Customer Reviews


55 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Top MMORPG, Shines on the PS4
Massively Multiplayer Online Role Playing Games on consoles are rare so being able to play one for hours on end without having to crouch over a keyboard and develop a mouse-shaped hand is something that doesn't come around often. When it does, and when it's as good as Final Fantasy XIV: A Realm Reborn, it's an MMO-lover's dream.

Pick your starting character...
Published 10 months ago by FantasyMeister

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars It was okay, but certainly not life changing.
I found the game to be pretty enjoyable, but it did have some faults. For instance, the lack of a voice actor for the majority of NPC's, coupled with the massive amount of text you're then asked to read for each conversation you have, made doing quests very uninteresting. I got so into the habit of skipping text and just going by the guide you get for active quests that I...
Published 1 month ago by MCP Gamer


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Top MMORPG, Shines on the PS4, 16 Jun. 2014
By 
FantasyMeister "FM" (Bristol, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Final Fantasy XIV: A Realm Reborn (PS4) (Video Game)
Massively Multiplayer Online Role Playing Games on consoles are rare so being able to play one for hours on end without having to crouch over a keyboard and develop a mouse-shaped hand is something that doesn't come around often. When it does, and when it's as good as Final Fantasy XIV: A Realm Reborn, it's an MMO-lover's dream.

Pick your starting character and your starting class and off you go into a tutorial that shows you the basics of questing. Pick up every quest in sight and you'll be running around your starting town picking up teleport points for faster travel, gathering gear, learning the difference between main campaign quests, side quests and job quests and collecting lots of helpful pop-up tips that are stored forever in your online help menus to peruse at your leisure.

Once you hit level 10 the game opens up even more, allowing you to change jobs at whim and learning magic, combat, crafting and gathering, letting you take skills from one discipline that you find really handy and adding it to another (like learning Protect and much later Stoneskin on an Arcanist and then using them on your Gladiator, who can later evolve into a Paladin).

Getting all your classes to level 15 enables you to unlock all advanced jobs as well as learning how each class operates, which is handy for when, during your campaign quests, you'll sometimes get bottlenecked by having to form a party of 4 players (later 8 players) to progress through the storyline. Fortunately FFXIV makes this incredibly easy - just select the dungeon you need to do, make yourself available and the game finds the other players you need, groups you altogether and starts the ball rolling automatically.

Whilst bottlenecks like these can get annoying for the lonewolf 'solo everything' type players, there are only a few of them, the majority of the game is amazingly soloable, especially when you factor in that your Chocobo Mount can later be used as a fighting companion who joins you in battle.

You'll also want to join a Free Company as soon as possible. Basically guilds of players with their own chat, joining one allows you to listen in on what everyone is up to, allows you to ask questions and you'll learn about lots of different aspects like how to make Gil, how to farm efficiently, boss tips, rare spawns like Behemoth and Odin and you might also be lucky enough to be allowed access to the Free Company's Chest (extra storage for goodies which you can throw things into like crafting materials, and take things out of, like Materia to upgrade your gear) though this is at the whim of the FC leaders.

If leveling up (which is pretty fast if you take advantage of LeveQuests and FATES) and gearing up wasn't enough, the game tracks everything and offers more things to do. Your personal hunting log at level 10, Guildhests (mini group fights) at level 15, Sightseeing at level 20, PvP at level 30, Treasure hunting at around level 45, Beast Quests, Grand Company Quests, Supply and Provisioning Missons - so much so that it's incredibly easy to get distracted from your main campaign as you get sucked into doing something else. My personal favourite is Fishing, it's such a change of pace from everything else to just cast out a line and watch the stars move through the sky or a beautiful sunrise as you mooch up a big fish.

End game is surprisingly organised. Certain dungeons have 'gear level' requirements, so no more elite players telling you you can't join because you're not up to par, if you meet the gear level requirement as set by the game, you're in. At the initial stages you can get by with crafted gear and spending your tokens from daily Beast Quests, later on you'll be more dependent on the rarer drops from certain dungeons. Ultimately end game currently consists of gearing up via Relic upgrades and the higher level dungeons. However, if you're a crafter or a gatherer you have your own little endgame too of continually upgrading you stats to allow you to access the higher grade crafting materials. Being in a Free Company where existing crafters can just make gear for you makes this a whole lot easier, but if you want to go for it yourself it's possible and will take a long time.

I started playing at the PS4 launch, I now have several level 50 classes and I'm just scratching the surface, so I signed up for a further 6 months of gametime. At the rate they're adding new content I think I'll always be playing catchup unless I bite the bullet and ask the FC just to craft me my high end gear instead of doing it myself, but I like doing things myself :)

Graphically the game looks gorgeous, (some of the screenshots I upload to Twitter/Facebook look better than many of their PC counterparts) from a control point of view there's a VERY deep configuration menu to allow you to tweak things just how you like them so nobody will be able to tell if you're on PS3, PS4 or PC (Square Enix have made it cross-platform so we all play together, just like they did with FFXI, bravo!), and personally I use a Sony Gold Wireless Headset too, so no complaints about audio either. Comms is mostly via USB keyboard hooked into the PS4, but we sometimes use PSN party chat and my FC also has a Teamspeak Server set up for the more advanced PC players running endgame activities.

Finally, if you have a PSP, you can take advantage of Remote Play with the PS4. When my daughter comes over the TV and XBox 360 get taken hostage by Assassin's Creed Black Flag. Not a problem, just turn on the PS4 then use the PSP to login and get some vital mining, logging or fishing done, although chat with your mates on a PSP can be a bit of a fiddly chore.

In short: One of the most user-friendly, soloable, beautiful and well-designed multiplayer games out there. Lots of fan service for long time lovers of the Final Fantasy franchise (say 'hi' to Cid for me when you see him), lots of customisation via the games 'glamour' and dye systems so nobody looks the same and something for everyone if they take the time to find it. As with most MMOs you'll get the odd few hours downtime for patches/updates/maintenance each week, for me that's simply an opportunity to look up what the best bait is for Hammerhead sharks so I can make Shark Oil for profit.

You get your first month free of charge, £7.69 per month thereafter with additional 'add-ons' available for a small fee, e.g. want an extra storage retainer? That's an extra £1.15 a month, probably worth it if you're a crafting fanatic, but not really necessary if you're a well-organised crafting fanatic :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dive in to this glorious looking mmo, 23 April 2014
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Final Fantasy XIV: A Realm Reborn (PS4) (Video Game)
I am not a huge fan of MMOs but chose to go for this as I am a fan of the final fantasy series. After the disappointment of xiii this title brings back the magic of the rpg series. It's simple to play and has very good tutorial pop-ups for all newcomers every time a new feature is unlocked. The game also allows you to play as any class in one character build. Just join guild and equip the correct weapon/tool. It's also a gorgeous game on ps4 nearly matching the pc on max. The framerate is also very steady. This game is a great addition to ps4.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best Final Fantasy Game since X (and it happens to be an MMO), 14 April 2014
By 
Carl (Leeds, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Final Fantasy XIV: A Realm Reborn (PS4) (Video Game)
I'm not normally one to play MMOs (except for the free DC Universe Online, which I downloaded when I first purchased a PS4) but my friend had this on the PC and seeing it in action piqued my interest. I was almost put off by the fact that a subscription was required after 30 days of playtime but decided that as I could get a copy for less than £10 for the PS3, it would be justified. I'm very pleased that I did, and am now in my third month of playtime.

The game mechanics are complex enough to be interesting without being too complicated, although if you're new to MMOs I would recommend a quick read-up of the typical nomenclature; when partnered up with strangers in dungeons, it's assumed that you'll know full well what the roles of tank, dps and healer mean. There are plenty of classes to choose from, and indeed you'll want to choose a wide selection so as to experience everything the game has to offer. Some classes are similar, and some change the game entirely. I started as a black mage, then after reaching the maximum level began additional classes of tank and white mage. All of this is done with the same character, meaning it's easy to switch between classes on the fly. The endgame material is superb, and most people will say that that's when the actual game starts. With the number of max level dungeons and raids for high-end gear it's hard to disagree, and you'll keep coming back as more content is patched in every few months.

I'm reviewing this on the PS4 version even though I own the PS3 version as a few days ago Square Enix began it's offer of upgrading to the PS4 version for free as long as the account was registered on a PS3 first. So a word of advice: if you own both consoles and you're thinking of buying the PS4 version of FFXIV, get the PS3 version, start the game, then upgrade. Square Enix have said they'll do this as a free service until 31st December 2014, and at present Amazon prices it'll save you £15 (2 months subscription time). You'll definitely want to upgrade too, as the PS3 version can sometimes lag and have a low framerate; the PS4 version meanwhile, looks absolutely incredible and has never lagged even at peak times. My friend who plays it on his high-end PC says that it looks better on my console than on his computer with maximum settings, which definitely should not be taken lightly.

So if you're thinking of taking the plunge, I'd say it's a great idea. A great MMO for novices and veterans alike, and a fantastic Final Fantasy game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars It was okay, but certainly not life changing., 20 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Final Fantasy XIV: A Realm Reborn (PS4) (Video Game)
I found the game to be pretty enjoyable, but it did have some faults. For instance, the lack of a voice actor for the majority of NPC's, coupled with the massive amount of text you're then asked to read for each conversation you have, made doing quests very uninteresting. I got so into the habit of skipping text and just going by the guide you get for active quests that I basically had no Idea what was happening in the storyline.

Thanks to the various multiplayer activities, you can level pretty quickly. You can probably max out by doing the minimum number of quests and multiplayer within 40-50 hours of gameplay. However, if you try to level up by completing all of the quests you're going to spend a lot of time grinding and accomplishing very little.

The game mechanics were pretty fun, and certainly matches most other rpg and mmo games out there in quality, but the story was largely not engaging - not what I expected from a final fantasy game. While I didn't enjoy the game enough to continue a subscription beyond the 1 month, there was still a lot of content left for me to get through by the end of that period, so you may well decide differently.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Biggest Final Fantasy Game EVER, 3 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Final Fantasy XIV: A Realm Reborn (PS4) (Video Game)
Where to begin, this game will take up a LOT of time since there is so much to do. Just for it's cheap price and worth subscribing to play it constantly with renewable 30 days at just 9 pound a month via Mog Station website.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome MMORPG, 16 May 2014
This review is from: Final Fantasy XIV: A Realm Reborn (PS4) (Video Game)
I've played a lot of MMORPG's over the past 10 years, including big titles like World of Warcraft (quite intensively to the extent that I had to quit as it was taking too much time). This game is completely different in that respect. You can play it as much or as little as you want and not feel as pressured to keep up with the 'hardcore' players.

The storyline is brilliant. You can play this game alone and really enjoy it, equally you can play with others and enjoy it just as much, it really is up to you.

You get a 30 day trial before you need to start paying the subscription, which, for me, is money completely well spent. The developers are constantly adding new content to the game and it will take you a long time to 'finish' the game, if that is even possible.

The bottom line is this: If you like MMORPGs, you will almost certainly enjoy this game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Final Fantasy a Realm Reborne, 17 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Final Fantasy XIV: A Realm Reborn (PS4) (Video Game)
Excellent game would definitely recommend, good fun all around! Just go out and buy it you wont be disappointed there is loads of things to do in the game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 11 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Final Fantasy XIV: A Realm Reborn (PS4) (Video Game)
Prepare to lose days playing this game, great fun and a superb addition to the final fantasy series , pricey to play though once your free monthly trial runs out
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 27 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Final Fantasy XIV: A Realm Reborn (PS4) (Video Game)
at first i thought this game wouldnt be any good and had log in issues but its been resolved after it being really simple. anyway i would recommend this game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!, 28 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Final Fantasy XIV: A Realm Reborn (PS4) (Video Game)
Love it!!! So different to final fantasy of old but still ticks all the boxes. Hard to build a character liking like old games also as not much of a story line, but online interaction is a satisfactory substitute.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Final Fantasy XIV: A Realm Reborn (PS4)
Final Fantasy XIV: A Realm Reborn (PS4) by Square Enix (PlayStation 4)
£18.97
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews