Customer Reviews


8 Reviews

4 star
0

3 star
0

2 star
0

1 star
0

 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great little motherboard, tried ESXi and Ubuntu server, 26 Jan. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gigabyte GA-C1037UN-EU Motherboard Intel Mini ITX Socket FCBGA1023 (Personal Computers)
I bought this board and put it into an Antec ISK 110 VESA case, a Kingston KVR16N11K2/16 16GB 1600MHz CL11 DDR3 ValueRAM Memory Kit and a SEAGATE ST1000LM014 Laptop (1TB) Solid State Hybrid Drive, all via Amazon. It took me about 30 mins to build the system, half of which was scratching my head over how to get the board into the case and how to route the cables properly.

First of all, you won't find the Realtek LAN described in any documentation, but it's RTL8111/8168B, as reported by Ubuntu.

I bought the parts described to build a dead quiet server that I can keep running constantly with little power use, to add to my power-hungry and noisy virtualisation lab, and everything is working fine.

At the moment it's running VMware ESXi 5.5 (ISO must be patched using "ESXI Customiser" to add the Realtek driver .vim file) with a couple of VMs (Windows 2012 AD server for example). If you're thinking of running Ubuntu that works a charm as well with this board.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good motherboard for a Linux server running Zoneminder., 17 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gigabyte GA-C1037UN-EU Motherboard Intel Mini ITX Socket FCBGA1023 (Personal Computers)
Using this motherboard with 8GB of memory for an Ubuntu Linux 12.04 Server running Zoneminder security system. I have attached two 500GB 3.5inch hard drives and a DVD drive so all SATA ports used up. It would have been better with four or five SATA3 ports. My power supply is Pico 90W unit with a 60W power brick and the full system is drawing about 38W under load.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Results from PFSense build, 13 July 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gigabyte GA-C1037UN-EU Motherboard Intel Mini ITX Socket FCBGA1023 (Personal Computers)
OK had this about a week now for a PFsence build, as retiring my flagging RT-N66U to be an access point only. Bought with Sharkoon mini itx case, CT25664BA160 2gb ram , Silence 50w Black Edition psu and mugged an old 360 20gb hard drive to complete build. Sharkoon case has no dvd drive space so did use ext for booting ISO's.

Board is great has 2 Lan ports which are needed for this build, the dual core Celeron easily copes with the 25+ connected devices with oodles of room to spare, CPU running at 7% with PFsence and squid loaded. Ram running at 11% so easily coping with the task at hand. running no additional fans other than whats in the PSU as is a silent build and temp is stable at about 28%

On a down side it will miss booting to the post screen and can be annoying during setup. this could be a VGA thing but have not tested if it happens on the HDMI port.

On an up side the bios is clear and simple to use and has more toys than Santa, so you feel like you get your monies worth even if it is just a Celeron.

So to sum up great little board with some great options for the price, no gamer board, but horses for courses and does everything i wanted.

PS the memory is not listed on gigabytes site but i dont seem to be having any issues.

My ping is down and my already good internet connection has shown a marked speed improvement even topping 80mbps (im still looking into the validity of this as i thought capped) but these are results from BT speed test themselves will re post if can get image.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great low power Windows Home Server (WHS), 20 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gigabyte GA-C1037UN-EU Motherboard Intel Mini ITX Socket FCBGA1023 (Personal Computers)
Wanted to build an always on server using a low power CPU. This fitted the bill with the CPU having a TDP of only 17 watts. New server been running for 3 weeks now. Totally stable and fast having network access speeds of 105MB/s via a gigabyte network.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Runs Ubuntu 14.04 like a dream! But current photo is of a version of the board with ATA-133 support that is no longer available, 1 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gigabyte GA-C1037UN-EU Motherboard Intel Mini ITX Socket FCBGA1023 (Personal Computers)
Runs Ubuntu 14.04 like a dream... No driver uses. No installation issues. The built-in graphics are easily powerful enough to display HD video, including Flash video from services such as the BBC iplayer. It is also powerful enough to run Windows XP in a virtual machine for backwards compatibility to legacy software (The CPU supports virtualisation extensions). For Linux at least, there is probably little point having more computing power for office and amateur photography. I used it with a Seagate 500 GB 2.5 inch SSHD - very fast and almost silent.

Only one gripe - I received the "Revision 2.0" version of this product which lacks the ATA-133/IDE interface of the "Revision 1.0" version currently shown in the picture. I had to purchase a new SATA DVD drive rather than recycle an old parallel interface drive as I had planned. Gigabyte have also removed the ATA-133 socket on the version of this board with active cooling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great board for home firewall, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gigabyte GA-C1037UN-EU Motherboard Intel Mini ITX Socket FCBGA1023 (Personal Computers)
Great Little board I am using it to run my home built firewall and its working brilliantly fits in my miniATX case also bought on amazon along with the picoPSU.
I am using it with Sophos UTM brilliant combination.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This board did the job fine, the Celeron based on an Ivy bridge chip ..., 10 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gigabyte GA-C1037UN-EU Motherboard Intel Mini ITX Socket FCBGA1023 (Personal Computers)
Needed a replacement mini itx board for a failed SFF pc. This board did the job fine, the Celeron based on an Ivy bridge chip which means it's fast and runs cool - far better than an Atom/AMD based option
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect as firewall, 31 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gigabyte GA-C1037UN-EU Motherboard Intel Mini ITX Socket FCBGA1023 (Personal Computers)
I have installed Untangle as my personal firewall on this computer. I have added 240GB HD and 8 GB Ram and it's running perfectly. No noice at all and a lot of free cpu power.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Gigabyte GA-C1037UN-EU Motherboard Intel Mini ITX Socket FCBGA1023
£68.39
In stock on August 1, 2015
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews