Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Powerful & Thoughtful Thriller.
I have to take issue with the above synopsis but before I do here is my review.

"The Last Days" is a beautifully shot and thought provoking thriller in which a plague infects the entire planetary population: with agoraphobia. Those who were outside or in vehicles when they were infected died. Anyone who was inside a building has survived but they are...
Published 9 months ago by Amazon Customer

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting To Watch
Well worth a watch if you like apocalypse and end of world type films like 28 days later.
However, you won't find zombies or alien invasions in this film, but rather a thoughtful and interesting scenario where a mysterious plague has infected the population of the planet, inflicting a lethal form of agoraphobia which prevents anyone from leaving the sanctuary of...
Published 5 months ago by Peter


Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Powerful & Thoughtful Thriller., 21 Mar 2014
This review is from: The Last Days [DVD] (DVD)
I have to take issue with the above synopsis but before I do here is my review.

"The Last Days" is a beautifully shot and thought provoking thriller in which a plague infects the entire planetary population: with agoraphobia. Those who were outside or in vehicles when they were infected died. Anyone who was inside a building has survived but they are now unable to venture outdoors, if they do they will die within minutes. The film opens three months later with two men trapped in their office building with countless others. These two join forces to journey across Barcelona to find their respective loved ones but must use the sewers and subway tunnels. The depiction of a city rapidly falling into ruin is amazingly realised and the uneasy friendship that forms between two men is well acted by the two leads.

Now to the synopsis: there are no cannibals in the film. There is not even a hint of cannibalism, at no point in the film is the word even uttered. And the dvd cover art is misleading: not only does the girl on the cover not appear in the film but there is no scene depicting the shooting of a deer with arrows.

I thoroughly recommend the film, the European city setting is a nice change and there is some startling imagery of a deserted city with the streets empty of people but the buildings filled with starving desperate survivors. There is also a complete absence of cannibals and zombies, yes there are some characters who are at the very least dangerous but nothing like the synopsis has stated. A fantastic science fiction thriller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Post Catastrophe Spanish Film of True Quality, 3 May 2014
By 
Tommy Dooley "Tom" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Last Days [DVD] (DVD)
This is a Spanish film released as `Los últimos días' that is set in the aftermath of a virus outbreak that has gone global. In the wake of a volcanic eruption people develop an irrational fear of going outside and die of a panic attack if they do. We start off three months in and office workers have been holed up since the day things went from bad to disastrous. Marc wants to leave to find his girlfriend Julia, but needs a GPS. His erstwhile manager and all round nasty piece of work - Enrique - has nicked it but they come to an arrangement to help each other out.

The problem is they have to stay inside, this means the underground and the sewers for navigation. Along the way they discover how far mankind has dropped into lawlessness and a `dog eat dog' World where only the fittest will survive.

Now as all good sci-fi has an existential part to play and this does too and it is done really well. The back story of Marc is told in flashback and it is all filmed in the beautiful city of Barcelona. The CGI is all on the very good to excellent side and everyone puts in a good performance. Jose Conrado as Enrique is just stellar as the misunderstood yet ultimately decent boss. There are plot holes like GPS working underground etc and some poetic licence but I really enjoyed this film and it goes for the emotions on more than one occasion which just made me get even more involved. One for end of World survival fans and those who love European cinema; I can highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting To Watch, 3 July 2014
This review is from: Last Days (DVD)
Well worth a watch if you like apocalypse and end of world type films like 28 days later.
However, you won't find zombies or alien invasions in this film, but rather a thoughtful and interesting scenario where a mysterious plague has infected the population of the planet, inflicting a lethal form of agoraphobia which prevents anyone from leaving the sanctuary of buildings. I won't go into great details about the plot which involves 2 trapped office colleagues using the sewers and underground tunnels in the city of Barcelona to search for their loved ones...but you should be aware that this film is Spanish and has english subtitles which did not spoil the film at all for me but might put some people off.
I found the film a bit slow at times and some of it is told in flashbacks so you do need to concentrate to follow the narrative.
The special effects are good in showing a decaying and crumbling metropolis with the population scavenging in buildings and underground to survive. There are some good action scenes and the main characters are acted well. I would not classify this as a pure horror film but do give it a watch if you fancy something a bit more intriguing and different.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant slant on a well known genre, 28 Nov 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Days [DVD] (DVD)
A frighteningly Good Subtitled Flick that has the World plunged into Chaos by the fact that should You step outside you Die!!!.Survivors have to break through walls to move from building to building or move through sewers and rail tunnels.This is a Gem of a Movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars ok, 14 Dec 2014
By 
D. S. Hammond (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Days [DVD] (DVD)
not great but cheap and worth a watch
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best post apocalyptic films I've seen in a long while!, 21 Oct 2014
By 
S. L. Wilkinson (Shropshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What a great apocalyptic film this is.. take no notice of the front cover of the DVD; the designer can't have watched the film. there's no spooky girls wandering about and not a single dead deer, and it's not really a horror.. but it IS a very intelligent and riveting story about a post apocalyptic future where no one can go outside anymore, and only those who stay inside can survive. I love the fact that the director chose NOT go down the more commonplace route of turning people into cannibals or lawless maniacs, but rather kept humanity flying the flag. Yes, there's a little theft and a few scuffles, but what you see is communities pulling together, sharing rations and washing their clothes. Outside, the sun shines and the skies are blue; hope is always on the horizon. The main characters just want to locate their loved ones, using the only working sat nav, and the city's web of underground sewers and tunnels to do so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A1, Thanks!, 30 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Days [DVD] (DVD)
A1,Thanks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 25 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Works brilliantly for fraction of the price
All hellraisers are great gore
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Good, 23 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Days [DVD] (DVD)
Well the title gives it a better review then it deserves thought uit would be good but its below average
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Last Days [DVD]
The Last Days [DVD] by Alex Pastor (DVD - 2014)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews