Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty Decent Machine
This is a pretty decent laptop and does all that I have asked of it so far. The graphics card plays FM14 and other graphic intensive games pretty well and generally copes with HD media playback fine. Windows 8 is horrible and the free 8.1 upgrade is better, but not a lot. You soon learn to work around its issues and just use the "desktop" that we all know and...
Published 20 days ago by Tarrboy

versus
8 of 31 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars not suitable for work
glare screen makes it unusable for work so it stays on the shelf.
Be aware that most of this cheap stuff comes with glare screens these days.
Drive is quite noisy comparing to other laptops I have.
Keyboard is clunky with its numeric keypad and small enter. Who the hell is using numeric keypad on laptops designed for entertainment? Insert key must be used...
Published 5 months ago by Wesco


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty Decent Machine, 8 July 2014
This is a pretty decent laptop and does all that I have asked of it so far. The graphics card plays FM14 and other graphic intensive games pretty well and generally copes with HD media playback fine. Windows 8 is horrible and the free 8.1 upgrade is better, but not a lot. You soon learn to work around its issues and just use the "desktop" that we all know and love. As other people have said, the touch pad mouse is terrible and is by far the worst I have ever used on a laptop. Its far too sensitive but just connect a wireless mouse and the problem goes away. Thats the only reason this is a 4 star review and not a 5 star review. Other than that, this is a great laptop for the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good value and ease of use., 9 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Asus X552CL 15.6-inch Laptop (Black) - (Intel Core i5 1.8GHz, 6GB RAM, 750GB HDD, DVDSM, LAN, WLAN, Webcam, Nvidia Graphics, Windows 8) (Personal Computers)
I .loved the easy to understand set up and the speed of start up. It does everything I want simply and efficiently
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
simple nice laptop for the price and very fast i love this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars bargain laptop with video card, 19 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
this is a good laptop for the price if you are after one with its own video card.
at 350 it was the cheapest I could find with one. from a reputable company..
after swapping out the hard drive for an old ssd I had this starts up in 5 seconds
its good if your updating an old laptop from 5 years ago..
its not fantastic.. I like it. and im happy with it... im not in love with it. .. but at this price I do think its a bargain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars silver surfer, 16 July 2014
Very pleased so far - still getting used to different software - but getting there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 31 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars not suitable for work, 23 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
glare screen makes it unusable for work so it stays on the shelf.
Be aware that most of this cheap stuff comes with glare screens these days.
Drive is quite noisy comparing to other laptops I have.
Keyboard is clunky with its numeric keypad and small enter. Who the hell is using numeric keypad on laptops designed for entertainment? Insert key must be used with function key.

So if you are looking for a laptop to play movies or do some occasional office work in a dark room it may be good.
Otherwise you have better choices out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 19 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor customer service from Asus, 22 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Asus X552CL 15.6-inch Laptop (Black) - (Intel Core i5 1.8GHz, 6GB RAM, 750GB HDD, DVDSM, LAN, WLAN, Webcam, Nvidia Graphics, Windows 8) (Personal Computers)
Bought this for my son at Christmas, predominantly to do his A level work on. He takes good care of it. He switched it on one morning to find what looked like a big crack running diagonally across the screen (although no crack evident on the surface of the screen), above which the screen is pixelated and not working. Contacted Asus who said it must be user induced damage and therefore not covered by the warranty. Of course I can't prove that it isn't user induced, but I trust my son, he's a sensible lad and will not have treated his laptop roughly or carelessly.
Asus have made this assumption without even looking at it. Even worse, if I send it away to them to be looked at, whether I chose to go with their repair quote or not, it will cost me around 50 just for assessment and shipping.
Just be aware that the build quality on this machine looks dodgy, if the screen can break through everyday handling, and you will get no satisfaction from Asus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not happy, 28 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The C and N keep sticking as well as the space bar so not vey impressed. Nice and light though
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars One Star, 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
what a load of rubbish
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews