Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars44
4.3 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 December 2013
I really enjoyed this book. It showed a different side to the Elizabeth and Dudley relationship than I've found in other historical fiction novels dealing with the same subject matter. There were some romantic moments, but thankfully not too many and not done in a romance novel, soppy kind of way. In fact, although Elizabeth can't be ignored when talking about Dudley, this story really is more about the life of the man, rather than an Elizabeth and Robert love story, and all the better for it, in my opinion. You get to see a lot more of the Dudley family, particularly his father, and the power struggles at court. I found I could understand and sympathise with Dudley's ambition, and the problems with being a favourite to a virgin queen.

Well written, and a good read.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2014
This is a very simply written novel about Queen Elizabeth 1 and Robert Dudley, Earl of Essex. Although I quite enjoyed reading it I would have liked more description of the court and times and to have felt that I was there with them rather than viewing the action from afar. It could, in many ways have been set in any century and place. Historically, as far as I know it is fairly correct. There were a couple of incidents that I felt were suspect but it was a novel!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2014
An enjoyable read. Occasionally I thought there was too much circumstantial information that I would have edited. More Content relating to the Netherlands issues and relationship with Spain would have strengthened the historical context.

Will read the next novel with interest.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2014
I haven't enjoyed a book so much in such a long time. It was such a good read. It give you history without getting bogged down in the details. You could picture the Times and people it was so nicely written. Thank you for a good read
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2014
I found this a very interesting book. It told quite a lot of tudor history in a well written story. I sometimes found the varios characters hard to keep up with and kept having to look back to see who was who but even so it was a good read
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2015
I gave up reading this halfway through, as I could not get to grips with the writing style. This book must be 90% dialogue! Apart from a place name and date at the start of each chapter, there is no attempt to set the scene. It read more like a script for a radio play than a novel. This would be bad enough in a contemporary setting, but if the reader is to relate to the medieval setting then surely some description is needed? The lack of description also meant that I had no understanding of the characters, and just found them all annoying.
If you enjoy beautiful, evocative description that transports you to a world centuries past - this is not the book for you (try the crime thrillers by CB Hanley instead).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2014
A real insight as to how the children of Henry VIII grew up with the Dudley's family, which is an area not often covered or written so well, Laura Dowers really makes you feel as you are there, not reading a book
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 December 2013
An interesting take on Robert Dudley and the relationship with Elizabeth Tudor. Easy to read and well written. I’d recommend this book.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2014
A very enjoyable read. Not sure that Robert Dudley was as pure as the author paints him, but very readable for all that. Look forward to her next book on the Tudors
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2015
I really enjoyed this book and am pleased to find a new author. I adore Tudor History and have always been intrigued about the relationship between Dudley and Elizabeth. This book is particularly good as it does focus on the Dudley family - not on the Queen. The story is carried forwarded mainly through the dialogue between the main characters and I found it flowed beautifully. Its sympathetic to Dudley - as am I ! - and portrays him as a three dimensional character. Would recommend to those who enjoy authors like Alison Weir and Philippa Gregory
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse