Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars its super cool
I like that Asus managed to make the perfect pc for ever day living. You can do all your work and even play decent games on it. Don't like the track pad so much, and also that it only has 2 usb ports.
Published 9 months ago by Nchimunya

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Read this review 100 times and your laptop may have booted.
*Beware* This item is currently being sold by Asus for over £1700! I purchased this item from another retailer on Amazon last December and it was only £380. Unsure if they have their wires crossed but I wouldn't pay £80 for this machine. I am in the process of returning the laptop, which is how I noticed the price discrepancy. The system is sloooow. The specs should be...
Published 26 days ago by Chris


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars its super cool, 11 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ASUS X552CL-SX037H 15.6-inch Laptop (Intel Core i3-3217U 1.8GHz Processor, 6GB DDR3, 500GB HDD, DVD-RW, NVIDIA Geforce GT710M, Windows 8) (Personal Computers)
I like that Asus managed to make the perfect pc for ever day living. You can do all your work and even play decent games on it. Don't like the track pad so much, and also that it only has 2 usb ports.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It actually plays minecraft☺, 27 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ASUS X552CL-SX037H 15.6-inch Laptop (Intel Core i3-3217U 1.8GHz Processor, 6GB DDR3, 500GB HDD, DVD-RW, NVIDIA Geforce GT710M, Windows 8) (Personal Computers)
Had a tough job finding a laptop for my boy that could not only be used for school work but also for gaming, more specifically minecraft. Most retailer were recommending I spend 5/600 plus but I found this item recommended on a forum and it does everything we want it to. Top notch laptop and first class delivery. Hope this helps somebody.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty Decent Machine, 8 July 2014
This review is from: ASUS X552CL-SX037H 15.6-inch Laptop (Intel Core i3-3217U 1.8GHz Processor, 6GB DDR3, 500GB HDD, DVD-RW, NVIDIA Geforce GT710M, Windows 8) (Personal Computers)
This is a pretty decent laptop and does all that I have asked of it so far. The graphics card plays FM14 and other graphic intensive games pretty well and generally copes with HD media playback fine. Windows 8 is horrible and the free 8.1 upgrade is better, but not a lot. You soon learn to work around its issues and just use the "desktop" that we all know and love. As other people have said, the touch pad mouse is terrible and is by far the worst I have ever used on a laptop. Its far too sensitive but just connect a wireless mouse and the problem goes away. Thats the only reason this is a 4 star review and not a 5 star review. Other than that, this is a great laptop for the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Powerful, well built, discrete graphics, 17 Mar. 2015
This review is from: ASUS X552CL-SX037H 15.6-inch Laptop (Intel Core i3-3217U 1.8GHz Processor, 6GB DDR3, 500GB HDD, DVD-RW, NVIDIA Geforce GT710M, Windows 8) (Personal Computers)
There are several features that set this laptop apart from the plethora of available choices.

It has a discreet graphics card, meaning the main processor is not burdened by such duties. In the Nvidia software, you can elect to use the graphics either 'when required' (default), or 'always' (optional), which is probably worth doing if it is used as a desktop replacement.

It has an 'ice cool' palm rest, that doesn't get overly hot when the laptop is running.

The sound is really good, it uses its own chassis as a 'chamber', and has really good acoustics.

Other than that, the i3 processor with 6GB RAM, means it will tackle most tasks with ease. The screen is a bit glossy, but it's fairly sharp and clear, with a 1,366 x 768 resolution on a TN panel. The Ethernet is only 10/100, but most people will only ever use WI-FI anyway. The only thing that I can, and will change, is to swap the hard drive for a solid state drive (SSD), which will really speed up the only bottleneck on this system. (mSata is provided).

A great laptop, that will suffice as a desktop replacement, and manage some light gaming.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Windows 8 is a pain in the ass, ..., 21 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ASUS X552CL-SX037H 15.6-inch Laptop (Intel Core i3-3217U 1.8GHz Processor, 6GB DDR3, 500GB HDD, DVD-RW, NVIDIA Geforce GT710M, Windows 8) (Personal Computers)
The Windows 8 is a pain in the ass, but the laptop itself functions perfectly well for my uses. I mostly use it for writing and playing games, and I've yet to encounter any issues, after 6 months of ownership.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great laptop, but a tad heavy!, 12 May 2015
This review is from: ASUS X552CL-SX037H 15.6-inch Laptop (Intel Core i3-3217U 1.8GHz Processor, 6GB DDR3, 500GB HDD, DVD-RW, NVIDIA Geforce GT710M, Windows 8) (Personal Computers)
Very good laptop! For the price (Around £350 when I bought), it genuienly does anything you want! The keyboard takes a bit of getting used to, but it is really good to use once you do. It's not 5* because sometimes the computer can freeze and crash at times when I'm running various programmes at once.

Completely flawless using photoshop and would be more than adequate with any games that you need to play.

For day to day use, it's amazing, although a bit on the heavy side, so I'd personally fork out an extra £50 for an ACER Aspire V3-371 if you want something portable. Overall, I'm definitely happy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Read this review 100 times and your laptop may have booted., 2 July 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ASUS X552CL-SX037H 15.6-inch Laptop (Intel Core i3-3217U 1.8GHz Processor, 6GB DDR3, 500GB HDD, DVD-RW, NVIDIA Geforce GT710M, Windows 8) (Personal Computers)
*Beware* This item is currently being sold by Asus for over £1700! I purchased this item from another retailer on Amazon last December and it was only £380. Unsure if they have their wires crossed but I wouldn't pay £80 for this machine. I am in the process of returning the laptop, which is how I noticed the price discrepancy. The system is sloooow. The specs should be more than adequate for a bit of surfing and a few games. I could cook a Sunday roast in the time it takes to process some functions. Very poor and not what I would expect from the spec on this kit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Who are Smart Electroics?, 4 Jun. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this from Smart Electronics 1 month out of warranty wont start up. Amazon don't want know. I have no address for smart electronics and they are not responding other than to say it's out of warranty. Manufacturers want £45.00 just to collect it and heaven only knows how much to repair it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good all rounder and great for minecraft, 16 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ASUS X552CL-SX037H 15.6-inch Laptop (Intel Core i3-3217U 1.8GHz Processor, 6GB DDR3, 500GB HDD, DVD-RW, NVIDIA Geforce GT710M, Windows 8) (Personal Computers)
Just what we wanted! Good all rounder and great for minecraft!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good value and ease of use., 9 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I .loved the easy to understand set up and the speed of start up. It does everything I want simply and efficiently
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews