 2 star from me.

Thanks for reading this.

Milesfb
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
A young couple head off to the sunny California and the home of the bigfoot legend, to film a YouTube documentary about the creature. What could possibly go wrong?

I'd ummed and aahed about renting this (despite being so cheap on AIV), due to all the negative reviews. After been bitten by the bigfoot bug, though, through watching the atmospheric "Exists" (and having already exhausted all the other found footage horrors--as well as many of the documentaries available on YT), I decided to give it a try and I'm glad that I did.

Perhaps it's as I had such low expectations, but I thought it was really good and fairly original (at least compared to similar movies). Firstly the two characters are actually likeable. They're not moody or sulky, just out in Bigfoot country telling jokes and having a laugh and they seem to have a genuine chemistry between them. They just seem normal and don't overact like a lot do in this genre.

Secondly the setting is perfect for this type of film. It's filmed on location in Willow Creek (home of the original Patterson footage, the giant (redwood?) trees and sunlit locations are a refreshing change to the dreary Blair Witch type backwoods locales and it adds stacks to the bigfoot atmosphere.

People are complaining because of the tent scene (around 20 minutes where the camera doesn't move and it's just the characters hearing noises and jumping). Whilst the previous sentence is completely true, this is by no means two people simply saying "What was that noise?". I thought it was excellently acted and directed (a masterclass in tension building) and had me totally on the edge of my seat (biting my fingernails by the end!). I won't give anything away, but it is very realistic, unnerving and quite chilling. It has been a very long time since a film managed to captivate me totally for such a length of time. Make sure you turn the sound up at this point, you will experience everything the characters do!

It does have a slightly iffy ending, but I was just happy to enjoy it for what it was. As well as the tent scene there are also excellent sound effects later (and you do feel they are out there with a very large and dangerous animal, even if you don't really see it--possibly much scarier than if you do). It's by no means perfect, but it's highly atmospheric, well-acted and shot and is definitely worth watching if you like this sort of thing.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2014
Jim and his girlfriend Kelly are visiting Willow Creek, the home of Bigfoot.

It was there that the legendary beast was captured on film Keen to explore more than 50 years of folklore, and hoaxes, Kelly goes along to keep Jim happy, whilst he is determined to prove the story is real by capturing the Bigfoot on camera.

Deep in woods, isolated from human contact, neither Kelly or Jim are prepared for what is hidden between the trees, and what happens when the cameras start rolling.....

To sum the film up primarily, it's The Blair Witch Project with Bigfoot, but not a member of the Henderson Family in sight.

Its nothing you've never seen before, the found footage sub genre has been milked within an inch of its sixteen year life, but every now and again there are a couple of exceptions to the genre.

Exhibit A, Crowsnest, The Borderlands and the V/H/S movies are standouts, but as said before, you have to trawl through a lot of garbage to find the truffles.

And for the first half an hour, you are thinking to yourself, what on earth was Goldthwaite on when he wrote this? Here is a man who is responsible for some very diverse and controversial movies, and here it's looking like he's sold out, but once the film goes into the woods, you appreciate the references and connotations made earlier, thus foreshadowing the couples future.

Its funny and most of all, the last half an hour is genuinely scary and unnerving.

It's as if the Foley artist is having a party in his offence, because there are so many eerie noises and distractions, it almost verges on parody.

All in all, its good, but its an uphill struggle to get there, but once the night falls, sit back and enjoy the scares.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2015
The ending is so incredibly annoying it wipes out all the decent tension building & scene setting that came before it.
I feel robbed of my time :) and so angry I chose to watch it before reading reviews. Do not make the same mistake as me unless you love disappointing unsatisfactory endings
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2014
Low budget - Blair Witch/Bigfoot investigation. Couple go to famous Bluff Creek where the Patterson/Gimlin footage was taken in 1967. They talk to several local people about their experiences and then head to the forest where they encounter rednecks, weird noises and a naked woman but no Bigfoot and find out they have no sense of direction or a compass on them. Average at best.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2015
Starts off quite slow, as these types of hand held camera films usually do, but once they get to the woods, things start progress a little quicker. The whole tent scene is particularly chilling. It was enough to give my girlfriend nightmares.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2015
Never seen such load of dribble pathetic acting , couple sitting in a tent , on with the light off with the light on with light , shaking at the
Slightest noise from the woods . Why on earth was such a load of trash ever made
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 October 2015
The found-footage style and the premise of a couple going on a fun trip to look for Bigfoot only to apparently find what they're looking for should work OK. And I did enjoy most of the film - the couple never irritated me, although the guy could have done much better "I am scared" faces. You never know what it is there in the woods with the couple throughout the film, which is quite effective. Anyway, for me the whole thing was ruined by the very abrupt ending, which I also did not understand at all. Nothing ruins a film quite like not getting it. And having searched online, I am not the only one. Once you know, then, yes, it's a sufficiently satisfying end - but it's just not the same if someone has to tell you! The problem is that the director uses a particular story from the Bigfoot mythology which I had zero knowledge of (I didn't even get the Wikipedia summary of the plot!!), and which is not referenced whatsoever in the lead-up, however in passing. Yes, I made the connection between what you see at the end and one tiny scene at the start - but it still meant nothing without knowing this "key" to unlock the story. If you get it, then it is more of a solid three-star film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£2.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)