Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A really good mystery tale
A young woman, Hannah, inherits a house from her aunt and moves in with her two daughters. We learn about her aunt, her mother, her step father, but mostly about the family who lived in that house earlier. Her uncle was a strange man with a murky past. There was a tragedy in the house - we find out about that as the tension mounts. Through a complex network of deceit...
Published 18 months ago by Ignite

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good
This book went on a bit in description in some places, but apart from that good story been put together.
Not a lit mentioned about. What happened with the room or the ghost girl. Bit rushed at the end but not bad.
Published 8 months ago by j kerslake


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A really good mystery tale, 20 Nov. 2013
By 
Ignite (East Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Swallowfields (Kindle Edition)
A young woman, Hannah, inherits a house from her aunt and moves in with her two daughters. We learn about her aunt, her mother, her step father, but mostly about the family who lived in that house earlier. Her uncle was a strange man with a murky past. There was a tragedy in the house - we find out about that as the tension mounts. Through a complex network of deceit and lies, we find out how one person covering up to protect another can create a web of intrigue which throws a veil of obscurity over a child's life. It's wonderful to be there as lifting that veil unfolds a new future for Hannah.

This is longer than Beverley Carter's earlier novellas and therefore has the possibility for delving deeper into the characters' lives. There were still areas I would have liked more detail on - I'm just a nosy person! The author has a lovely accessible writing style and always uses it to tell a great story. This is a really good mystery tale and I enjoyed reading it very much!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant story!!!!!, 20 Jan. 2015
This review is from: Swallowfields (Kindle Edition)
I loved this book! It was very easy reading from start to finish.
The storyline was really gripping & I'm glad the author finished the story properly as with so many books I have read there are always unanswered questions.
This is my first book by Beverley Carter but it definitely won't be the last.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 10 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Swallowfields (Kindle Edition)
I chose this book as I love a mystery, and having read two others by Beverly Carter I was not let down. It held everything I love in a book. History, old mysterious house and a happy ending. Would have liked a longer read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant read, 1 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Swallowfields (Kindle Edition)
Brilliant book, couldnt put down, good story line, could not wait to get out of work to carry on reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best yet!, 20 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Swallowfields (Kindle Edition)
Have now read all Beverley's books and loved them all but this must be the best yet. Hopefully there will be more soon!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An interesting tale with a ghost story thrown in, 19 Mar. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Swallowfields (Kindle Edition)
This story grips the imagination and keeps you interested to the final epilogue an enjoyable read which I could recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great read, 17 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Swallowfields (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed this book but though the end was a bit rushed It is a book for woman young or old
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars swallowfields, 23 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Swallowfields (Kindle Edition)
very good interesting read characters very good couldnt wait to see what happens next . good interest from the start
.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read, 24 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Swallowfields (Kindle Edition)
A great story very cleverly revealed so that the pace was measured and held my attention to the very last page. All loose ends nicely tied up in a very satisfying ending. An excellent read - not too long or too short.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Swallowfields, 5 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Swallowfields (Kindle Edition)
Good read lots of twists and turns and surprises! Well written and easy to read , will definitely be reading more books by this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Swallowfields
Swallowfields by Beverley Carter
£2.26
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews