Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great kindle read for only 77p
Great book for those starting out and them that live near broken scar, good info that I will go back to a lot
Published 6 months ago by mr c bewick

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Avoid!
This is a sorry excuse for a fishing diary. Poor photographs of badly tied flies that don't even vaguely resemble the North Country Spiders alluded to in the title. A few lines about which fly worked on a certain day, what the weather was like, what if anything was caught. Repeated ad nauseam. Poor angling, poor writing and poor photography. Spend your hard-earned 77p...
Published 6 months ago by SharkeyP


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great kindle read for only 77p, 26 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Year of the Spider (Kindle Edition)
Great book for those starting out and them that live near broken scar, good info that I will go back to a lot
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting Book, 12 Feb 2014
By 
Ra Airey - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Year of the Spider (Kindle Edition)
I'm from Darlington and enjoy fly fishing although I've never tried a fly on the Tees. The book opened my eyes to how simple fly fishing can be on a river.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My local river, 20 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Year of the Spider (Kindle Edition)
An interesting read, as a Fly fisher it
Gives an insight into the pleasure &
frustrationsof a years fishing.
I would recommend this to others !!! *****
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exellent, 3 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Year of the Spider (Kindle Edition)
A great read for the beginner or seasoned hand.
A Christmas surprise which has been read twice and will come back too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Avoid!, 12 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Year of the Spider (Kindle Edition)
This is a sorry excuse for a fishing diary. Poor photographs of badly tied flies that don't even vaguely resemble the North Country Spiders alluded to in the title. A few lines about which fly worked on a certain day, what the weather was like, what if anything was caught. Repeated ad nauseam. Poor angling, poor writing and poor photography. Spend your hard-earned 77p somewhere else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Probably the worst fishing book I have ever read., 8 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Year of the Spider (Kindle Edition)
Thank god it was only 77p. A more dreary book I have yet to read. Absolute and total rubbish. Don't waste your money!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very poor, 12 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Year of the Spider (Kindle Edition)
Personally I did not enjoy this book, I found the writing to be poor and repetitive. I had bought the book hoping to learn something new of the flies and technique of spider fishing. There was no edifying information on either aspect that I found within the book, instead it was a dreary account of a years fishing by a seemingly novice angler. Not even the fishing was well described, nor did it inspire me to get out on the river.
The book comes with photographs of the flies used but they are poorly tied and not true to the spider style in terms of hackle/body/hook proportions. Not only that, the images of the flies and the river fished that illustrate the book were poorly shot and edited. While the concept was interesting, the actuality was far from that - a real shame as the subject is well deserving of a good book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Year of the Spider
Year of the Spider by Philip Storey
2.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews