Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Suddenly I'm a Believer!
Elvis at his best? A peak vocal performance? Well quite probably. It is well known and documented by now that after leaving the army Presley wanted to get back to his recording career as soon as possible whilst also pursuing a film career where he hoped to become another Marlon Brando, his screen idol. Having just recorded the album Elvis Is Back he pursuaded RCA to let...
Published on 16 Mar 2010 by L J Thomson

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
had better
Published 5 months ago by joyjoy


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Suddenly I'm a Believer!, 16 Mar 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: His Hand in Mine (Audio CD)
Elvis at his best? A peak vocal performance? Well quite probably. It is well known and documented by now that after leaving the army Presley wanted to get back to his recording career as soon as possible whilst also pursuing a film career where he hoped to become another Marlon Brando, his screen idol. Having just recorded the album Elvis Is Back he pursuaded RCA to let him record a full album of gospel songs, something of a favourite of his mother's.

This album is the result of an all-night recording session during 1960. And it is simply brilliant. Working with little more than a gospel quartet, piano, bass and percussion, the focus is entirely on the voice of Elvis singing praises to the 'Man In The Sky'. To a non-believer, it might seem a bit hard to take but believe me (if no one else!), it isn't. It's an exhilarating ride and you'll be jumping up and down in the aisles praising someone very soon, if not the Lord, the record company which had enough foresight back then to let the greatest entertainer of the Twentieth Century do whatever he wished at a time when he was peerless. Hallelujah!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Golden Oldie, 17 Jan 2013
By 
Jojo (Manchester) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: His Hand In Mine (Audio CD)
We used to buy all the Elvis records as soon as they were released and although His Hand in Mine was not our usual type of music, we found we really enjoyed this gospel singing. Seeing it and listening to it again took us back many years and we are loving it all over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 11/10, 22 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: His Hand In Mine (Audio CD)
A great album. You would normally associate Elvis with Rock'n'Roll numbers and its great to hear such a soothing laid back collection if music. A great 'sunday afternoon' CD. Highly Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best, 19 Oct 2010
This review is from: His Hand In Mine (Audio CD)
This my favourite Elvis Gospel CD , Has lots of songs i had never heard before , I put it on when i go to bed , Put it on a timer and then it is morning , Great .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 12 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: His Hand In Mine (Audio CD)
had better
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, 7 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: His Hand In Mine (Audio CD)
Classic gospel Elvis. Easy to listen to and a useful addition to an Elvis collection. Elvis at his more melodic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Gospel Songs from Elvis, 18 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: His Hand in Mine (Audio CD)
This is the CD version of an LP I had many years ago and I was very pleased with the quality and collection of songs showing Elvis's great range of singing voice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love it, 28 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: His Hand In Mine (Audio CD)
Great would recommend delivery great love blarring my elvis in my car absolutely fantastic album Love it better than this boom boom music
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars CD, 13 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: His Hand In Mine (Audio CD)
I BROUGHT THIS FOR MY DADS WAKE, IT WAS PERFECT,I RECOMEND THIS TO ANY ONE WHO IS A ELVIS FAN, OR ANYONE WANTING A QUITE RELAXING CD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Wonder, 20 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: His Hand In Mine (Audio CD)
What a voice, what a talent and although he was so talented, I don't believe he ever forgot where he came from. God certainly blessed him, maybe he sings in a heavenly choir now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

His Hand In Mine [VINYL]
His Hand In Mine [VINYL] by Elvis Presley (Vinyl - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews