Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Music of the civil war country bluegrass style ......excellent, 27 Dec 2013
By 
Musicfan (Somerset, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have long been a collector of albums about the American civil war and some are better than others.This is better than most and is a 2 CD collection of largely acoustic country or bluegrass music. The musicianship is of a very high standard. The songs mostly standards have new life breathed into them. Perhaps one or 2 of the songs don't quite work or fit in with the other tracks but they are not bad and worth a listen. Difficult to pick out the highlights as there are so many.....Loretta Lynn sets the standard with a great opening track. Jamey Johnson, Steve Earle, Dolly Parton and lesser known acts set an incredibly high standard. If you like bluegrass, Americana, or just great country music or just music with substance this is a really great listen. One of the best civil war collections, if not the best. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A treat!, 2 Dec 2013
By 
Philip Rundall (Cambridge U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having recently been reading a great deal about the Civil War and being also a guitar student of Bryan Sutton's (who has a lot to do with this project), I was attracted to this double cd. I really like it for it's variety, historical interest, wonderful musicianship and recording quality. I recommend it to anyone interested in American folk music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great collection, 23 Feb 2014
By 
K. Cowin - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love this cd - some unusual renditions of well known songs and a great artist list. It made me want to find out more about the American Civil War.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely album, 13 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Lovely album, sensitively done. The songs are very evocative and the familiar ones - like 'Dixie' - are given specially moving treatments.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent., 2 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Divided & United: the Songs of the Civil War (MP3 Download)
I love this. The album was only downloaded this morning and it usually takes me a long time to get used to new things, but I am already glued to it. Good music, well-performed and historical interest. Some fast and cheerful pieces, some slow and sad, a few that seem particularly appropriate to dance to. A few new slants on well-known works that nevertheless seem to preserve the original spirit. Perfect for oldies such as myself, who like American folk songs with meaningful lyrics. The price on here was also less than that I have seen charged elsewhere in the UK. Potential purchasers can listen to samples and make their own selection, by following the Amazon mp3 link.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars and my favourite cd, so far, 22 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A real treat, and my favourite cd ,so far, this year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Divided and United, 25 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great album, likely to take the listener in different directions as new performers appear.

Stimulating and historically interesting.

Worthy purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 21 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
there are some tracks that i fast forward,but there are some that are excellent nameley,vacant chair and beautiful dreamer which makes the hairs on my the back of my head stand up
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews