Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars46
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£16.31+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 March 2014
I saw this band twice while they existed. They appeared twice on the German TV show and this is sort of those episodes. I say sort of, because the band played four songs and decided they hadn't played three of them well enough. I assume the broadcast programme only used the re-played versions of those songs (which weren't done THAT badly anyway). However, it is interesting to see what Streetwalker's consider substandard, and the rest some good seventies rock music.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2012
Would have wanted it years ago but now its here its great to see the late great alongside the master. Check out Hunters website for details of the 2012 uk tour.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2012
just recieved this from the states,it is brilliant!the sound,the images,the gig,first class,if youve owned "welcome to the club"you,ll love this,to see them perform live is awesome,the band is tight,ian on top form,and to see mick play ,fantastic,dont wanna gush to much,but just go and buy this,you wont be dissapointed,make your,e kids sit and watch,then they can go and burn all the crap they,ve been listening to.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2016
It seems all the reviews for this Rockpalast series are being lumped together , so this is specifically for the Paul Brady release.
Lets get a few elephants out of the room.
This was recorded in the 80`s for a TV programme, as such audio and visual quality needs to be judged in that context.
People complaining about buzz and noise and the often predictable winge of "cant modern technology do something about this"
Yes, to an extent but you end up losing a large amount of the original audio quality if you EQ too muc out, and you cant make a purse out of a pigs ear, so if the original is degraded you are limited with your source material.
Given that this is , what it is, is it worth buying?
At 16 quid...nope, but 11 quid, yes so look for other amazon sellers.
I saw Paul Brady a number of times in the 1980`s in Belfast with his band and acoustically.
This takes me back to that time and this performance captures the Paul Brady I remember - his first solo album Hard Station is still one of my all time favourites.
So, great performance with a superb band.
Audio and video have some issues , but take at face value if you can ignore some of the quality and treat it like a decent quality bootleg, then you will not be upset at your purchase.
If you expect 21st century bluray audio and video, you will feel cheated.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2014
For some reason, when you search for this you keep getting sent to the "ROCKPILE Live At Rockpalast" page! I've informed Amazon so hopefully they'll straighten this out. The only way I found this was searching the product code (ASIN: B00GOA297C) taken from the UK site. That said, here's the lowdown on this great release:

If you're a STREETWALKERS fan and thought you were thrilled with the recent Rip It Up At The Rainbow and Rip It Up At The Demontfort live releases, get ready to faint, Germany's great Repertoire Records has released STREETWALKERS "Live At Rockpalast," a 2CD and DVD (!) set with a 1975 show with original bassist Jonathan Plotel and future Iron Maiden man Nicko McBrain on drums. Both were in the band when they recorded what I feel were their strongest albums, "Downtown Flyers" and the stunning "Red Card." The 1977 show has Michael Feat on bass and David Dowle on drums, along with keyboardist Brian Johnstone (the latter two later joined WHITESNAKE). Some clips from these shows have been on YouTube for a while. I have similar sets from Repertoire featuring CLIMAX BLUES BAND and MICKEY JUPP, and the quality of both is excellent, but they only have a single concert apiece. The STREETWALKERS set is an embarrassment of riches in comparison! Here's the track listings:

DVD: (2 shows on one disc).
Show 1: Chapman-Whitney Streetwalkers - Live At Rockpalast (WDR-Studio L, Köln, 25.03.1975):
01. Downtown Flyers
02. Walking On Waters
03. Tokyo Rose
04. Hangman
05. Toenail Draggin'
06. My Friend The Sun
07. Crawfish
08. Burn It Down
09. Burlesque
Show 2: Streetwalkers - Live At Rockpalast (WDR-Studio L, Köln, 19.04.1977)
The `first take' set:
01. Intro
02. Toenail Draggin'
03. Mama Was Mad
04. Chili Con Carne
05. Me An' Me Horse An' Me Rum
06. Dice Man
The `second take' set:
07. Toenail Draggin'
08. Mama Was Mad
09. Me An' Me Horse An' Me Rum
10. Crazy Charade
11. Run For Cover
12. Burlesque
13. Can't Come In
CD1:
01. Downtown Flyers
02. Walking On Waters
03. Tokyo Rose
04. Hangman
05. Toenail Draggin'
06. My Friend The Sun
07. Crawfish
08. Burn It Down
09. Burlesque
Tracks 1-9 from Chapman-Whitney Streetwalkers - Live At Rockpalast (WDR-Studio L, Köln, 25.03.1975)
CD2:
The `first take' set:
01. Toenail Draggin'
02. Mama Was Mad
03. Chili Con Carne
04. Dice Man
The `second take' set:
05. Toenail Draggin'
06. Mama Was Mad
07. Me An' Me Horse An' Me Rum
08. Crazy Charade
09. Run For Cover
10. Burlesque
11. Can't Come In
Tracks 1-12 from Streetwalkers - Live At Rockpalast (WDR-Studio L, Köln, 19.04.1977)

It comes in a nice slipcased digipak with a booklet. The sound and picture is as good as it gets for it's age. There are some clips on YouTube that you can check out. Stop your toenail draggin' and down your rum, jump on your horse and buy this immediately......

Other essential STREETWALKERS releases: First Cut (Rare 1st album, more of a Chapman/Whitney duet release), Downtown Flyers (1st official band album), Red Card (German Repeetoire release of 2nd album with bonus track), BBC Radio 1 in Concert (6 tracks from OGWT and Paris Theatre), Red Card/Vicious But Fair (2nd & 3rd albums), Live (CD of original 2LP set).
44 comments|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2012
fantastic dvd, rock at its best, fantastic seeing mick ronson playing great guitar, and the voice of hunter ,was made for rock n roll, truely brilliant
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2016
Quick delivery and arrived same time as Rp live in montreaux. This cd in comparison is a rough recording and sounds like a bootleg cassette. There is no 'thud' to the sound which in my opinion is essential to the enjoyment of this band. Nontheless this an enjoyable nostalgic trip back to my younger days and I'm glad that I made the purchase. As Lowe says at the start you might not be able to dance, but i have a feeling you'll have a good time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2014
I really recommend this cd/dvd!!!!II arrived on time & is a rare glimse of a classic line-up!Go and get it!!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2014
another great show from this series dr feelgood at there rockin best
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2015
not the best sound quality on the DVD, CD is ok
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)