Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reverting to Classic Form, 29 Nov 2013
This review is from: In The Minds Of Evil (Audio CD)
Deicide's first three albums were of a class that elevated them ahead of most of their peers in the first half of the nineties. Of especially high quality was 1992's Legion, a short album - running at less than thirty minutes - of early technical death metal that smacks you in the face like a 200mph gust of hellish wind. After 1995's Once Upon the Cross, their output was inconsistent, sometimes strong enough to be called above average, often not. In The Minds of Evil is not one of their lesser releases, finding itself easily comparable with their best output.
Being able to say that was a pleasant surprise. It was not something I was expecting to find myself saying, as I expected it to be another moderately good album that I would soon forget about and rarely go back to. But what we have here is a fresh take on their old style, with riffs and rhythms that are distinctly those of the Deicide of old, being fastidiously tight - if more simplistic in its execution than the technicality of Legion - sinister, brutal and touching on trad and thrash metal at points with its harmonies, gallops and polyrhythmic counterpoints .
But its ballsy aggression and well-crafted guitar riffs are not the only strengths of this album. Glen Benton's vocals are sounding better than ever, steaming with bile and rage at the Christian religiosity, theology and hypocrisy that it ever derides without any obvious resort to technological enhancements, effects or even to the high, rasping overdubs of old, as his snarling voice is powerful enough to convey all the hate it needs to all by itself. When you listen to tracks like Between the Flesh and the Void, Trample the Cross, Kill the Light of Christ and End The Wrath of God, you are left with no doubt that this is a band that has entirely reverted to form, much like Carcass did earlier this year with their much lauded Surgical Steel. In every respect, this is as true to form for Deicide, in respect to their classic era, as Carcass's new masterpiece was to theirs, with the only weaknesses to its overall sound coming from the drums sounding far too clinical and clean in their production, and the heavier, chugging parts of the guitars sounding far too greatly repressed by compressors, limiters and the like, thus stripping them of that ultra-heavy thudding, throbbing impact they have when they bludgeon your entire body at a live gig (or more fittingly produced album).
Such technicalities - which do not truly detract from the albums quality - aside, what Deicide have achieved here is something that anyone with a love of their classic output or Death Metal in general would be well advised to pick up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars pure metal at it's darkest, 26 Nov 2013
This review is from: In The Minds Of Evil (Audio CD)
Just received the new deicide album and Well what can I say but a blinding album full of all deicides characteristics, the opening track in the minds of evil set the pace for this gut renching teeth pulling metal mastery... it has all the trademarks of deicide , buy this album but do get the limited edition, there included is a woven patch, window sticker and a huge nylon poster flag and the album of course all housed in an Awesome box, good quality and value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A blasphemous Crusade, 10 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In The Minds Of Evil (Audio CD)
Starts off with the catchy title track and continues brutality from there. This is an album which sounds so aggressive and has such tight teeth grinding riffs that I feel almost inclined to wield my mace and go on a personal crusade against religious zealots myself. Fast paced tracks are in abundance and usually have some vocal part which will stick in ones head and make you attempt to growl along, stand out for me is 'Kill the light of Christ' which has guitars reminiscent of Black Metal, the final track is rather melodic and a good end to a Brutal audio assault. Deicide are still going strong and this album is one of my favourites of 2013.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars a good return to form from death metal veterans Deicide, 1 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In The Minds Of Evil (Audio CD)
Overall, a good return to form from death metal veterans Deicide. I found a few of their recent offerings a little stale so it was a nice surprise to hear something so fresh and energised. The album lacks the raw sound of the first few albums but has a newer, almost melodic, feel to it. Definitely an impressive album with songs that will stick in your head for weeks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Deicide show no sign of stopping......Thank Satan, 19 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In The Minds Of Evil (Audio CD)
This is the 11th Studio album by our friends from over the pond. The first with Kevin on Guitar (he had played with the band a few times before but had never recorded with them) who replaced Ralph Santolla who has been a breath of fresh air for Deicide in terms of Lead Breaks & all round awesome musicianship.
After Ralph's departure I read that Steve recommended Kevin Quirion as a direct replacement he is also the Vocalist & Guitarist with Steve's other band Order of Ennead (who are also superb). So its 11 albums and counting, Deicide are rightly among those chosen few US based Death Metal bands that are relentless. I have been lucky enough to have seen them live & they are immense. So buy this album & support a band that reign supreme.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars In the Minds of Evil, 30 Mar 2014
By 
Mr. A. J. Tennant "Metalhead" (Warwickshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In The Minds Of Evil (Audio CD)
In the Minds of Evil is the eleventh studio album by American death metal band Deicide. It was released on 26th November 2013 by Century Media Records, and marks the recording debut of guitarist Kevin Quirion, who joined the band in 2011 after Ralph Santolla left. The album has been described as moving away from the melodic inclinations of the previous few albums and towards an "old school" death metal sound reminiscent of the band's 1992 album Legion.

Drummer Steve Asheim observed that the album was "a departure from our recent stuff and has more of an old school vibe. Not quite as melodic and very catchy riffs". Asheim elaborated further, explaining that the band wanted Glen Benton's vocals "to sound more old-school. So, it's a bit of the new with a little throwback action". Benton concurred, observing that Deicide has "settled into a permanent lineup and the writing process now is like the writing process was back in the beginning and we’re all showing up and writing the songs together. Everybody has an input and it shows". Benton cited the addition of guitarist Kevin Quirion as critical to In the Minds of Evil.

Steve Asheim noted that producer Jason Suecof "wanted to capture the Legion feel" on In the Minds of Evil. During the tracking of the album, Asheim revealed that he was performing with a "a blown out shoulder. It hurt like hell. It kept dislocating, it was popping and cracking. I just dealt with the pain and got the job done though". Asheim further noted that his approach to drumming on the album was "mostly improvised". He explained in another interview that the composition of the album reflected both preparation and improvisation. "Some vocals and guitar and bass stuff [were improvised]. The song writing – the parts and structures – were all done pre-pro[duction], before we got there. But once we were in and mic'd up, there was a lot of on-the-spot stuff happening. Most of my drum fills were improv[ised]. And I know the fellas just let loose with some on-the-fly kind of stuff together, and you can really hear that. I think the spontaneity and the energy, it really rings through".

In the Minds of Evil is certainly one of the best albums Deicide ever released, which consists of great songs including the opening title track, and all the songs have great guitar work, bass guitar work, drum work and vocals, and the production work on the album is fantastic. In the Minds of Evil certainly is in the same league with Deicide's first three albums, especially Legion. I believe this album is a lot better than their previous album To Hell With God (I must point out that (to date) I only listened to that album twice as I found it difficult to get into at the time, which is not the case with this album). In the Minds of Evil is very highly recommended to all fans of great metal music worldwide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars yes, 30 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In The Minds Of Evil (Audio CD)
Deicide. What more can i say as a fan since day one. A little biased. Buy it to keep the devil alive :-P
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best Deicide Album For Years, 26 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In The Minds Of Evil (Audio CD)
Is it lazy to use the phrase 'return to form'? That is exactly what this is. If you like Deicide then this is a must buy, but it's a cracking album for anyone with a leaning towards death metal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another in a line of recent triumphs, 20 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In The Minds Of Evil (Audio CD)
First off, I like Deicide's early work. I also love their run of albums since their "return to form" with Scars of the Crucifix. I even like the two albums everyone else hates! But, most of all, I like their albums with Ralph Santolla, particularly Stench of Redemption and To Hell With God which I think are probably their best work.
So I was dismayed when Ralph left the band. But, to my great surprise, his replacement Kevin Quirion has seriously stepped up here, and not only played some fantastic leads, but also delivered quite a few excellent songs.
Steve Asheim has carried the band musically in recent years, but he hardly gets a credit here, with Quirion and Jack Owen writing most of the music. And it really works! Much of it sounds like early Deicide, much sounds like latter day Deicide with those ringing open chords on the hooks, and some of it sounds unlike anything the band has done before (I noticed the Cannibal Corpse-style pinch harmonics on one song right away and wondered where Asheim had got it from, only to realise it was a Jack Owen contribution).
Glen Benton provides all the lyrics, as usual. He might not be a literary genius, but he knows how to write words that fit the music and he does so here brilliantly. Sure, his brand of "Satanism" is simple anti-Christianity, rather than any deep moral or spiritual code (a la Nergal of Behemoth) but hey, that's Deicide's thing, just like Slayer and a dozen other bands in this genre.
I recommend every fan of death metal check this album out - old fans of the band will note the clear nod to the Hoffmans on the first guitar solo, but it then spirals upwards into something the brothers never could do and the entire album is like that. It's not quite as strong as Stench, and the hooks aren't quite as obvious as To Hell With God, but it's another step in the evolution of the band.
Ralph who?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My Evil Ipod, 13 Dec 2013
By 
Johnathan Beasley (Nottinghamshire England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In The Minds Of Evil (Audio CD)
Ive been a DEICIDE fan since I 1st saw them on their "Legion" tour waaaaaaaaaaay back. They get better with age, and sound their most evil!!! This is pure bada** evil that will make you grin evil as the blood pours from your earbuds! MUST BUY!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

In The Minds Of Evil
Buy MP3 Album£7.39
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews