Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent survey
I want to start this review with a tiny quibble. CD 1 is an excellent model of what I would have liked all the cardboard sleeves to be like - each piece catalogued with H number and Wq number and a date of composition so that I could fit it into what I knew of C.P. E Bach's life. There are 33 pieces of his work from early to late with one appearing twice. (Sinfonia in C...
Published 6 months ago by Andrew C. Mitchell

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An interesting collection of CPE Bach's works
Variable recordings. The best are the chamber music and the recording by the Freiburg Baroque orchestra The 1966 Magnificat is still worth hearing for Maureen Lehane's singing.
Published 5 months ago by andrew wall


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent survey, 3 Mar 2014
By 
Andrew C. Mitchell (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: C.p.e. Bach Edition (Audio CD)
I want to start this review with a tiny quibble. CD 1 is an excellent model of what I would have liked all the cardboard sleeves to be like - each piece catalogued with H number and Wq number and a date of composition so that I could fit it into what I knew of C.P. E Bach's life. There are 33 pieces of his work from early to late with one appearing twice. (Sinfonia in C on both CD 4 and 6). I knew that C.P.E. Bach was one of the great keyboard players of the 18th century. CD 1 has some excellent work by Andreas Staier playing harpsichord from the earlier years of C.P.E's life, and fortepiano from the last years. On the harpsichord I paritcularly like the 12 variations on La Folie d'Espagne, on the fortepiano the Freye Fantasie in F sharp minor revealing his 'sensitive style'. CD's 4 and 5 have Organ Sonatas and Concertos from the 1750s during his time in Berlin at the Court of King Frederick of Prussia. CD 7 has some of his earlier chamber works showing the influence of his father, J.S.Bach. There is some lovely flute playing on this CD. The concertos from the decades of his composing life are distributed throughout the CDs. From the 1740s comes the Concerto in F for 2 harpsichords (CD 3), from 1750s come a Cello Concerto (CD 8) and two Organ Concertos (CD 4), from 1760s a Sonatina for 2 harpsichords and orchestra,(CD 3), and an Oboe Concerto in E flat (CD 6), from the 1770s a Harpsichord Concerto in C minor, and from the last year of his life a wonderful Double Concerto for Harpsichord and Fortepiano. There are three Sinfonias from 1773 during his Hamburg years on CD 6. There is great dynamic energy and excellent playing from the Freiburger Barockorchester under the direction of Thomas Hengelbrock. But I have saved commenting on the best till last. There is a tremendous Magnificat from 1749 (revised later in life). (CD 8) On CDs 9 and 10 there is trully great Oratorio- Passion Music 'The Last Sufferings of the Saviour' - tender arias and recitatives and powerful choral singing. CD 2 has some lovely chamber music dated from 1788 and played by Les Adieux. I would love to know why the works are called Quartets and seem to be played just by fortepiano, flute and viola.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't miss this superb bargain., 28 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: C.p.e. Bach Edition (Audio CD)
This box set of 10 quality discs is an absolute bargain. CPE Bach is an intriguing composer and is never boring or predictable. The vast majority of the recordings are top class and I have found all of them to be rewarding to listen to. Some are outstanding e.g. Staier's sonatas. Unless you are allergic to the harpsichord you will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CPE Bach collection, 10 Mar 2014
By 
Mr. D. K. Martin (Ashford, Kent, UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: C.p.e. Bach Edition (Audio CD)
Excellent value for money.Unfortunately I already owned a number of the recordings collected over the years but if you are "new" to CPE Bach .....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bargain box set of CPE Bach, 'the Sentimental Rebel', 19 Feb 2014
By 
Noverre to go (Norwich, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: C.p.e. Bach Edition (Audio CD)
10 CD's of top-quality recordings and performances of music by the second eldest, and easily the most gifted of JS Bach's composer sons, released to celebrate the tercentenary year of the birth of Carl Philip Emmanuel Bach (1714-88).

Get with the programme and informed upon this vastly-under-rated composer. Includes some rarely recorded works such as the sublime Cantata 'The Last Sufferings of Christ' just about worth it for this double disc alone, as well as Organ, harpsichord, oboe concerto's as well as instrumental and chamber music.

I like CPE Bach being marketed as 'the Sentimental Rebel' it's a fitting description of his transitional music, somewhere between late baroque, classical and even early Romanticism in its advocacy of 'Empfindsamkeit' or sensitive style.
Mozart's utterance upon CPE Bach, is indicative for his high status in music "He's the father, we're the boys. Everybody who has accomplished something has learned from him."
Ten discs by top German musicians and chamber orchestras, precision rich recordings, all for the price of one full-price disc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great value, 25 April 2014
By 
Lance Edwards (derbyshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: C.p.e. Bach Edition (Audio CD)
great value box set with almost all worthwhile music in good to excellent performances and adequate to very good recording quality - CPE Bach has risen even further in my estimation since I purchased this - thanks previous reviewers!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Rococo, 16 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: C.p.e. Bach Edition (Audio CD)
There is so much, and such a great survey of his works, that the best way to listen to this set is to limit yourself to 1 or 2 discs at a time. I nearly overdosed trying to go from disc 1 to 10 in a row. There are some real gems like the Quartet No.1 in a minor and the organ concertos were a surprise. When the keyboard sonatas switched from harpsichord to period piano, I could hear the link to Haydn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant selection ......, 23 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: C.p.e. Bach Edition (Audio CD)
... that makes you realise how overlooked CPE is as a composer and the "link" between the baroque and the classical period.

Would recommend this to anyone
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful music., 29 Mar 2014
By 
W. Seale (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: C.p.e. Bach Edition (Audio CD)
I bought this collection because I heard on the radio that C.P.E. Bach was more popular than his father. My curiosity paid off as it is very enjoyable. Well performed & exceptionally good value. Relax and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A first-rate bargain!, 10 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: C.p.e. Bach Edition (Audio CD)
This is an absolutely first-class compilation of various works by CPE Bach - which, at the price offered by Amazon, is incredible. Delivery was prompt and efficient and generally excellent; I cannot recommend this item highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An interesting collection of CPE Bach's works, 26 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: C.p.e. Bach Edition (Audio CD)
Variable recordings. The best are the chamber music and the recording by the Freiburg Baroque orchestra The 1966 Magnificat is still worth hearing for Maureen Lehane's singing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

C.p.e. Bach Edition
C.p.e. Bach Edition by Various (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews