Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


85 of 88 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "You can't have Doctor Who without Doctor Who, can you?"
Ever since the first pictures began to leak out earlier in the year there has been a buzz that Mark Gatiss' An Adventure In Space and Time would be something special - and it didn't disappoint.

It had a lot of ground to cover - from the launch of the show in 1963 to the departure of William Hartnell in 1966. In the main, it succeeded beautifully, although...
Published 20 months ago by Mr. D. K. Smith

versus
3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Something lacking somewhere
It is a pleasant watch but somehow lacking. I know a fair bit about the origins of 'Dr Who' and about Hartnell's life and problems but very little came across in this programme. It started like a biopic of Verity Lambert then suddenly, with hardly any lead up, she leaves. Like following a dead end. I never felt we were following Hartnell's story, just witnessing isolated...
Published 15 months ago by M. Jones


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

85 of 88 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "You can't have Doctor Who without Doctor Who, can you?", 22 Nov. 2013
By 
Mr. D. K. Smith (South Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: An Adventure in Space and Time [DVD] (DVD)
Ever since the first pictures began to leak out earlier in the year there has been a buzz that Mark Gatiss' An Adventure In Space and Time would be something special - and it didn't disappoint.

It had a lot of ground to cover - from the launch of the show in 1963 to the departure of William Hartnell in 1966. In the main, it succeeded beautifully, although there's one caveat which I'll come too in a minute.

Essentially, AAISAT was the story of four people - William Hartnell (The Doctor), Verity Lambert (Producer), Waris Hussein (Director) and Sydney Newman (BBC Head of Drama and the "father" of the series). With only 85 minutes running time it did mean that many other people's important contributions went unrecorded, such as the first story editor David Whitaker and the designers Raymond Cusick and Barry Newbery. But this was inevitable, and the decision to focus on four key people did make dramatic sense.

Cast-wise it would have been difficult to get any better than this. David Bradley was outstanding as Hartnell, capturing both his abrasive side and his more considerate nature. Brian Cox (despite a moustache that looked painted on) was good fun as the brash Canadian, Newman. And Sacha Dhwan and Jessica Raine gave lovely performances as Hussein and Lambert - two outsiders (one an asian, one a woman) who dared to breach the conservative BBC.

The re-creations - Totters Lane, the Dalek city, the breathtaking TARDIS console room - were a massive treat, as were the numerous cameos from some of the great and good of the series' past.

But with a timeframe of three years there were times when things seemed a little condensed, and my only real criticism of Mark Gatiss' script is that whilst Hartnell's difficulty with lines was well illustrated, we maybe could have done with a scene that made it clear that Hartnell was a very good actor who gave many fine performances during the three years he was in the show, right up until the end when he was far from well.

There's no doubting the love Gatiss has for both the show and Hartnell, but a short scene with Lambert and Newman discussing Hartnell's line-fluffs with Lambert championing Hartnell's performance was sadly missing. Hartnell was technically a very good actor and his years of experience in films meant that he instinctively understood the camera. An off-told story (and something else that it would have been nice to see in the show) related to Hartnell's knowledge of when the camera was focused on him in close up - so his movements were restricted - and when the camera was further away - then he could be more expansive in his gestures. This is the sort of small detail that would have illustrated how good Hartnell was - otherwise you could come away from this programme thinking that Hartnell was just an old duffer who couldn't remember his lines.

But that apart, there was so much to enjoy here and by the end, with an ailing Hartnell forced to leave the part he loved, it was truly heartbreaking.

The surprise cameo at the end was a nice touch and an acknowledgement that today Doctor Who owes everything to one person - not Sydney Newman, not Verity Lambert, not even Dalek creator Terry Nation - but William Hartnell. If he hadn't made the Doctor such a compelling character then the series would never have endured. On the eve of the programme's 50th anniversary AAISAT is a fitting tribute to an old-fashioned actor who started something which still entertains today, and, I'm sure, for many more years to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The origin of Doctor Who, 24 Nov. 2013
By 
Mr. R. W. Graham (Lincoln, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: An Adventure in Space and Time [DVD] (DVD)
It's 1963 and the head of the BBC's drama department Sydney Newman has an idea for a children's scifi series something that will educate children and will be fun and different and absolutely no ridiculous bug eyed monsters or alien death rays or mutated monsters or all that other juvinile scifi rubbish! He hires young producer Verity Lambert at the time the BBC's first and youngest female producer who hires respected actor William Hartnell who at first is reluctanct to do tv but is fed up of being typecast as army characters of tough guys but is drawn in as the character of The Doctor and the show itself is different and a tv legend is born. An absolutely superb tv drama about the creation of Doctor Who and the struggles to bring the show to the screen with superb performances from David Bradley as William Hartnell, Jessica Raine as Verity Lambert and Brian Cox as Sydney Newman. Watch out for cameos from William Russell one of the first companions and Matt Smith. This is an absolutely perfect 50th anniversary present and a must see for Doctor Who fans and even if you have no interest in Doctor Who or scifi this can still be seen as an excellent heartbreaking quality drama.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Earthly Child of the 60s, 8 Nov. 2014
By 
Number13 (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: An Adventure in Space and Time [DVD] (DVD)
Mark Gatiss' outstanding docudrama was the crown jewel of the `Doctor Who' 50th anniversary celebrations. If it's possible to feel nostalgic about a time you don't actually remember, then this is the programme to do it - because anything is possible when you travel in Space and Time ... 5*

At the very centre, quite properly, is the story itself. The story of `Doctor Who', the BBC and the brilliant trio who were there at the creation - Sidney Newman, Verity Lambert and Waris Hussein, who are themselves perfectly brought to life here by Brian Cox, Jessica Raine and Sacha Dhawan. Issues of running time were probably responsible for the omission of some of those who shared in creating the legend, this tighter focus worked well dramatically but a few name-checks would have been nice.

And at the centre of the central story is William Hartnell. THE Doctor, when there was only one. David Bradley gives a superb performance in every way, as Hartnell the actor and Hartnell the Doctor. We see William Hartnell grow and then sadly fade as the Doctor, from initial grumpy uncertainty about the role into warm, relaxed confidence, surrounded by eager young autograph-hunting fans before the final, tragic period when illness began to take hold. William Hartnell and the Doctor are here almost blurred together at times, their real and imagined lives over the three years travelling in eerie and very moving parallel.

My only criticism would be that there were perhaps too many `line-fluffing' scenes with William Hartnell; a scene or two showing the exceptional actor he was at his best would have been welcome too. Watching `The Aztecs' showed me clearly just how good he was when the characterisation and dialogue were there to be acted, it's a wonderful, subtle performance.

The realisation of the mid-1960s BBC looks excellent, with extensive location filming at Television Centre and careful attention to detail, linked to the wider world by references to the Cuban missile crisis, Valentina Tereshkova's space mission and the Kennedy assassination. Better still, for fans, are the beautiful recreations of icons of 1960s `Doctor Who'; the TARDIS console room, Totters' Lane, the Dalek city, a `Tenth Planet' Cyberman (smoking a ciggie between takes!), two Menoptera flown in from Vortis, rehearsal scenes from `Marco Polo' and `The Reign of Terror' and even a squadron of Daleks crossing Westminster Bridge.

The brilliant script is simply heaving with `Doctor Who' references and allusions from the obvious to the very subtle. Lines of perfectly placed dialogue brush your memory from our past, their future; for any classic-series fan it's a rich hunting-ground - I'm quite sure I haven't yet spotted them all and more knowledgeable fans than me will have a field day.

Links are created with people as well as words; there are delightful cameo appearances from famous faces, brought through time from the 1960s to take part in the `Doctor Who' story once more. Reality, drama and fantasy all intersect for two brief moments at the end, as David Bradley's portrayal of William Hartnell's First Doctor meets a "ghost from the future" and The Original appears on a monitor screen, bidding goodbye to Susan and in a way, to the viewers.

Among the extras is the five-minute `William Hartnell, The Original' which was broadcast after the drama and contains short but very welcome contributions from many people famous in the early life of `Doctor Who', including interview clips with William Hartnell himself.

The word is overused, but `An Adventure in Space and Time' really is a masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Origins of a TV Series - Celebrating 50 years of `Doctor Who', 19 Aug. 2014
This review is from: An Adventure in Space and Time [DVD] (DVD)
This review is for Timelord007 who is a huge `Doctor Who' fan.

"One day I shall come back! Yes, I shall come back"; William Hartnell, The First Doctor, `The Dalek Invasion of Earth'

This is 'An Adventure in Space and Time', a docu-drama shown on BBC2 on the 21st of November, 2013 to celebrate 50 years of `Doctor Who'. I watched this very special drama and enjoyed seeing how the history of 'Doctor Who's' creation was dramatized before my eyes.

It's beautifully written and wonderfully produced by Mark Gattis. Mark is currently a new series writer on 'Doctor Who' and it's great he produced this docu-drama.

I was aware of the origins of 'Doctor Who' from the 'Doctor Who: Origins' documentary in 'The Beginning' DVD. I discovered more behind-the-scenes information about William Hartnell's tenure in 'The End of the Line' documentary on 'The Gunfighters' DVD.

This special begins with a prologue scene in 1966 with William Hartnell on his last day making 'The Tenth Planet'. Bill Hartnell has his life flashing before his eyes as we're taken back 1963.

The story of how 'Doctor Who' was created begins with Sydney Newman, the Head of BBC Drama. He comes up with an idea for a science-fiction children's show and calls Verity Lambert to help him before they cast William Hartnell, a former movie star to play Doctor Who.

I was impressed by how Mark Gattis dramatizes the origins story and imbues it with such love brought to life by the actors. This is a story about how a successful TV show was created and how the producers and the director struggled against pressure to make this show work.

As well as featuring the Daleks, there's also the Menoptra from 'The Web Planet' and the first Cybermen from 'The Tenth Planet'. It was a delight seeing the making of 'Marco Polo', 'The Reign of Terror' and 'The Dalek Invasion of Earth' taking place in the docu-drama.

This docu-drama stars David Bradley as William Hartnell. I've seen David in a BBC production of 'Our Mutual Friend'. He was also in the 'Doctor Who' episode 'Dinosaurs on a Spaceship' and the voices of the Shansheeth in 'The Sarah Jane Adventures' story `Death of the Doctor'.

David is brilliant as William Hartnell, looking and sounding like him! I was terribly impressed with David's performance. There's a moment when he has his eyes wide open like Hartnell. I really like how Hartnell's career is touched upon before becoming a world-famous child's star.

There's Jessica Raine as Verity Lambert, 'Doctor Who's first producer. Jessica has appeared in 'Doctor Who' with Matt Smith in the episode called 'Hide'. Jessica does a remarkable job as Verity, who is a woman struggling in a man's world and becomes a female producer.

There's also Sacha Dhawan as Waris Hussein, the first 'Doctor Who' director. I really like how Sacha plays Waris as someone who doesn't know what to do when geting the scripts of the 'cavemen' story and sharing a good working relationship and friendship with Verity.

There's also Brian Cox as Sydney Newman, the BBC's Head of Drama and the man who originated 'Doctor Who'. Brian does a convicning and authentic performance as Sydney who gets people like Verity to make 'Doctor Who' work and is very blunt when pushing her forward.

And there's Lesley Manville as Heather, William Hartnell's wife. I really like how Hartnell's family life is touched upon. Heather is concerned for her husband when he's out of work from the start, and is pleased when he's called to do a leading part in a children's TV series.

The cast also includes Jamie Glover as William Russell; Jemma Powell as Jacqueline Hill and Claudia Grant as Carole Ann Ford. There's also Nicholas Briggs as Peter Hawkins the original Dalek voice.

There are cast playing behind-the-scenes BBC personnel. There's Jeff Rawle as producer Mervyn Pinfield; Ian Hallard as director Richard Martin and Andrew Woodall as Rex Tucker.

There are cameos of real 'Doctor Who' stars. There's William Russell; Carole Ann Ford; Jean Marsh; Anneke Wills and Donald Tosh (script editor). There's also Toby Hadoke as a BBC bartender.

It was nice to set some of the drama filmed at the BBC Television Centre in London. This is after all where it started with `Doctor Who' and it's such a tribute to a place where many classic Who stories were filmed, especially the ones with William Hartnell back in the early 60s.

As the story concludes, Bill Hartnell's ill health is depicted as he's getting flat out from the busy work schedule and his bad-temper grows worse. The BBC producers including Sydney Newman consider what to do as they can't have 'Doctor Who' without 'Doctor Who'.

There's a heart-breaking scene where Bill Hartnell meets Sydney Newman is in his office and Sydney tells Bill about their plans to 'regenerate' the show. Bill is heart-broken when they want to carry on without him and the scene is beautifully played by the actors.

The scene where Bill Hartnell comes home to tell his wife Heather what's happened is equally heart-breaking. Bill is accepting of his decision to leave, but it's also clear that he was reportedly heartbroken. Bill breaks down in tears saying, "I don't want to go" and it's really moving.

We return to the making of `The Tenth Planet' where Bill Hartnell does his final scene and meets Patrick Troughton (Reece Shearsmith). I found the meeting between these two men really lovely and charming as Patrick is so humble towards Bill Hartnell.

Then we have a final moment which I did not expect when Bill's at the TARDIS console, he looks up and sees Matt Smith before him. It's a lovely moment where the two Doctors without any word, acknowledging Bill Hartnell's legacy still carries on as well as the show.

We then have words of tribute given to the real Sydney Newman, Verity Lambert, Waris Hussein and William Hartnell. Then we see actual footage of William Hartnell making that famous speech to Susan from 'The Daleks' Master Plan'. It's a lovely way to end this special drama.

The DVD special features are as follows. There's 'William Hartnell: The Original' featurette with cast and crew interviews and 'The Making of An Adventure' documentary with cast and crew interviews. There are 'reconstructions'; title sequences and two deleted scenes.

'An Adventure in Space and Time' is a wonderful and touching tribute to 'Doctor Who'. This docu-drama is a brilliant dramatization of how 'Doctor Who' was made and I thank Mark Gattis for coming up with this wonderful drama and is a tribute to people like William Hartnell.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful celebration! An utter masterpiece!, 21 Nov. 2013
This review is from: An Adventure in Space and Time [DVD] (DVD)
Almost 50 years after the show started, Mark Gatiss sends us back to where it began!

No, not a junkyard on Totter's Lane, even further back than that, to the world of the smoky BBC offices of Sydney Newman. To the casual fan, this may seem like a slight bore, a documentary, or nothing exciting. However, those who took the time to see the broadcast will see that Mark Gatiss has orchestrated a masterpiece.

Pulling in bucket loads of elements surrounding the creation of Sci-Fi legend Doctor Who, Gatiss expertly combines Billy Hartnell's lack of self belief in inspiring generations, Sydney Newman's belief in Verity Lambert's production, helping her overcome the glass ceiling blocking her, Waris Hussein's pressure in successfully directing the first episodes, and later on, Billy's reluctance to leave and eventual realisation that this show will continue without him, becoming more of a legend than just a mere TV program.

Despite the historical and social plot strings, the acting is spectacular. David Bradley throws himself into Hartnell's shoes, and his heartbreaking moment of realisation of leaving the show is utterly spellbinding. Reece Shearsmith, even though he only appears for mere minutes, manages to capture the vivacity of Pat Troughton perfectly. The costumes and recreations of historical scenes are amazing and accurate, an old style Cyberman sat having a cigarette next to the TARDIS, a Dalek operator complaining about the cramped interior, and, in the opening scenes, Bradley walking into the TARDIS' perfectly recreated interior, and gazes up solemnly at the set one more time.

The DVD release, although a while off, does include the perfectly-recreated scenes such as the first encounter with the Doctor, The Doctor's final speech to his granddaughter, and a 'festive greeting' perhaps from the fabled lost Christmas broadcast 'The Feast of Steven?'

An utter masterpiece celebrating 50 years of Doctor Who, the people who started it all, and of course, the wonderful William Hartnell, played with style, gravitas and an air of humbleness.

I would easily give such a beautiful piece of drama more stars if I could. Definitely a must buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Utterly wonderful (but why no blu ray?), 22 Nov. 2013
This review is from: An Adventure in Space and Time [DVD] (DVD)
I was three days old when Dr Who began and it's played a big part in making me the person I am today (although I do plan to regenerate before this week is out). I was overjoyed watching the show last night. It was unashamed nostalgia and absolutely lovely. Christmas has indeed come early for us fans of The Doctor. I have just one question of the BBC, why oh why isn't there a blu ray release? The show looks exquisite and demands it. Please BBC I want to spend more money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, and not just for Doctor Who die-hards, 19 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Adventure in Space and Time [DVD] (DVD)
As a child I had a fear of the original theme music for Doctor Who, so I missed out on the series, apart from little glimpses now and then, when I was being especially 'brave'. As an adult I still find that famous theme music unnerving, though not in the new series, where Murray Gold has updated it to something less eerie, and probably upset a lot of die-hards in the process. With my fear in mind, I approached An Adventure In Space and Time with some trepidation when it was on TV. I confess to having recorded it to watch during the day, which is ridiculous coming from a 40-year old! However, I am delighted that I didn't miss what has to be one of the best one-off drama's of recent times.

I wondered if some of the 'in' jokes would go over my head, but they didn't, which is a testament to how Doctor Who is ingrained in our culture, but also says something about the way this drama is written. It isn't trying to be clever, or quirky. It's trying to tell a story, which is about one man, William Hartnell, every bit as much as it is about a TV legend.

All of the performances are outstanding, but David Bradley steals the show. My brother is old enough to remember when Doctor Who started, and he says that Bradley's portrayal of Hartnell is uncanny. Jessica Raine is also wonderful as Verity Lambert, whose story is told in a sympathetic and engaging way. Some drama's portraying women encroaching on a masculine world go overboard on the feminist agenda. I didn't feel that with this. Every step of the way the viewer roots for Lambert, engaging in her story just as much as Hartnell's.

In short, I loved An Adventure In Space and Time. I've now got the DVD. Oh, and that old theme music still makes me nervous, but I have the strangest feeling that it is supposed to do exactly that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deeply Moving..., 21 Nov. 2013
By 
G. M. Twitchett "gazzymodo" (london) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Adventure in Space and Time [DVD] (DVD)
I remember clearly the impact Dr Who had on me as a six year old child in 1963. I was full of wonder for this unique atmospheric new drama, with the most Incredible Theme Music i had ever heard. William Hartnell was captivating and charismatic as the Doctor. His companions likable and memorable. One would have to be my age (or older ) to have experienced the first ever entrance of the Daleks which was mesmerising and so totally
original . It was the year of the Beatles and
James Bond. A time of real excitement in Britain. 50 years on, the Beatles, James Bond & Dr Who are more popular than ever !
Mark Gattiss has done a Brilliant job with this drama. William Hartnell's final scene in the Tardis had an unexpected feature which i personally found very moving and emotional.
I think the drama will appeal more to the First wave of fans (although i may be wrong) those who followed William Hartnell's Doctor.
I enjoyed it immensely, and will buy the DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great for your collection, 3 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Adventure in Space and Time [DVD] (DVD)
Very moving, not sure I could watch it too many times but the likeness of the actors and attention to detail is amazing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars despite this misguided effort at a link with the modern 500 mph soap opera version of Who this production dealing with the origi, 7 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Adventure in Space and Time [DVD] (DVD)
Superb effort. This leaves a lump in one's throat. Ah, Mr Hartnell the fellow who started it all. The production is slightly let down at the end when it descends into silly fantasy as Mr Hartnell has a precognitive vision of Mr Smith. Was Mr Hartnell precognitive? Silly, really and it became out of date as soon as Mr Smith stopped being the current Doc. However, despite this misguided effort at a link with the modern 500 mph soap opera version of Who this production dealing with the origins of the programme is excellent. Superb cast, script, direction and obviously made with love and an eye for detail. It looks good, sounds good and feels good and, by gosh, it is good! If you are over 40 you may want a hankerchief.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

An Adventure in Space and Time [DVD]
An Adventure in Space and Time [DVD] by Terry McDonough (DVD - 2013)
£6.80
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews