Customer Reviews


774 Reviews
5 star:
 (399)
4 star:
 (221)
3 star:
 (90)
2 star:
 (34)
1 star:
 (30)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended compelling debut
Really enjoyed reading this book, I was drawn into the story from the very first page which is such a refreshing change. I don't always like starting new books as it often takes me a while to get into the story and some books take such a long time to get going. I would describe One Step Too Far as a slow burner for the first half of the book, it does grip you from the...
Published 13 months ago by Nikki

versus
19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good read.
This is a good read. However, I wouldn't say that I "enjoyed" reading it because from quite early on you know there is a terrible reason why the main character leaves home but you don't find out what it is until near to the end. Therefore the sense of foreboding is an enduring undercurrent of the book, even in the character's new life.
This is obviously a...
Published 13 months ago by J. Owston


‹ Previous | 1 278 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended compelling debut, 5 Feb. 2014
By 
Nikki - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: One Step Too Far (Kindle Edition)
Really enjoyed reading this book, I was drawn into the story from the very first page which is such a refreshing change. I don't always like starting new books as it often takes me a while to get into the story and some books take such a long time to get going. I would describe One Step Too Far as a slow burner for the first half of the book, it does grip you from the start though, is very easy to read and written in an interesting and engaging way, moving backwards and forwards in time.

The story starts with the main character Emily leaving her husband, son and home behind in Manchester, to start a new life in London under a different name. We are not told the reason for Emily leaving so what would make a wife and mother want to walk out of her life and and become untraceable? The story slowly builds and takes you on a journey of Emily's old and new life and also back to her childhood with her parents and twin sister Caroline, all told from varying viewpoints. We also hear Angel's story, Emily/Cat's new friend in London who has her own reasons behind living the life she has chosen.

It is hard to work out where the book is going, the author rather cleverly and tantalisingly leaves you in the dark with the restrained and addictive plot. You get an uneasy, sinister feeling that something is very wrong but you are not sure why or what it could be. Certainly, nothing is as it seems and when all is finally revealed, it is totally jaw-dropping and unexpected.

One Step Too Far is a fastatic read, totally intriguing and very addictive - highly recommended. I very much look forward to reading Tina Seskis' second novel, A Serpentine Affair.

Many thanks to Netgalley and Michael Joseph at Penguin Books for the digital copy of this book in return for my fair and honest review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gripping through to the end, 16 April 2014
This review is from: One Step Too Far (Kindle Edition)
One Step Too Far was a gripping read right through to the end. I wasn't too keen on the main character, Emily, to begin with, but I was intrigued about her history. As I read on I began to identify with her and think about what I might do if I needed to reinvent myself. The outline of the book gave me the impression that it would be a very sad, and perhaps hard to deal with, story. I actually found myself willing Emily on, hoping she could do well for herself and get over her tragedy. The twist was completely unexpected, and heartbreaking, but it made me identify more with the characters than I was first expecting. Some sensitive topics, but they were approached with respect and care. I look forward to her next book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping, horrifying page turner, 3 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Step Too Far (Kindle Edition)
I was reluctant to read this as I'd read a couple of the reviews which said that they had no idea of the twist...I pride myself on knowing outcomes way before they happen. So I thought I'd give it a chance...and I was gripped from the beginning. I'm supposed to be moving house this weekend but I still have tonnes of packing to do and I blame this book! And...I can confirm that the other reviewers were right about the twist...the author is very clever to conceal this right to the end. Brilliant read, fully recommend...you won't be sorry!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping !!!, 30 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Step Too Far (Kindle Edition)
I don't normally read this kind of book and have never written a review but felt I had to. This book had me on the edge of my seat .You know that something had happened in Emily's life to make her run but the clever way with little clues keep you guessing all the way through. When the reason for her leaving was revealed I was stunned. Everything went silent around me and my heart started pounding .Brilliant best book I have read in ages !!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


67 of 74 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, just wow., 13 April 2013
This review is from: One Step Too Far (Paperback)
This story is a real keep you on the edge of your seat thriller that is that clever you aren't really sure why you are on the edge of your chair, but just know that something isn't right! It is fast paced, exciting and actually, for most of the story, is the picture of normality, with just a sense of what is to come.

Emily Coleman runs away to London. We don't know why, we just know she does and that she is leaving her family behind. When she gets there, she builds a new life for herself and makes new friends. The main story is intertwined with a number of stories explaining how we got to today, with one large piece missing until the last part of the book.

The book is separated into three parts with short chapters within each part. From about half way through the second part I was frantically trying to stay awake to keep reading because the twists just kept coming.

There is no way that you can guess how it ends. Or for that matter how it begins!

Comparable with S. J. Watson's excellent Before I Go To Sleep.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 29 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Step Too Far (Kindle Edition)
A fantastic read, felt a bit drawn out at times hence the 4/5.
Despite this I couldn't put it down, desperate to know what Emily was running away from.
The answer came is a twist that took my breath away and suddenly it all fell into place.
Read this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good read., 17 Jan. 2014
By 
J. Owston (Newcastle Upon Tyne, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Step Too Far (Kindle Edition)
This is a good read. However, I wouldn't say that I "enjoyed" reading it because from quite early on you know there is a terrible reason why the main character leaves home but you don't find out what it is until near to the end. Therefore the sense of foreboding is an enduring undercurrent of the book, even in the character's new life.
This is obviously a personal point of view, but I prefer books where someone is trying to detect a crime/secret rather than someone is living with the secret. That way I have someone to root for.
Although I have to say that the ending is very satisfactory.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars And it's my favourite genre - psychological suspense, 11 Feb. 2015
By 
Luanne Ollivier - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: One Step Too Far (Paperback)
One Step Too Far by Tina Seskis is another first novel that's been getting lots of press lately. And it's my favourite genre - psychological suspense.

Emily seems to have found happiness with her husband Ben, their solid careers and lovely home. Emily's childhood was somewhat unsettled - her father was a philanderer and her mother seemed simply overwhelmed. Emily is a twin and her sister Caroline was a difficult child - and an even more difficult adult. So, what would make Emily walk away from everything she had ever hoped to have?

"It's funny how easy it , when it really comes down to it, to get up from your life and begin a new one."

Seskis takes us along with Emily (now calling herself Cat) as she starts her new life. But she also slowly (and maddeningly - in a good way) fills in what has led to Emily taking such a drastic step. It was impossible not to keep reading 'just one more chapter' before turning off the light for the night. But, it is not only through Emily's eyes and memories that the pieces are filled in. Ben, Caroline, Emily's parents and Cat's new friend Angel all have chapters and voices of their own. These supporting character's chapters are quite involved and at times, I wondered about the amount of detail given. It was only after I finished the book and was thinking about the title, that I thought it fit - each and every player in the story makes a decision that crosses a line and takes things one step too far. Seskis mixes narratives and timelines - the reader needs to be on their toes. I quite liked the unpredictability of it all.

But why, why, why is what kept me turning pages. I desperately wanted to know the reasons behind Emily's running.

I don't want to give anything away, so suffice to say Seskis pulls a literary sleight of hand that is masterful. I found myself back at the beginning just to see where the wool was pulled over my eyes.

After that spectacular reveal though, I did think that the part four ending that Seskis wrote took things just a step too far as well. It seemed to be overkill and the same sleight of hand language seemed too obvious.

I did really enjoy One Step Too Far and it's definitely a recommended read for those who love psychological suspense.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars One Step Too Far, 2 Feb. 2015
By 
Keen Reader "lhendry4" (Auckland, New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: One Step Too Far (Paperback)
“Is running away ever the answer?”

I read this because it seemed to be getting rave reviews and was billed as “Gripping … will delight fans of the unexpected twist ending” … “a smartly written thriller”. Not sure that I’d describe this as a thriller in any sense of the word. It was more like the angst-ridden meanderings of a woman facing an early mid-life crisis.

Emily Coleman walks out of her life, leaving her family and moving to London, holing up in a dingy flat, reinventing herself and finding a new life. It becomes clear that the life she left was not as happy as it had been, so she just removed herself from it. The trouble is, with a story like this, in order for the reader to be totally engrossed and absorbed by the hero(ine)’s story, we need to feel something for the protagonist – sympathy, empathy, compassion,fondness, hatred, abhorrence … something to make us follow the narrative and desire to know the resolution of the story. But I really didn’t care by the end, what happened to Emily, or what the “secret” promised by the book cover was that she was hiding. When it was revealed, it just wasn’t that big a deal, and certainly not as earth-shattering as it seemed we were supposed to find it. Not only that, but Emily’s new life seemed, like her old life, to be completely unreal – I just can’t believe that the circumstances of Emily’s life could ever happen to anyone. I’m sorry I didn’t like this book, I really wanted to. But it really left me quite cold – a pity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An amazing debut with a totally unpredictable twist! xXx, 27 Dec. 2014
By 
realovesbooks (South east London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: One Step Too Far (Kindle Edition)
I had the privilege of meeting author Tina Seskis earlier this month and after listening to her talking about her book, the storyline really intrigued me and her passion for her book was what actually made me want to read it as she sounded so excited when she was talking to me about it.

Emily walks away from her life, leaving behind her husband and little Charlie and begins to start life again with a new home, new job, even a new name. She sparks up a friendship with one of her housemates Angel. Her life takes a completely different path from her life before but how long will she be able to keep her secret from her new friend and will this be a lifelong change or will she be found?

The cover to this book really gives nothing away it is a very plain cover that conceals an amazing storyline. Tina Seskis has such a skilled writing style she creates such an enthralling storyline that will slowly draw you in until you are hooked and just as you are immersed in the storyline there is a completely unpredictable twist! The whole book was totally unpredictable and the twist has to be the biggest unexpected twist I have read in a book this year. I love a book that can chock me and this one blew me away.

This is a stunning debut and although I am not usually big on thrillers this book really suited me and kept me gripped the whole way through. I loved the romance, suspense and mystery that were present in the book, there really is something to suit everyone’s taste in this book.

I cannot tell you the last time I read a book where I had absolutely no idea what lie ahead, you are on the edge of your seat with suspense and tension as you know something major has happened. The author does cover a couple of sensitive topics but again this shows the beautiful writing style as they were written full of detail but also very carefully.

I absolutely loved this book and as much as it was a real page turner I did find that I savored each page. This is one of those books that creep along at an enjoyable 4 star read and then dramatically ups to a 5* read. I can not wait for the release of this authors new book to be released, this is an author to watch out for I am sure she will bring us more thrilling and captivating reads.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 278 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

One Step Too Far
One Step Too Far by Tina Seskis
£5.40
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews